We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Eden Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eden Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Milano, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice small resort very close to the north beach where you will get the best snorkeling time and place in Gili T.
The area is off the main sandy road that runs around the island but you can walk everywhere in minutes and even if is not at the center of the nightlife, if ever you will look for it, there are enough places easy to reach to fulfill almost every need.
Big new clean rooms with spacious bathroom and excellent AC, TV with free DVDs for everyone, good choice for breakfast, handy pool in the center of the common area...nice place overall...just bring a torch because at night the paths around the resort are very dark unless there is a full moon...totally safe nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    37
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
74
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Close enough to the beach but a little too far from central area. Its so quiet like you are stay in the middle of nowhere. The owner and staff are very helpful, breakfast is good, swimming pool is nice and clean (even rather small), and you can borrow DVD for free. The only concern is their location, as its not in the main road. You also need to bring flashlight to go to anywhere after 18.00.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambar_kus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having read all the great reviews on this site we booked via Agoda for three nights the day before we arrived. We expected a nice, pratical setup and since it's a budget hotel we didn't expect much luxury. The rooms are clean, the pool is nice, the staff is friendly but that's where it ends. Sterile and not very cozy at all, plus, our room was so dark that we could hardly see after nightfall, and when we asked the staff for a lamp all they gave us was a flashlight. We asked them if we could check out the following morning, seeing as how the room was so dark it was pretty much impossible to be awake in there after six o clock, and were told okay. We went ahead and booked another place but it turned out that Agoda had already charged us for the three nights, and we couldn't get a refund, the manager told us. We thought that was pretty unflexible of him since we had booked it only one day earlier and clearly weren't satisfied with the room. Regardless of Agodas TOS are.. I would recommend getting another place on the northern shore, which is beautiful btw. The place has potential though, a nice garden and some better lighting would maybe do the trick..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juhan413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you want to be in the middle of all the action Gili has to offer, then don't book here. If you want to relax at home and don't mind to take a 15min bike to the centre, go here. The owner and staff are very helpful, breakfast is very good, swimming pool is nice and clean, free movies and magazines in different languages to read. The cottages are spacious and confortable. There is no noise from parties or the mosque. The best snorkeling on the island is on the north beach, wich is only 100m away from the cottages. I would recommend a stay here to everyone who wants relaxation.

Room Tip: Go snorkeling on the closest beach Bring a flashlight because after 18:00 the route to Eden is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tieske D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We enjoyed 4 nights here recently. Jim the owner is a lovely laid back guy who wants to make sure you have a nice time at Eden. There are 6 rooms around the central pool which is warm and clean. The setting is in a coconut grove, just 2 minutes walk from the beach where you can snorkel straight out to the reef. (Rock shoes helpful). The rooms are spacious and a tv with dvd player (a lots of dvds to borrow). Bathroom was large. A bit basic, cold water, the drains smell a bit eggy but that is common on Gili T as the water sources are scarce. We had a problem with slow water drainage from the shower but Lim fixed it quickly. He also provided an extra mattress free of charge for our son. The room is cleaned daily. The lads who work here are quiet but helpful. Breakfast is simple and adequate.

Location wise you are a 25+ minute walk from the main restaurant area, or 10 minute cycle. There are a couple of restaurants 5 minutes walk away. Casa Grasia is not cheap but nice.

Don't listen to people who say Gili T is a crazy party island. There is a party in one place most nights where most people congregate to. Other than that it is dead quiet. Nights are silent at Eden cottages, but you can reach the fun too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Although the stay was alright, I would not stay here again as the experience was not enough for a return visit.
Get a cart from the harbour as it is too far with luggage (probably ok with a light bag). Pay no more than 50,000rp (I never paid more than 50k for a cart, whether short distance or half way around the island).
It is a few metres from the beach, you have to walk through a dusty bit dirty path to the beach (not especially strange in Indonesia so not a minus). The area is very serene and the beach on the north end is much nicer than the more popular shores. There's not that much happening on this side so you have to walk around a quarter of the island to reach the action, which isn't that far. So it's nice to escape the crowds around here. There are dive shops and snorkel hires nearby.
The cottages are alright, they're fairly modern and clean so they don't offer a very Indonesian experience which is fine. There's a lot of DVDs you could watch, some magazines, two hammocks, you can also borrow a fan which is better than running an a/c all night. Wish they had inbuilt ceiling fans though to cut down on a/c use.
You only get one towel which is a really nice thick one but there may be some mysterious stains on them.. no face washer or hand towel or bath mat. Just don't think too much about what the stains are as the towels are still clean. No hair dryer.
Bed very hard (normal for Asia) and creaked so so loudly! Not a good sleep. Since the location is remote you don't get any crowd, rooster or mosque noises just birds. The walls are pretty thin so you'll hear anyone talking outside (the cottages are pretty close together). Luckily it doesn't seem to be the sort of place that attracts loud partiers.
The showers were cold with fresh water, which is probably ok during the day but being a late showerer I would have appreciated some hot water. You do get used to it though.
The pool was always very clean and I saw staff clean it all the time. You can play music through the speakers by the pool.
You get two nice chairs and a table out on a little balcony to sit at and have breakfast on. The 'juice' was so watered down you're better off with the hot drinks. The pancakes were the best thing, the eggs too plain and boring. Not a large sized breakfast but ok. You also get a hanger to hang wet clothes on outside.
Sophie the cat will come up to you and make lots of noise looking for food so great for cat lovers, not so much for cat haters. She was nice and friendly. Hope she gets fed a bit more!

Cons/Things to look out for
You have to RENT the bikes, they are not free. Still a cheap rate but certainly NOT FREE.
Jim has a strange manner about him. He's friendly and helpful BUT not entirely professional. Any sort of stress and he appears to be a strict school teacher (this is the politest thing I could write...). Can appear rude sometimes. I can see why his manner would cause some people to dislike him. Not a personality that everyone would get along with. I'll leave it at that! (The Indonesian staff were really really nice though.)
No free wifi, no free wifi to piggyback off in the area either

Eden Cottages looks much nicer than most pictures as the pool section has been fully developed now. There are nice plants around etc. However given the choices of other accommodation I would have chosen them, except it was peak time and there were not many other options left (that I could book over the internet, once on the ground you could still see signs advertising free rooms).

Room Tip: There's only 6 cottages so not much difference between them really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laineyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We are a couple who have been travelling through Asia for the last 6 months and had received glowing reports from others we respected as to how great Gilli T was and how Eden's Cottages was the place to stay. The many recommendations were consistent and we thought before arriving exaggerated but we were pleasantly surprised. The owner Jim and his staff bent over backwards to make our stay the best it could be. They took us around the Island and showed us all that was on offer. The rooms are clean and inviting and feature a plasma TV and DVD player, for which you can borrow films to watch for free. The swimming pool is medium sized and always clean. There are bicycles you can use both during the day and at night to circumnavigate the island. The market food is the best I have ever tasted which is really saying something but the best Thai food I have ever had came from Doll. Doll is a local cook who caters for the Cottages (ask Jim for a menu). We only planned to stay for a few days but stayed for 9 nights which is our longest stay at one place to date. Another couple we know ended up staying for several wks! This is now top of our list of places to revisit and a must see!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally good. Highlight - Jim's tour of the island, market food & Doll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robjjones2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Trawangan Oasis
Trawangan Oasis
#13 of 162 in Gili Trawangan
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Favela
La Favela
#8 of 247 in Gili Trawangan
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilson's Retreat
Wilson's Retreat
#7 of 247 in Gili Trawangan
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karma Kayak
Karma Kayak
#25 of 247 in Gili Trawangan
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmeto Village
Palmeto Village
#38 of 247 in Gili Trawangan
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wood Stock Home Stay
Wood Stock Home Stay
#17 of 162 in Gili Trawangan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Cottages

Property: Eden Cottages
Address: jalan lili laut, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eden Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Cottages Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing