We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with mixed service”
Review of Hotel Ombak Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I moved here after looking at the villa ombak property where the rooms were small and the bathrooms were not very nice. The hotel itself and facilities are lovely. It's in the best part of the island as it is very secluded away from some of the other properties. The pool is very large and the beach bar is great with a lovely hammock. You also get the best view of the sunset over mount agung here, really stunning.

I would however agree with people's comments that service is pretty up and down. Sometimes it is great at other times you can wait for a very long time to be served. The shop was shut at one point and it took 20 minutes and me getting 3 staff to get it open. The insects at the restaurant were also a real annoyance. I didn't experience this problem at Bali at all at any other places.

All in all I think there are probably better options on the island and some exciting new ones also opening up.

This is definitely not a four star or five star. A decent 3 I would say. If you want really luxury head to Lombok and as some others have said stay at the oberoi which is amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olzhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was nice but once my camera was stolen in there and not found, it ruined the holiday. The staff did not know how to deal with this type of situation and did not offer us ANYTHING in return to - at least - mitigate such a bad experience whilst paying over AUD$200 per night. I was utterly disgusted and disappointed with the service from the staff in relation to this matter. I also had a very bad stomach after eating poached eggs there. I do not recommend this hotel it at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked the Ombak Sunset knowing it was on 'the far side' of the island. Yes it's secluded but that's a bonus, along with the magnificent sunsets! It's only a $7.50 Kidomo ride to the other side and you're there in 10 to 15 mins.

The resort is brilliant - top notch pool and bar, exquisite rooms and grounds that are very well manicured. On arrival we were upgraded to a sunset bungalow room for no particular reason - very nice of them.

Like everywhere else on Gili T you will find stray cats wandering around the resort. They even stroll into the restaurant on the beach and you can feed them under the table if you wish - it's fun, but not particularly hygienic so wait until after you've finished eating. Stray cats really appreciate the dregs of your lobster!

The staff were amazing and helped organise our transfers, etc. Sure it isn't cheap but the service and quality are phenomenal. We highly recommend this magnificent resort. The restaurant on the beach is the best place to watch the sun set on Gili Trawangan.

Room Tip: Sunset bungalows have beautiful outdoor bathrooms/showers and are huge inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good hotel
Perfect location
Friendly staff Especially mr. Deni in recption, he help us a lot
Perfect breakfast buffet and perfect bbq rest......
We took a bungalow , it was very clean and comfort
Nice viwe for sunset
Big pool

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is quite gorgeous. A beautiful view of Bali (with an amazing sunset). A large infinity pool. Comfortable villas with outdoor bathrooms. I wanted to love this hotel, but the service just left so much to be desired. Staff would say they would do something and then it would never get done. We asked for some things to be cleaned in our room and it never happened. On our last day, there were no pool or room towels available. Apparently the towels were sent to Lombok -- we were told that they would be back at 4:30, but even then none were delivered to our room. Everyone seems like they want to help, but there is something systemic about the management of the hotel that seems to prevent things from getting done efficiently. Perhaps there were just too many guests for the hotel to handle... all I can say then is don't go to this hotel during peak season.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoyaLawya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Ombak Sunset very excited for the second leg of our honeymoon. Having just transferred from the Oberoi Seminyak we were very aware that this hotel would not be able to compete with such a fabulous resort. However, we were totally unprepared for what we were greeted with. On arrival at the hotel the greeting was poor and we were left waiting for sometime whilst we were directed to both stand in a queue and sit down. The thing that really strikes you is how understaffed they are at Ombak Sunset. Staff can be seen rushing around and will point you to someone else when you approach them. The welcome drink was however fine, and to be fair, nicely presented. When we were eventually taken to our room we were told we had been upgraded from the sunset bungalow to an ocean view room. We were naturally excited although our enthusiasm dropped as we were taken up some stairs passed a dirty mattress which had been left out in the hallway. The smell of drains was hugely overwhelming, and became more offensive as we opened the door to our room. As it was our honeymoon they had however nicely decorated the bed and made an effort to make the room look nice. It was hard to be excited though because of the horrendously overpowering smell coming from the bathroom. When we entered the bathroom our shower curtain was missing and on closer inspection the bathroom sides were dirty and had clearly not been maintained. Resting on the top of the bed headrest was a small clear bag with the remains of a white powdery substance. Whilst it would be a leap of faith to come to such a conclusion, there was a high possibility that this was an illegal substance. We went downstairs to reception to discuss our concerns re the room, but we were met by little assistance. It was very difficult to get anyone's attention but when we did the two staff that we approached nodded and then walked off. As a result we asked to speak with the manager who was actually very helpful and the best part of our experience at Ombak Sunset. The manager took us to show us our original booking at Sunset Bungalows. Whilst we were not there long this did appear to be cleaner than our ocean view room, but the horrendous smell of drains was still very much present. We decided to take some time to decide whether or not to move rooms and so we went to the restaurant to have a think. The service at the restaurant was slow and the menu is overpriced for what is at best very average food. We both felt that the hotel had the potential to be nice but considering it had only been open a couple of years it looked very tired and was poorly maintained. This is especially true of the hotels rooms. Our room was in a block of rooms which to be honest wouldn't have looked out of place in a budget self catering property on the Spanish coast. Walls dirty, light switches exposed, tiles cracked etc. Again, this has to be put down to a lack of staff. There was a build up of grime on the pool but aside from that it had the potential to be very good. The surrounding grounds are also poorly maintained which makes an otherwise visually appealing setting somewhat disappointing. The beach bar was good and clearly where they had been hiding all their staff (6 staff and only two of us to serve). The selection at breakfast the next day was good but the cutlery was dirty and food was left out for a substantial period of time meaning it was covered in insects. We could only manage one night at the Ombak Sunset and requested a transfer to Lombok. To be fair the manager at Ombak Sunset and Hotel Ombak were very helpful in this instance and gave us a complimentary speed boat off the island. We then stayed at the Oberoi in Lombok which was fabulous and only marginally more expensive and totally incomparable to Ombak Sunset. On the morning that we left we took our suitcases from the room as we watched housekeeping make our bed without changing the sheets. I am pretty certain that these will be left the same for the next guests. This hotel should not be marketed as a four star hotel. Aside from the good management and the beach bar there is very little to be positive about. The smell of drains, lack of hygiene and a poor staffing ratio make it a very poor choice. Finally, a little bit about Gili T. We only stayed a night so could not claim to be a position to make a full judgement. However, what struck me was that it was far more developed than we had imagined. If you are looking for somewhere that is away from it all, this really isn't the place. If you want that I'd advise finding a hotel on Lombok. Out hotel there was the only development for miles where we could enjoy stretches of undeveloped beach each side.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Click1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel location could be more convenient, it is far from the center, 15 min by bicyclet. The beach is perfectly white and seldom you'll find people there, main reason is that there is a narrow access to sea through corals, so other locations are more suggested for bath and snorkling. Hotel facility is anyway high standard: accomodations, swimming pool very good restaurants are acceptable. Best think is for sure the sunset view: absolutelly wanderfull and the best place in the island for it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $75 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ombak Sunset 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing