We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly very good”
Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have to agree with one of the previous reviewers, who said that the Ombak does certain things extremely well, and others less so.
I will explain this statement in a moment, but I also feel appropriate to make the following disclaimer: I have paid around 50 GBP a night for a Deluxe room (2 people, my husband and I).
We spent 2 nights, breakfast not included.
I think it's important that I say this from the outset so that my comments are put into perspective.
Now, the Pros for us were:
1. FRESH WATER - oh yes, that's a rarity in the Gili T. for very obvious reasons. Many hotels (in the 4 star category) don't offer fresh water to shower, but make some available in an urn for teeth brushing. Therefore, I was delighted to have hot water in abundance (have no complaints of water pressure or bathroom facilities).
2. BIG CLEAN ROOM - we stayed in a Deluxe room which is the entry level category (i.e. cheapest room) and it was big, spacious and clean with a nice outside patio with chairs and table.
3. NICE RESORT AS A WHOLE - it's a pretty resort, well kept and with a beautiful reception.
4. SWIMMING POOLS - nice and spacious, of fresh water and overlooking the sea.
5. LOCATION - Now, this is very subjective. I liked the location since the resort overlooks the sea and you can have a drink watching the sunset at the beach (which is literally a stone throw away from the hotel). However, the resort is not exactly in the center (you will need to hire a kart, walk or take a bike). A kart costs about 75,000 rupiahs for 2 people, and a little more (100,000 rupiahs for 4) each way. So realistically that could set you back about 10/15 GBP a day, assuming a return trip to town by kart each day. Clearly not the hotel's fault but worth knowing.
6. THE STAFF - it was our wedding anniversary and the staff made a very nice effort with flowers and a cake waiting for us in the room. Such a nice touch!
A couple of things for improvement (which should not detract from the beauty of this hotel):
1. THE SAFE IN THE ROOM - I think other reviewers have mentioned that it is not stuck to the wardrobe (i.e. it can be removed from the premises).
2. MAINTENANCE - The hotel is fairly new and yet some areas are already in deer need of maintenance (e.g. deck of the pools)
3. BOOKINGS AT RECEPTION - On a few occasions over 2 days our karts that we had booked at reception did not arrive at all or had to be re-booked with delays. On one occasion it coincided with a diving trip, where we were asked to arrive on time. However, as long as you allow 15/20 mins extra time when leaving the hotel you will be fine.
I recommend this place if you are happy with the pros, and don't mind a couple of flows!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMinnie_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear MrsMinnie_UK,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan…

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

Indeed we are trying our very best to meet every guest expectation in a 5 stars accommodation. Our location which is secluded and more private are really suitable for those who seeks for a tranquility, relax, and peaceful. Especially those who want to celebrate a special occasion (wedding, honeymoon, and anniversary). We would also like to thank you for your improvement suggestion, this will definitely goes to the concerned department to be followed up and maintained.

Hopefully, we could welcome you again in the near future for another memorable stay.
Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

Me & my husband got only one night to stay there due to their opening party that turned out really loud for the sound checked. We expressed our complain of wanting to have our peace as one of the reason we booked the place at first. They took care of us really well handling our complain professionally and relocated us to their sister hotel which is Villa Ombak not to mention they located us in the villa far behind from the crowd to be able to return our peace back.

The Ombak Sunset itself is an amazing tranquil place, the room is spacious and clean, the resort is well maintained with great big pool facing the sea and sunset. The location was perfect for us as it is away from the gill crowd, very quite yet still has its fun and family friendly environment. It has fresh non salty water for shower which is great unlike most the resort at Gili. They might need a lot of work for F&B team to deliver better service during breakfast to anticipate high occupancy however the team were quite attentive and friendly.

It such a pity we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the resorts beauty has to offered. But i could tell you that we are definitely coming back soon to stay longer and will bring our family there.

Many thanks to their Front Office Manager who was helping us and makes us feel welcome despite the complain we were putting him he managed to calm us down and keep our quite gateway less hassle.

Room Tip: We stayed at the very end room with quite surrounding with their high occupancy but if you could boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TareeSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear TareeSch,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan...

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience during your stay with us.

We do apology for the inconvenience during our big event. And your compliment to our staff will be definitely forwarded to them.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our peaceful property in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here instead of the main stretch on Gilli T. Fabulous sunset side of the island,
Great staff and great rooms. We booked the sunset bungalow which has an outdoor bathroom. If you want to be near the main restaurants you need to stay other side of Island or if you prefer the peace and quiet this is great and you can take the local horse and cart taxi for about 10 USD each way. We walked back some evenings with head light which took about 40 minutes. Spa not to good though...

Room Tip: If you have budget go for sunset bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I first booked Villa Ombak and changed the booking to Ombak Sunset when I read about the Grand Opening this year in May. As it is cheap to go to the centre by coach (5 Euro per way, space for up to 4 people) or some minutes by bycicle the choice turned out to be the best - Ombak Sunset is tranquil and really nice.... very large swimming-pool, great breakfast buffet, no salty water in the large bathroom.

It is also the small things which make you smile: the sweets in a small bowl for "good night", lots of water-bottles everty day, fruit-basket.

... moreover Ira, the Guest Relations lady, does an excellent job!

I had excellent massage (25% off the normal price with a voucher you get on arrival)... and enjoyed the free cocktail on the beach (voucher to be used from 4 to 6 p.m.)... and sunset with the volcano in the background.

When I went snorkelling on the boat, I met nice people (most of them went driving) - you have a guide with you all the time, Gili Meno was nice.

In all: I had a a much better stay than described in several reviews. :))

Room Tip: I stay in nr. 3085, Garden Terrace Room, which is further in the back of the hotel, nice place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wienerin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Wienerin11,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Ombak Sunset!

Thank you very much to stay with us and shared your review.

We are delighted to know that you are satisfied with our services and facilities. As the location of the hotel is in the west part of the island, we are more peaceful and guest could enjoy the beautiful scenery of Mount Agung while enjoying sunset with the drinks. Central area could reachable by horse cart or bicycle since the regulation of the island is not allowing any motor transportation to be operated on land. We are glad that you enjoyed our SPA and sunset cocktail. We will pass your review to our team members and Ira as well, they will glad to hear and this will encouraging all team to provide better services to customer.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometimes in near future for another memorable stay.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The positive:
Nice place. Good quality rooms (international standard).
Calm and relaxing.
Great swimming pool with sun deck and bar (and the beach visible from there).
The stretch of beach in front of the hotel is nice with everything you need provided by the hotel.

The not-so-great:
It is far from the restaurants on the islands. You will always need to find and take a horse cart to go out
It can be "too quiet" in low-medium season.
The cost for every activity organised by the hotel is prohibitive (Snorkelling IDR250k vs 150k if organised independently, Transfer from Lombok airport: IDR 1.2m vs IDR400k if organised yourself (and it is not that difficult).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyremia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Cyremia,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Ombak Sunset!

Thank you very much to stay with us and shared your review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel with its room, location, facilities, and services. Since our location is in the west part of the island, you could enjoy our tranquility during the day and night especially during the sunset. However, to reach central area will require approximately 15 to 20 minutes travel time by horse cart that we called Cidomo or by bicycle.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future for another memorable stay.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Ombak Sunset is hard to review- for the things it does well it does very well, albeit there are drawbacks visitors should be aware of.

The Good:
1. Spacious rooms, great beds. Bathrooms are designed in a garden setting, which is quite original.
2. Great swimming pool, pool bar and reception area
3. Perfectly positioned for sunsets views and sunset drinks
4. Good breakfast selection, though if this is not included in your deal it will set you off by 20 dollars a pop.

The not so good :
1. This place is not near the more vibrant side of the island . To reach any restaurants or cafés it is a 15 minutes horse and cart ride. Whilst at the beginning you might think this is charming, it grows old quickly and at 7 dollars a pot it does add up to your bill.
2. Finishing leave a lot to be desired, as though they ran out of money before they could complete the hotel as it was meant to be- slack pool decks, removable rooms safes, gaps underneath the door to the garden bathroom are just examples.
3. Staff are nice , but they do need training up if this place is to pass for a real 5 star. Slow check in process, inconsistency in approach and quality of support take away from the overall levels of service.
4. The fact that they did not have enough bikes available or an international adaptor was not really good or what I would have expected from an hotel that markets itself as high end. These little things go a long way!

All in all, this is a very nice place but it needs to bridge some gaps for guests to justify the additional hassle of being slightly removed from the action. A bit more investment in finishing touches and staff training would do wonders.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear youngprofessionalUK,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Ombak Sunset!

Thank you very much to stay with us and shared your review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the days during your stay with us, the room condition, hotel facilities, our food and services, and the location which overlooking to sunset. Guest could enjoy the tranquility of the sunset while enjoying the drinks offered from our bartender. In regard to "the not so good" point you mentioned, we will convey the message to our team members for the improvements to better services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future for another memorable stay.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Ombak Sunset on Gili T is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location.

The swim up bar is super popular and the pool itself fantastic as it had a number of areas suitable for adults and children.

Rooms were services religiously and the staff are really lovely. It is about a 15 minute bike into the village in which you pass heaps of beautiful seaside and cool beach bars.

Sad to leave and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wordoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Wordoutthere,

Warmest greetings from Hotel Ombak Sunset!

Thank you very much to stayed with us and shared your review.

We are delighted to know that you had a beautiful experience during your stay. We will pass your review to our staff, they will be pleased to hear this.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometimes in near future for another memorable stay.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
634 reviews
0.8 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $79 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing