We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, fantastic host”
Review of Rumah Kundun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rumah Kundun
Ranked #38 of 179 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Rumah Kundun is not about a luxurous stay at Gili T. This place is back to basic with a basic room, cold shower and low water pressure. Staying at charming Rumah Kundun is staying in a little oasis of rest and quietness with a very lovely and charming host, Dian.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Grensjeverleggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Rumah Kundun is a relaxing oasis tucked away at the end of a quiet street in the village. Our double room with fan was great value, very spacious and spotlessly clean; the bed was comfortable. Our host Dian was extremely welcoming; he was a fascinating person to chat to and gave us a wealth of inspiration for our onward travel. Our little verandah looking out on the courtyard garden gave us a peaceful refuge; we were well-shielded from noise from bars and the mosque. The beach is a very short walk away, and the pineapple pancakes for breakfast were delicious. A great spot if you want peace and quiet on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fyrelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Rumah Kundun for 5 wonderful nights and loved the space. The fan room was perfectly fine for us. After planning and researching our trip to Trawangan, we were a little worried about noise etc -- needless in this case. The room was quiet, comfortable and lovely. The only problem, seriously, was that we couldn't stay longer.

The breakfast was awesome. If you are used to all-inclusive resort types of accommodation, then this place might not work for you (there's no pool or fitness centre and the water is brackish), but then the price reflects this too. We had some wifi access as well which was great. We were saddened that Kade had to go out of town for our last day too as we felt very blessed to have met her.

We booked quite far in advance for this particular trip and were happy that we did. We visited during high season, but it was an unusually slow high season this year, we were told. Yet, Rumah Kundun was fully booked. If you know when you're going, don't leave the reservation to chance. Email them and you'll receive a response very quickly. All of these positive reviews are the result of Kade's and Dian's hard work, and of course, one consequence is that the rooms are often booked solid.

We also met some of the other guests fortunate enough to stay here and I guess the place attracts like-minded souls -- a wonderful travelling community spirit to Rumah Kundun. Thank you so much. Namaste.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Merrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This small place feels like heaven in Trawangan. The rooms are clean and spacious.
Excellent breakfast was included to room price, and served to terrace. Both Kade and Dian were very helpful.

There are two sites with separation of small wall, and we stayed in both sides: in guesthouse (fan only) and also in main building (fan + AC). Both are great options, and the garden is really pleasant and relaxing place to be. The greatest advantage of the place is that you can't hear the noise/music from nightclubs etc. Somewhat 200 meters and you are on the beach. No swimming pool, but hey, who needs such when there is great beach after short walking.

We definitely will visit this place again in future. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Elina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed 7 days on Gili Trawangan.
In this time we are staying at Rumah Kundun.

A very nice family, where the wife Kade takes make our breakfast etc..
The property has: 1 main room where the family lives.
4 bedrooms, each with bath and bed.
1 room of which has air conditioning.

Every morning Kade has prepared a great breakfast for us.

Richard & Marijana

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in all 4 bungalows, the owners were so kind when a member of our party was unwell they helped in every way. The garden is very sweet and tranquil, the rooms are clean and we stayed for a week. We didn't want to leave! Breakfast was catered for every morning which was eaten on the porch of your room.

Fab stay and really made our experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lex100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Rumah Kundun for a 7 days. We were only going to stay for 3 nights, but Kade & Dian made us feel at home so much that we ended up staying for 7 nights. We would have stayed longer if they had room for us. We stayed in the rooms opposite Rumah Kundun. Kade and Dian have recently taken these extra rooms on. We had a double fan room. The room was very clean and spacious. It had cold showers, but that was ok as it was hot on the island and you didn't need a hot shower! We had breakfast on our porch each morning and the banana pancakes were delicious. The room was basic but fine, set in a lovely little garden. The location is spot on. Its away from the main drag and you can get a good nights sleep there as its in nice and quiet location. Kade & Dian were very helpful with any information we needed. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Gili Trawangan

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank James_and_Hilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,907 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Kundun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Kundun

Address: Kundun Road | the Village, behind Budha Dive & Martas, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $20 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Kundun is a small, family-run guesthouse on Gili Trawangan, off the coast of Lombok, Indonesia.We offer clean, homely, tastefully-furnished rooms in a quiet backstreet two minutes walk away from the restaurants, bars and dive shops in the village.If you're looking for a friendly, comfortable and quiet place to call home during your stay on this "magic" island, come and talk to us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Kundun Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing