We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms but with bad circuit problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laguna Gili Beach Resort
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms but with bad circuit problem”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Booked two nights in this hotel for USD100++ per night (it was during peak season of NYE).

Good:
1. Love the loft layout of this hotel! And also the garden theme of the resort (with private verandah too!)
2. Free breakfast was provided and it was delicious with generous portions
3. Italian food served for lunch and dinner was one of the best I've ever had in Gili T
4. Free sarong for each check-in
5. It is a beach-front location

Bad:
1. Bad circuit problem - will explain next
2. The Italian food was so good but also very expensive, by far one of the most expensive ones I have seen in Gili T.
3. Flies were everywhere in the (seems to be the common problem for every beach-front restaurant in Gili)
4. Customer service was not up to expectation. Part of the problem is language barrier.

The bad circuit story:
On first night, we discovered that the air-conditioning wasn't working, as well as the TV and fridge and some lamps. The rest were working. The receptionist sent trainee staff who neither can speak English, nor fix circuit problems. We then decided to look for the manager, a Italian chap who we identified at the lobby. He tried to fix the problem but he couldn't so he tried to call in an electrician for help. Meanwhile, he was apologetic to the problem and treated us for free dinner in the hotel restaurant, where we discovered how delicious (and expensive!) the Italian food was (we probably wouldn't even think of having our meals there on our own).

Unfortunately he couldn't get an electrician so he advised us to check on the switch box at the back of our loft and flip the fuse each time it had a problem. We also had an option to change room the next day if it persisted.

The rest of the night went by smoothly actually so we thought we didn't need to change the room the next day. Unfortunately the problem repeated the next evening and my companion realised it was because of bad circuit and heavy loading. After unplugging the TV (we couldn't watch it anyway because there was no signal), it was OK. We told the manager and the staff but they didn't seem to be concerned how dangerous bad circuit it could be (could be another language barrier issue). We hope whoever checks into that particular loft will not have the same problem or worse, fire. We also hope the management could look into fixing that bad circuit for good. No air conditioning is tolerable but risk of fire is no joke.

The resort is a lovely place, really, so I hope it didn't have to end that way.

Room Tip: I think unit 13 and 14 are the loft ones. The rest are regular rooms. Unit 13 had bad circuit proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLynxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    71
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
31
108
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were here for NYE and our room was at the back of the block. The good thing was that the bedroom was upstairs and we had a sofa/spare bed downstairs. Theres a small verandah, and good choice of TV channels compared to other hotels we stayed in. There were 3 wifi hot spots, so that was also good. The private beach was similar to other places and nice.
On the downside, there was building works taking place constantly right beside our bedroom which was very annoying, as it rained quite a bit so we had to endure it rather than relax on the beach. It was about 15min walk to main bars like the other reviews said, and in thick mud this was an experience! The food did not agree with me here, so we chose to eat elsewhere. There were lots of flies around the bar area, I understand this is common in Gili but some places we went to were immaculate, so a little bit of bleach wouldn't hurt here and there.
Overall it was ok hotel but not sure on value for money as was about £100 a night.
Go to Gili Islands if you don't mind roughing it a little in return for amazing beaches and to swim with turtles and to enjoy some nightlife and bbq food.

Room Tip: Room 14 was next to the building works but had bedroom upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess80_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After reading many reviews on T/A, My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights, and have stayed in many hotels across South East Asia. This would have to be one of the worst! Initially the room we were given was at the back of the complex and the A/C was not working also the room had not been cleaned properly, with half drunken water bottles left behind from the cleaning staff, and an extremely dirty fridge. After advising the manager of these concerns, they had told us that the A/C would be fixed. After returning from dinner on the island we went back to our room only to find it was like a sauna, so the manager was called again and he tried telling us that it was our fault and we didn't know how to operate the A/C. So needless to say that night we didn't get much sleep. What made matters worse is the Mosque, which is just down the road starts blasting their prayers from about 5am in the morning via a loud speaker so sleeping is near on impossible.
The following day we moved rooms in the hope we could keep at least a little bit cool and get some sleep, that was not to be! ongoing problems with the A/C again so we were moved again and finally a room with working A/C. We had actually contemplated finding another hotel but because we had spent so much we decided to stick it out!
The breakfast was just O.K, the toast was more like warm bread and the selection was not the greatest. We ate at the restaurant one night, and three different things that we ordered from the menu were not available, although this was only made known after the order had been taken. The Italian owner did not smile or talk with us, (the only time was when he accused us of not knowing how to operate the A/C), although was extremely jolly and friendly to all of the Italian guests!!
The only highlight for this hotel was the beach, which is directly across the road and the snorkelling. the water is amazing and the abundance of marine life is awesome.
Gili T is an amazing place but I would reconsider staying at this hotel, much better and cheaper accommodation available on the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davo383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we stayed for 5 days at Laguna Gili. Nice rooms on a good location. Next to that, the service of both staff and owner are below average. Rooms are not very clean, lot of cats around the bungalows, and the mosque is making it difficult to have a good sleep. If you are planning to visit Gili Trawangan, there are many other better places!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lekkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at Laguna Gili for only 2 nights but wish we had stayed for months!
Maybe only about 10 or 12 suites, each with a shaded outdoor seating area. The suites are large, modern, very clean and with all the required amenities. From your suite you walk by the pool, then the breakfast cafe/restaurant, cross the street and you are right on the beach where you can snorkel.
We paid about $100 per night which included breakfast for 2, but expect to pay about $150 in busy times.
From suite to the waters edge is only about 30 metres or so. The resort will give you all the towels you need and there is a bicycle rental stall next door (about $4 or $5 per day per bike)
From the harbour it is only a short pony cart trip north to the resort, the pony carts have a monopoly on travel and seem to charge $5 every time. You really only need them if you have heavy cases or are too over refreshed to ride your bike!
Great restaurants all around up and down the street, many with Italian origins as there is a small Italian expat community on the island. This all blends in with the local Muslim community, a large percentage of Rastas, it all seems to work.
Gili T is cleaner and more laid back than Bali, the no motorized vehicles rule just adds to the whole experience. Hopefully we will be back next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 7 nights here, and could have been many more had time permitted.

The hotel is on the Northern half of the island, no more than a 15 minute walk from Trawangans main bars, but far enough to get away from it all when you want to. It also occupies a great spot on the beach with sunloungers and beanbags.

Rooms are clean modern and well decorated with everything you'd expect from AC, safe, TV, kettle etc

Service was fantastic and very attentive throughout, with breakfast offering more than enough choice.

Great hotel and would fully recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gouse89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroubra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Best location to stay on Gili T. Amazing value for $. Great villa, awesome pool, beautiful beach with loungers, snorkel with turtles straight off the beach, delicious cheap food & friendly & helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. This was our 2nd stay on Gili T & our stay was even better than last time. A week was not long enough! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whoneedsworkanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Vamana Resort
Vamana Resort
#19 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trawangan Dive Resort
Trawangan Dive Resort
#13 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Bale Sampan Bungalows
#6 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Good Heart Resort
Good Heart Resort
#18 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach House Resort
The Beach House Resort
#14 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samba Villas
Samba Villas
#28 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Gili Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Gili Beach Resort

Property: Laguna Gili Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Gili Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laguna Gili Resort is located directly on the beach front of Gili Trawangan Island. The Resort is built in harmony with nature and essential element for total comfort of our guest. Our 14 cottages all come with spacious bedroom and living space, with an option for extra bed. It also includes air-condition, minibar, flat screen TV and a safety deposit box. Our large bathroom provides hot and cold shower, a huge mirror and ample space for your personal needs. Each cottage has its own veranda built exclusively with tropical materials such as coconut wood and alang-alang roof, a traditional Lombok-Indonesian grass to create a unique and natural sensation. Exquisite furniture and noble materials such as teak wood harmonize the interiors of the rooms. Stylish marble and wooden floors will ensure luxury and pleasurable stay. Even in the spacious bathroom, the combination of raw marble and wood promise comfort and elegance. The resort is located just a few meters from the ocean, with an exclusive beachfront; it is a perfect place for relaxation with a great view of the smooth waves that embrace the shore. Sunbeds and beach umbrellas are provided to ensure a stress free environment. The Swimming pool is made with orange tile for a modern and unique effect offering radiance and freshness. Our friendly and attentive staff, together with our Indonesian management will ensure that your holiday be pleasurable and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Laguna Gili Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Gili Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing