We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more rooms...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Sand Homestay
Ranked #48 of 148 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No more rooms...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked through Booking.com and unfortunately when we arrived, they didn't have vacancy for the type of room we booked. We paid extra for a room with AC and there was only a room with a fan available.
I would highly recommend contacting the hotel directly to make sure your booking is confirmed and to arrange a pick up from the harbour. The map on Booking.com was way off, so we ended up walking around for a long time in the heat asking locals for help. No one had heard of the hotel (including the horse carriages), so we ended up going back to the harbour and having the boat company call them.
We found that a number of hotels were not even close to where the booking websites have them listed on their maps.

The Manager who met us at the Harbour was extremely nice and helped us find another room for the same price. Too bad the place he found us was a dump....

I would highly recommend that you find one nights accommodation and get a feel for where you want to be on the island.
We found a much better place to stay with better amenities for $5USD more than we paid to stay here. Prices seem to be cheaper in person because you can haggle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children in August and a wonderful time. The rooms are spacious and even with an extra mattress for the children there was still plenty of room. The fresh water showers were great and the Ac worked well. However the real stars of the show are Black and his wonderful team jaka, jaki and melan who are the friendliest and most caring people you could meet. We were treated like part of the family and our children made lots of friends with the local children. Its a taste of how gili trawangan used to be before the over pampered and over privileged tourist hordes arrived. Thank you Blacksand we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairelhamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have just spent a week at Black Sand Homestay, the latest in many stays here. Living in Bali, I often take a short break over on Gili Trawangan to get away from the hustle and bustle of here.

My previous review stated that the rooms had salt water showers, but i am delighted to advise that the showers are now all fresh water, which is great after a day at the beach!

The owner and staff are always very welcoming, and this trip did not disappoint. My room was clean and very comfortable (I took an air con room) and great for sleeping in due to it being so quiet.

Breakfast cooked by the lovely Jaka was excellent, and i was also invited to join the staff from time to time for meals, which was very kind of them.

Another great stay at Black Sand Homestay and it definitely wont be my last.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have air conditioning and are cooler than 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The owner "Black" and his staff were friendly and kind and made me feel very welcome.
(For singles traveling alone you will feel safe and comfortable staying here)
The rooms are lovely, clean and tidy, some with air con and some fan only, plus fresh water showers.
The homestay is in a quiet location, only 150m from beach - 2 mins on the bicycle.
I can highly recommend this homestay and I will definitely be returning to stay here again, in fact I'm returning in a couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hostie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at Black Sand With a girlfriend a few weeks back and had a lovely time.

We had found the homestay through a friend and a quick phonecall to the owner secured us two rooms.

On the first night we were in fan cooled rooms which were a little on the warm side during the day but they soon cooled down in the evening.

Each room had two beds, a cold water shower (salt water, which is the norm in Gili Trawangan) and a small balcony.

The staff and owner were very friendly ans welcomes us as soon as we arrived.

In the morning, we were asked what we wanted for breakfast and scrambled eggs were soon delivered to our rooms with a hot pot of tea. I have to say these eggs were eggcellent.

With a pretty garden, we relaxed over breakfast whilst planning our day.

We soon moved into the air conditioned rooms which are only a couple of years pld and these were great. Very comfortable beds, the same cold salt water showers, and the garden view.

Our rooms were clean, as were our beds.

This is a great place to stay as its so quiet and in the middle of th village, but only about 150m from the beach.

Room Tip: Choose air con rooms for more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Quite nice and very friendly for a budget homestay. Out of the way, it has 2 "older" rooms, and 2 new one. spacy, with a little terrase in front of each room, 2 beds (sleeps up to 3), bathroom (not super clean, but acceptable), and a garden in the middle. The owner speaks excellent french and english. Salty water, but that's a norm on the island. Nice breakfast. We were offered a fresh coconut, and were invited to bbq with them on 2 occasions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hey_joh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
Les Villas Ottalia - Meno
#2 of 11 in Gili Meno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Brothers Bungalows
Two Brothers Bungalows
#3 of 60 in Gili Meno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Karma Kayak
Karma Kayak
#22 of 232 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melati Hotel
Melati Hotel
#53 of 148 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceane and Alexyane Paradise Bungalows
Oceane and Alexyane Paradise Bun...
#70 of 148 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sand Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sand Homestay

Property: Black Sand Homestay
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Sand Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Sand Homestay Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing