We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent 2 nights there and had a very enjoyable stay. The place is wonderful and tucked away from the messy part of the island although still close enough to enjoy some night life if you feel like it. The beach and the sunset are incredible. The service is ok although it has room for improvement, like most places in Bali and Lombok anyway. Maria, Sela and Kiki were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    372
    207
    104
    86
See reviews for
168
542
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Relatively quieter area compared to its old sister, villa ombak. Great rooms, spacious, good facilities, tap water is not as salty as villa ombak. View of the dining also nice, perfect for sunset viewing. Staff also friendly and helpful, encountered minibar payment hiccup during checkout.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzoochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel is a little far away from the main hub of Gili T but thats what make it so good! Great food and bar selections. There is something to please everyone on the food menu and a very extensive cocktail list which I failed to try all and I tried!

We decided to go out and try another hotels food just down the way and were very disappointed. We came back Sunset and voiced our sad opinions and the Sunset staff were very sympathetic at our bad time and made us a strong drink and desert! Thanks for cheering us up!

Spa has a limited menu but what they have is great. You pay a bit more than in town but the service and spa rooms are just beautiful and well worth it. I went three times in 5 days!

We hired bikes which were priced the same as everywhere on the island so no need to worry about being ripped off (plus any maintenance issues with the bikes the hotel staff are happy to assist!). A bike is a great way to get around the island for sure!

Staff could organise trips to and from the main hub by hailing a horse and cart for you. We went into the main hub for activities but at all other times hany out on the private beach and by the pool. We did not organise any actual tours or such from the hotel as we were on the island with friends and we went with them, but I am sure the staff would be able to help you with that.

Could not fault it, just a truly great stay!

There were some rowdy guests towards the end of our stay but the hotel staff did their best to keep them and us happy which is no small feet!

Loved it here and would come back again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chem8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic. This was our 4th stay and it is of the best hotels my husband and I have ever stayed at. We have stayed here before with friends so this hotel is not just for couples. We went this time to finalise ours sons wedding in June 2014. I will let you know how we get on for the big day, but we are very confident it will be magical for them. Management and staff very friendly. A big thank you to Hamdi for making my husbands birthday and our stay very special. We booked a romantic meal on the beach for dinner. The food was excellent, service was excellent, it was perfect. The hotel isn't in the main section but it only takes 1.5 hours to walk around the whole island and that's stopping off for a couple of Pitt stops, so definitely not a problem. If you don't fancy walking, you can hire a bike or get a horse and cart. All options lots of fun. The hotel has installed a swing on the beach/ocean, it's so pretty. Guests are given one complimentary cocktail on the beach at sunset, fantastic idea. Love it, love it, love it!! Can't wait to come back in June!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1DonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourges, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I can't say much about this Hotel, just amazing for us. such as the name of Ombak Sunset or i can call it Beach of Sunset, woow Hotel Ombak Sunset is perfect place for a couple like us to feel a romantic place with beautiful sunset, a quiet smooth waves.. yeaah quiet place to have relaxing moment. They have a good service on us when we enjoyed our lovely Romantic Dinner with kindly staff, the cocktail was great, the room is clean, the area is fresh and green.
ahh i can't wait to cameback again to this hotel and i hope have time for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonamy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have been to Gili T many times and I have stayed at Villa Ombak which I enjoyed however Hotel Ombak Sunset has really dropped the ball ! The decking around the pool is so dangerous with decking boards all loose and sticking up just waiting for an accident to happen. It has been poorly built and requires urgent attention. I was covered in ants while lying next to the pool on the day beds and each time I moved the ants re appeared. i understand this happens but the staff didn't care and when asked for some insect spray they said they didn't have any. The drink prices were excessive and the service is non existent. I will never return.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time here. It is the bad side of the island as it is all reef and you can only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOmbakSunset, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Matt J,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan…

First of all, on behalf of all staff I would like to apologies for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is with great concern that we learned about your unpleasant experience and please accept our sincere apologies for the matter. I can assure you that it is not within our hotel standard. I will make sure that your review will be passed on to the concerned department for their immediate follow up.

Hopefully, we still can welcome you again in our property.

With Kind Regards,

Management of Hotel Ombak Sunset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had Vacation at Gili trawangan and we enjoy the time at there. especially where we stayed at Hotel ombak sunset with elegant places like the hotel, the sunset, beach, and restaurant.
Ombak sunset is Quiet place and far away from the crowds, yess is perfect for us, spent the time together... amm i mean, is good for who want to more relaxing with your family or couples. they have nice staff, beautifull sunset point and beach, and is so romantic for Us,.. XieXie.. Guys :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
1.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Property: Hotel Ombak Sunset
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing