We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff!”
Review of Villa Unggul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Unggul
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

this is probably one of the best hotels on gili trawangan.

great spacious rooms with FRESH water shower.
Quiet beach with comfortable beds from the hotel.
great prices for food and drinks (especially compared to other luxury hotels)

quiet location but close enough to all the restaurants and bars.
great snorkeling (we saw turtles every day right in front of the beach)
Pretty good swimming here, this part is one of the better spots for swimming all day.
(Don't forget to bring water shoes!!)

very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vinensheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Villa Unggul for about 5 days in August. And had a great experience every minute of it.

Villa Unggula is located towards the end of the "main strip", or about 10-15 min walk from the night market. You are close enough to all the bars, restaurants, clubs, and yet feels a bit out of the way from all the noise. There is a small section of the beach set up with chairs and umbrellas, as well as a very nice salt water pool (water on Gili T is filled with corral fragments, so it is nice to have alternative place to chill in the sun and go swimming).

Rooms are bungalow type, big and nicely furnished. Bathrooms have fresh AND hot water (again this does not happen often on Gili T, usually you either get fresh but not hot water, or hot but salt water). Rooms were kept impeccably clean, which was a pleasant change from the place we stay at before.

Service was very nice and friendly. Some of the people did not speak perfect English but everyone was very polite and looking to help. Breakfast is delicious and not to be missed.

Overall great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We arrived on Gili Trawangan tired of 2 days of travel from Japan and originally stayed at another very tired hotel a little further down the beach. With the sounds of Ramadan filling our room every night at 3 am and 5 am, and being filtered in with wild roosters once the calls to prayer had finished, we were just about going crazy. We arrived at Villa Unggul sleep deprived and grateful for the beautiful rooms, warm shower water, and cool marble floors. Not to mention the beautiful salt-water pool out front, and easy access to the beach with beach chairs for hotel guests. Breakfast was also delicious, I opted for the banana pancakes every morning which were accompanied by a croissant and some fresh fruit. The staff were gracious and welcoming, the room was always beautiful cleaned, the ceilings and thatched roofs in the rooms is beautiful, and I would overall recommend this hotel to others looking for something slightly higher end, (albeit quite pricey at $100 a night for Gili T.) I can't say I regret spending any of the money we did here as we were so pleased and impressed with our stay. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I know it's high season, but 100 euro per night is too much for a small bathroom whit the shower over the toilet. A nicer and bigger room was 150 so we choose to stay in the cheaper one. Ask for a written quote if you decide to stay, they pretend you haven't understood the price and overcharge you when checking out!

Anyway, the hotel is nice and breakfast is good. We never used the the swimming pool, since the hotel has some seabeds just across the road. Good snorkeling. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank femurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stumbled upon villa Unggul and ended up staying 10 nights! A spacious room tastefully decorated with a large indoor bathroom (yay), good air con, not so great tv reception (but who cares when you are on Gili T), average wifi and overall clean compared to other places we stayed on the island. The breakfast was included which was very good and the staff also efficient and friendly. Highly recommended...

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank flyingkiwis_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Great location, beautiful rooms with nice bed and bathroom. The pool is very big and clean. Breakfast on the beach was a great start of the day. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wariepjij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I've stayed here twice. The first time (April 2011) was brilliant, Had an awesome pool. Nice big beds/bedrooms/bathroom. Very quiet. Away from the hustle and bustle yet close enough to walk down there. Do reccommend hiring bikes though. Second time (October 2011) Pool was filthy which was a shame, although it cleared up towards the end of our stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPC_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
681 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
#11 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
640 reviews
1.1 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Unggul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Unggul

Address: Jl. Raya pemenang | North East side of Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83315, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $86 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Unggul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Unggul Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing