We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT. Just book it”
Review of Ricel Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ricel Homestay
Ranked #38 of 179 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Behold everything you want and need for your stay in Trawangan. Clean sheets, comfy bed, nice owners, peaceful nights. My boyfriend and I moved from a "luxurious" hotel to stay here. You don´t need fancy paint and bathrobes in the Gilis; What we got at Ricel was no more and no less than the perfect room at a great price, with a great secluded location away from the crowd (yet only a few minutes´ walk), genuine home made morning toast and scrambled eggs, and nice owners!!
Another great thing about Ricel versus some of the hostels on the island is that you don´t feel obligated to eat the often unspeakably disgusting lunches and dinners in their restaurants, made by mushroom-stoned teens.
Owner Rusydie is an awesome dude. You´ll usually find him beachfront at Aquaddiction diving centre where he works as a diving instructor. He´s been diving in the area for 9 years and diving with him is SO much fun!! We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: All rooms look the same. Fan rooms have very powerful fans and aircon rooms have great ACs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

The rooms are clean and basic, with a nice little patio area overlooking the garden where you sit and take breakfast. The rooms are equipped with both fan (super high power) and aircon. It would have been nice to have had warm water for the shower, but certainly not a problem without. In fact all the "fresh water" on the island is brackish, so you soon get used to having a permanently salty feeling. The owners are very friendly and helpful, offering advice on places to visit (on Lombok too) and where to eat etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I am so happy that I stayed at Ricel. Everything about my cottage was excellent, it was clean, cool and in a great location. I would definately stay there again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Gili Trawangan. The owner Rusty was also very informative and knew all the best places to eat & drink.

Room Tip: I opted for aircon but its a personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickyr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I met the owner Rusydi outside Aquaddiction dive shop, super nice guy, biggest smile... we were looking for somewhere a little quieter away from the bars (but not too far!), his place was perfect... clean, comfy, and only a short walk to the beach. Nothing was too much trouble, Rusydi recommended restaurants, bars, and eventually took us for our first dive, also awesome. Don't think twice :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andym826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were all very satisfied with Ricel. Both the room and bathroom is so big, clean, and the light are so bright.It also have table light. I don't mind if there hasn't any TV in the room because we were currently on vacation. the garden is so nice, they have 2 chairs and 1 round table in the terrace with the view of their garden. it;s so nice to wasting time in the night in terrace. The owner, Rusdy is a nice and helpfull people, he pick up in the boat centre, he also give us discount on snorkling with Aqquadiction, he offered us for our brekfast and he'll do anything when we need something even if he's not there (he'll call someone in that homestay to help us). To go to the beach, we only need to walk for about 2 minutes (300 metres). I highly RECOMEND Ricel Homestay for all of us to stay. Next year if I can go to Gili T again, i'll definitely sleep here because I can sleep very well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Farid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I loved everything about this place! Comfy, cheap, very clean, polite and very nice owner. He did everything and also a lot more extra to keep us happy, we really enjoyed it! We stayed there for almost a week, and desided to move into a house with some friends since we were gonna stay a couple of months on the island. But I can highly recomend Ricel Homestay, its a VERY nice place to stay. and I´m telling all of my friends to stay there when they are visiting us, and all of them loves the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LineVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked a room online (with AC) on AsiaRooms.com. When we arrived the owner asked us to pay more than the price that was displayed on the website (about 50%). After much bargaining we eventually paid the price of the website. But the guy turned down our AC because he's said that wasn't included in the price we paid. The owner was really not friendly.
Besides the room was allright but kinda far from the beach. It's possible to find the same thing for much cheaper somewhere else on the island.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hippob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,911 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#11 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ricel Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ricel Homestay

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $14 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ricel Homestay is family run, laid back and friendly place located about 2 minutes from a lovely beach with top quality snorkeling. You will be 5 minutes from the main restaurants and bars - a great location whether you want to have a laid back retreat or finding the nearest party. Several rooms have been newly built with the others being refurbished at the same time. Fan and air-conditioned rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ricel Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ricel Homestay Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing