We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best pizza in indonesia”
Review of Il Pirata - CLOSED

Il Pirata
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best pizza in indonesia”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you like think crust Italian pizza, and you need a break from all those crazy south east flavors this is the place to go. I'm kind of a pizza snob (I even have my own pizza oven in my back yard) and i know good pizza when i taste it. The reason this place knows what's it's doing compared to any other pizza place (including nice restaurants) is because it's run by an italian who makes the pizza himself.
Tip:
Don't feel you have to order directly off the menu either, Just pick your favorite 2-3 ingredients and it will come out right. Also, they are only open for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Orinda4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    83
    21
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best pizza in the world!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The bread was excellent. The flavour of the tomato base was excellent. I don't know how he gets those results in Asia where the same ingredients are not available as in Italy.
But however he does it (the Italian chef), I recommend you go and taste it!
In addition, the restaurant is in the small streets further inland than the beach road so it's quiet, and you can eat inside or outside in the garden. The waitresses provided very nice service. (At this point my husband would also like to point out that the waitress was also very beautiful).
The past and salad was also great. We went back twice in 2 days !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisTraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Burned pizza and bad service => very disapointed !”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I loved pizza so when I saw few good advice in tripadvisor i say to my girlfriend let give a try !! The choice in the menu was already very small as two pizza as identical only the toppings was writes in different order ! But we have a try . My pizza came alright and the one of my Gf almost burned ! That can happen so we just ask if they could redo it . The answer was a big NO and then we had to wait 10 minutes every time . The waitress like not wanted speak to us ! My pizza was not even good just average and the bill was high for gili trawangan . I recommend the pizza in coral beach on another side of the island !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank narcisseWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best pizza outside of... Anywhere”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A strange idea to have a pizza restaurant off the main drag of a tiny Indonesian town, but it works!! Pirates pizza is amazing great cheap to sauce ratio ( I'm a stickler like that) great range of toppings and beautifully cooked in a large stone oven.

A must eat....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank egypt1am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I've Ever Had”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Found out about this place from a local diving center and went that evening for our last meal on the island. The restaurant is fairly small so we were lucky to get a table straight away. Service was great and the pizza was simply amazing, best pizza I have ever had and thats no exaggeration.

People were queuing to get into the restaurant its that good, if you are fortunate to go to Gili Trawangan make sure you go to this place. The Nuttela pizza as a desert was also really good!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pirata also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing