We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite place in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gili Joglo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gili Joglo
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite place in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I cant say enoough about Joglo, the villa was spacious and clean, and luxurious with just the right amount of rustic. We felt so welcome from the minute we arrived until we left. We initially booked a one night stay but wanted to extend for more nights but there wasnt availability (thats how much we loved it!) and the owner Alina was calling up her contacts and recommeding places for us to stay which was very helpful. Yudi was a joy to see everyday and was super helpful, all the other staff are wonderful as well.

This has been one of our most memorable stays and I recommend Joglo to everyone, we certainly can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SaraElhawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in the back villa with two rooms, and it is by far one of the nicest most special places I have seen anywhere. one of the bedrooms had a roofless toilet which was awseome and so refreshing! the staff were great and helpful, Nudy in specific was awseome. The entire villa was clean and air conditioned. Breakfast was brought to our kitchen table every morning and words can not describe how simple and great it was. we extended our stay in Gili T but Joglo was overbooked for us to stay there, that broke our heart a little but the staff helped us find another hotel nearby which was nothing compared to Joglo. I dont think there is anything like it on the entire island. would definatly come back and I highly highly recommend this to anyone visiting Gili T. Will definatly stay there the next time I visit.

Room Tip: Choose the villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radwashehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay for a few days – perfect for a group of friends on holiday. The staff were very friendly and attentive, whilst just leaving us to our own devices. Breakfast was good. The whole place was very well air-conditioned. Loads of books and boardgames too. Clean sheets everyday and the place was spotless. This place was a winner, and my favourite point: absolutely fantastic value. A bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zerovolume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I am a bit reluctant to advise others to stay at the Gili Joglo because I don't want it to become too popular and have no room left for us! We absoulutely adored everything about the Gili Joglo. Alina & Didier made us feel so welcome & organised Horse riding on the beach for us at the very last minute one afternoon. The boys Yudi and co won our hearts and became our friends, always going above and beyond for us. The Gladaks itself was clean and tidy with massive bathrooms and DVD players in each room that play CD's also. The beds are firm but comfortable and the aircon is perfect. The oustide bathroom is divine (my friend had the outside one) but the inside one is equally as nice. We loved brakfast with the banana smoothies, omelettes and jam on toast our favourites. The WIFI never let us down and they replace water everyday for you. I did not hear the Muslim Prayer early in the morning once.. (although we did have alot of late nights which could have contributed to our deafness so early in the morning!) We did hear roosters on occasion but that's everywhere on the island. The little shop close by is awesome with everyone super friendly there to pick up supplies. Our favourite part of the day was trekking up to the night markets of an afternoon grabbing a bottle of Chilean Wine and sitting on our bean bag chairs on the veranda of the Gladaks, listening to music and chatting as the sun went down. All in all Joglo is luxurious, practical and just like home. I Wouldn't hesitate to reccommend the Gladaks to anyone whether it's families, couples, friends or Solo travellers. And don't forget to sign the Guest Book ! Solo Vivimos Una Vez! Casey - Australia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed in The Joglo villa with a friend and loved it! We had to toss a coin to decide who should have the bedroom with the roofless bathroom. It is one of the best bathrooms I have ever had the pleasure of using.
Breakfast is good and the bottled water in the fridge is replenished free of charge.

Please don't be put off by there being no swimming pool. It is literally only a 2-3 minutes walk down to the beach and in my opinion, this stretch of beach is the best on the whole island (and believe me I did my research while there).

Bring a small torch which is useful at nighttime when you walk down the road to the villa as it is very dark (it is only a short distance). Also pack ear plugs as otherwise you will be woken early by the morning prayers from the mosque (no matter where you stay on the island you will be able to hear the loud speakers). The showers have fresh water (some other hotels only have salt water). The beds are comfortable but a little hard. The WiFi worked intermittently while we were there but there had been problems on the whole island.

All the staff are very friendly. The owners Alina and Didier go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and were tremendous help in organising the boat transfers to and from Bali. (The 2,5 hrs boat trip from Bali to Gili was a pleasure but from Gili to Bali it was rough and very hard. If you have back problems I would recommend that you travel to/from Lombok which is a shorter distance by boat transfer).

The roads on the island keep improving but you will find dirt tracks on half of it. You will get dirty when you go cycling or walking so please don't pack your designer whites! But whatever you do, don't hesitate staying at Gili Joglo - it is simply wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellebuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Gili Joglo for 5 nights with our 11 month old daughter. I can't recommend it highly enough, we had a fantastic stay. The villa (we stayed in The Joglo) is very spacious and unique. I don't think you will find any other accommodation like it on the island. It is excellent value.
The highlight was the fantastic staff, who were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, and every afternoon we were brought a snack (the dip was so yummy!) Nothing was too much to ask for. As our daughter was asleep by 630, the staff happily went out to pick up dinner for us so we could eat in the villa. We would happily return, and look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate31Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London-Brighton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gili Joglo has 2 villas, each with 2 bedroom, we stayed at the one called The Gladaks. I had a chance to see the other one too which is equally nice. The villa is very spacious with its own living room, kitchen & small garden. Wifi is provided. Each bedroom has its own nice shower room, the bedroom is spacious and has both fan & AC. Very clean, comfortable & nicely decorated.
We completely have our own privacy, they have security outside.
The location is away from the crowds yet only 2-3 mins walk to the beach. Breakfast is freshly cooked & served on the dining table every morning after we order it.
The owners, Alina & Didier are very helpful, weeks before our arrival, Alina been helping us arranging our transportation even helped us when we had some issue. All information & advice was provided even before our booking which is very helpful.
Didier welcome us on our arrival & again like Alina, assisting us throughout our stay.
Their whole team are very friendly & helpful just like the owner.
We enjoyed the villa, the hospitality & the service. I will certainly stay at Gili Joglo again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2ravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Bella
Villa Bella
#43 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
Ozzy Cottages and Bungalows
#71 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marygio Resort
Marygio Resort
#5 of 145 in Gili Trawangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelapa Kecil
Kelapa Kecil
#61 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ricel Homestay
Ricel Homestay
#31 of 145 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samba Villas
Samba Villas
#25 of 229 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Joglo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Joglo

Property: Gili Joglo
Address: Jalan Ikan Hiu | East Beach, West Nusa Tenggara 80862, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 100 meters from Gili Trawangan’s top snorkeling/swimming beach and a short walk along the shoreline to the best bars and restaurants, you will find Gili Joglo, tropical villas. Villa 'The Joglo' and villa'The Gladaks' are antique teak wooden houses from Java with a brilliant character; restored and modernized to today’s luxury and comfort.The two villas are a unique mix of heritage and modern convenience. Beautiful tropical gardens, fresh water showers under the stars and huge comfortable lounging areas. Each villa comes with large living spaces, 2 master bedrooms, a fully eguipped kitchen and private verandas overlooking the tropical gardens. The property offers free Wi-Fi, book and DVD library, private boat charters and a variety of recreational choices. Guests can go diving, snorkeling, horseback riding, golfing or just relax and have an in house body massage.Gili Joglo staff will attend to your needs with friendly, efficient and graceful service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gili Joglo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Joglo Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing