We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gili Trawangan Night Market

Gili Trawangan Night Market
Ranked #14 of 112 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cheap and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Probably local people may find it more expensive and not super genuine, but as a foreigner, I enjoyed the fact you can choose food from different stalls and eat at larger tables, giving the chance to mingle with other travelers or the few local ones. Find the food a lot more tasty than in the more expensive restaurants (though most of them - you enjoy the beach front view, and lot more confortable seats, cleaner sets, etc..)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The Flying Fish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    805
    413
    112
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balikpapan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cheap compares to restaurants but with average taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

tried to buy diner here once, the one on the north corner near the gate (was it kiki novi?). We didn't try all the food so my review might not be too general. Many choices for local food, but the one that I had tasted so so. I'm Indonesian, so I guess I have tried a lot Indonesians cuisine that are way better. :)

We had several kinds of satay (calamari, chicken, beef, tuna, and another kind of fish..) with nasi campur. Each satay cost Rp15.000-30.000, so I don't really think that it cost really cheap unless you only buy one satay which didn't seem enough for me. But the nasi campur was for free.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaSaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap as chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Gili T Night Market is outstanding food for next to no money! We ate an entrée, two main courses had a 1 litre bottle of Bintang beer and a 1.5 litre bottle of water for A$12 (total!!) at Annamb Café.

The fish are very fresh and displayed on ice - and you watch as they are cleaned and grilled to your liking. We ate here for 6 of our 7 nights on the island and had a few lunches at Annamb café inbetween dives - thoroughly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best place for diner-supper-late supper-very late supper :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Empty at day light and crowded during the night... this Night market is kind of magnetic during the night.. people from the island came around for great local food with a reasonable price! never missed it during my stay

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HendraOktaviano82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had roasted chicken set which portion quite big but the price of 20k is really high. Their orange juice turned out to be an orange syrup. I also had Martabak there (kinda pancake) with my fave cheese milk stuffed and it was delicious. Tasted good, just like the one in Jakarta and its price (Rp12k) is way cheaper than the one sold near my house (Rp21k).

Ow.. i saw the vendor asking the guests who were eating in their table row to move to other table because they bought their meal from other vendor. They apologized but still, that is so not polite.

I rather eat in Green Cafe in the building behind this market. Nasi Campur + mineral water is only 18k and the taste is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank novangely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gili Trawangan Night Market also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Gili Trawangan Night Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing