We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very loudy noise from builing an other villa”
Review of Les Villas Ottalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Villas Ottalia
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Sint Jansteen, Zeeland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very loudy noise from builing an other villa”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

we are here 3 days, and slept in villa 1, the swimming pool was dirty upon arrival. friendly staff. very far from the beach at least 10 minutes by bike. very little sun in the garden, and the swimming pool is only 4 feet long, on the pictures, everything seems bigger but this is in fact not. If it rains very hard overflows the pool overflows in your villa and the open bathroom too. that is why the House also high built. for the rest way to do on the island. be repeated? No unfortunately not a lot of money for a very special villa. ... If you can call it a villa. really a downer you will uitgetrild your bed at 6 o'clock in the morning by all the noise

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesVillasOttalia, General Manager at Les Villas Ottalia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Les Villas Ottalia Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for the information feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor.

We regret to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and deeply sorry for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay for the accommodation and facilities did not meet your expectations. I agree that the usual high standards of our service at Les Villas Ottalia were not met in this instance.

Please be assured that this is not an indicative of the high standards we aspire to offer, and as such, all your comments concerned have been informed with entire teams and measures have and will be taken to ensure that such situations do not recur in the future and we improve on the services we offer.
We are so sorry that you felt the service was not up to par with the surroundings. We will be using your review as an example in upcoming staff training programs so that our employees can better understand how their actions can impact the Guest experience.

Furthermore glad to inform you that we are currently upgrading & expanding the Villas to ensure that our facilities are always up to date and in pristine conditions for our guest's enjoyment and to maintain our standard.
We are glad that you could experience the staff friendliness & the attentiveness in our hotel at Les Villas Ottalia and I truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Gilli Trawangan and offer you a better impression.

Kind Regards,

Kasun De Silva
General Manager
Les Villas Ottalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    141
    62
    25
    33
See reviews for
79
345
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

First off, let me start by saying that this place has the potential to be a fantastic hideaway from the main strip of GT.

We stayed in a superior one bedroom villa with pool and the villa itself was lovely, and the pool was such a treat to come back to after a day spent in the intense dusty heat of GT. The grounds are very dusty but there are beautiful pink floral archways that you walk through to the villas.

The location is about a 5 min bike ride to the main strip, or a 10 - 15 min walk. The complimentary bikes are great - although do be very careful, night or day, as the roads are very sandy and potted! I came off my bike one afternoon not far from the villa and grazed myself up! Could have been much worse though, so be vigilant :) If you are walking or biking at night, take a headlamp or iPhone torch with you so you can see the road. We felt safe as a pair at night but I would probably think twice about walking solo at night.

The local staff were lovely, although could probably do with more training. We went out one day for 5 hours and our room hadn't been made up, even though we turned the 'make up our room' sign over on our villa door. We were told it was because the cleaning staff can't speak English - if that's the case I suggest writing the same in Indonesian for the the staff. Also, our mini bar wasn't refilled until we requested it on the last night.

Perhaps the thing that made us most uncomfortable was the French woman (not the manager - who was very nice, although we only saw her briefly on arrival) who sat in the office all day observing the local staff interact with guests. She never introduced herself but would often talk to the local staff in another language when they were dealing with us. It is hard to describe but it made us feel slightly unnerved and left a bad impression.

Finally - we definitely would not recommend the breakfast! We read previous reviews on this point and thought "how bad can it really be?". It was truly horrible! We ordered the bacon and eggs and it was like nothing I had ever eaten before - the meat was dry and tasteless (was it bacon?), the toast was dry and no butter was provided. You can get delicious, hearty breakfasts from many cafés on the main strip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesVillasOttalia, General Manager at Les Villas Ottalia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Les Villas Ottalia Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for the information feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor.

We were thrilled to read your great informative review of our Hotel and so glad that you found Les Villas Ottalia was a fabulous choice for your holiday. We regret to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and deeply sorry for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay for the accommodation and facilities did not meet your expectations. I agree that the usual high standards of our service at Les Villas Ottalia were not met in this instance.

Please be assured that this is not an indicative of the high standards we aspire to offer, and as such, the associates concerned have been informed and measures have and will be taken to ensure that such situations do not recur in the future and we improve on the services we offer.
We are so sorry that you felt the service was not up to par with the surroundings. We will be using your review as an example in upcoming staff training programs so that our employees can better understand how their actions can impact the Guest experience.

Furthermore glad to inform you that we are currently upgrading & expanding the Villas to ensure that our facilities are always up to date and in pristine conditions for our guest's enjoyment and to maintain our standard.
We are glad that you could experience the variety of things to see and do in our hotel at Les Villas Ottalia and I truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Gilli Trawangan and offer you a better impression.

Kind Regards,

Kasun De Silva
General Manager
Les Villas Ottalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and would review it as just average. Some things are good enough for the price you pay, the private villa with pool for example, but service staff is not that great or friendly, villa facilities are not in very good state (bathroom old and rundown, swimming pool walls barely have any ink left on the walls) and then there is the location. Although gili trawangan is a small island you could hardly stay at a worst location...biking to the main street or beach is hard, bumpy and dangerous at night (in terms of falling down, not crime related critic).

Thought that making you pay for snorkeling equipment that they have there just lying around, not being used, was of bad taste, the price paid for the breakfast is absurd under indonesia standards and even making you pay for mosquito replent is just pushing it (there was no mosquito coil or anything like that in the villa).

When asked for a first aid kit (just some bandaid or something, wasn't looking for heart surgery) because of falling from the biking at night I was told they didn't have none...hard to explain that to a customer and they couldn't...just didn't have it.

Overall I would give it a 3* in terms of quality from staff and facilities but because of location and poor quality of a PAID breakfast got to give it a 2*.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesVillasOttalia, General Manager at Les Villas Ottalia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Les Villas Ottalia Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for the information feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor.

We regret to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and deeply sorry for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay for the accommodation and facilities did not meet your expectations. I agree that the usual high standards of our service at Les Villas Ottalia were not met in this instance. Please be assured that this is not an indicative of the high standards we aspire to offer, and as such, the Managers concerned have been informed and measures have and will be taken to ensure that such situations do not recur in the future and we improve on the services we offer.
We are so sorry that you felt the service was not up to par with the surroundings. We will be using your review as an example in upcoming staff training programs so that our employees can better understand how their actions can impact the Guest experience.
Furthermore glad to inform you that we are currently upgrading & expanding the Villas to ensure that our facilities are always up to date and in pristine conditions for our guest's enjoyment and to maintain our standard.
We are glad that you could experience the variety of things to see and do in our hotel at Les Villas Ottalia and I truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Gilli Trawangan.
Once again thank you very much for your comments and looking forward to welcome you back in the future and offer you a better impression.

Kind Regards,
Kasun De Silva
General Manager
Les Villas Ottalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Les Villas Ottalia. Its a 10-15 minute walk or 5 minute ride to the main areas where all the bars, restaurants and action is. The villas are stunning and service amazing, especially for the price. Please remember that you are on a small island with very limited fresh water, so the shower are a little lacking. However, this was the smallest of annoyances given how nice the whole villa and island were. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bavpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesVillasOttalia, General Manager at Les Villas Ottalia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Les Villas Ottalia Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely and great valuable feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor

We were thrilled to read your 5 star review of our Hotel and so glad that you found Les Villas Ottalia was a fabulous choice for your holiday, and your valuable comments have been passed to the concerned departments staff who have contributed towards your satisfaction as we are focusing highly in training our employees to assure the optimal level of service delivery to our valued Guests.

We thank you for your honest and kind feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future to the Les Villas Ottalia – Gili Trawangan

Best Regards,

Kasun De Silva
General Manager
Les Villas Ottalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were thinking whether to go here or to beachfront, and we have made very good decision. So lovely place, private spacious villa with pool. As we talked to the staff, each villa has different owner and also different style, so we stayed in villa number 5 and it was realy good. 2 rooms, one small fully equiped kitchen, full fridge. You have to borrow the bike, and the drive to the beach is realy easy, don't worry about it. There is a delivery service from Cafe Gili, so if you want to enjoy the food in your villa, it is very easy. But the food wasn't realy tasty. The staff is realy helpfull and friendly, in the reception they speak english very well. Only the price is realy huge, we payed for 3 adults and 1 child over 2 milions per night, what was the most expensive accommodation, we have ever stayed in Bali. And for 2 milions per night, you can get much more in other parts of Bali. At all, Gili is realy lovely place, and there nothing similar in Bali, so if you want to see Les Villas is good choice.

Room Tip: Villa number 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesVillasOttalia, General Manager at Les Villas Ottalia, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Les Villas Ottalia Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely and great valuable feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor

We were thrilled to read your 5 star review of our Hotel and so glad that you found Les Villas Ottalia was a fabulous choice for your holiday, and your valuable comments have been passed to the concerned departments staff who have contributed towards your satisfaction as we are focusing highly in training our employees to assure the optimal level of service delivery to our valued Guests.

We thank you for your honest and kind feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future to the Les Villas Ottalia – Gili Trawangan

Best Regards,

Kasun De Silva
General Manager
Les Villas Ottalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this tiny island and this villa was our haven. The villa arranged our pickup from Lombok airport by card, speedboat and horse carriage. The pickup was very punctual & organized, we didn't waste any time. When we arrived at the villa, it literally took our breath. The villas & its surroundings are very well designed & maintained. They gave us our own kitchen utensils just in case we feel like cooking, but we mostly ordered room service from surrounding cafes that delivered to our doorstep (hint: order the pizza from Warna Cafe, it's delish!). Although the villa only had dipping pool, it was heavenly to dip in when the sun was out. The outdoor bathroom never gave us a problem, although the occasional leaves do fall in the shower. All in all, our experience was wonderful! We couldn't wait to come back here sometime in the near future and wouldn't hesitate to recommend anyone to spend their time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laksari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gramat, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned from a great trip. The villa manager, made us very welcome on arrival, and the place was stunning. We had a two bed villa....all crisp white sheets and voluminous mosquito nets, spacious outside bathroom and the private pool was fabulous. I have seen mixed reviews on here about the position and bike riding...honestly it was the most fun! There are no roads on the island, but compacted dirt tracks are not hard to cycle, and it was all part of the charm to cycle down to the beach. Head out in any direction and the beach is a few minutes away. The villa even provided torches and so riding home after a good meal in the evening was adventurous, but safe. Would thoroughly recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Villas Ottalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Villas Ottalia

Property: Les Villas Ottalia
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Villas Ottalia 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Villas Ottalia is a luxury tropical villa complex. Located on Gili Trawangan Island, Les Villas Ottalia offers a Luxurious facilities in a dreamy paradise island. Experiment the unique Javanese elegance attractively amalgam thru modern mixture of architecture gives you an ever fantasized lifetime experience in your own Villa equipped with private Swimming pool. Gili Trawangan Offers Unspoiled gorgeous and inoculate beaches with various fun/kissed havens along the coast with a 4 minutes bicycle ride to the Islands famous main beach, west coast, Ideal for tranquil dip in the warm blue sea and relaxing time spent in the refreshing breeze with all the night life surrounded by plenty of Food & beverage outlets. Superior Villa comes with a private pool & Indoor bathroom while Deluxe Villa & 2 Bed Room Deluxe Villa is fully equipped with basic kitchen & Kitchenettes, Private pool together with open air Lavatory in the Master bed room & the second room with indoor Lavatory in 2 Bed room Deluxe Villa. Free Bicycle, Snorkelling equipment's, DVD Player & DVD library, In-room telephone intercom system, Hot & cold fresh water showers, Satellite LCD TV, Laundry Facility, Currency exchange, Reception, Daily Housekeeping, In-room safe box, Room service & Free Wi-Fi is available for your convenience. Upon request resort staff can also arrange you in-room message service, Baby siting, Snorkeling or fishing trips, Scuba diving, Cooking class and Horse riding to voyage the virgin island or you may sit in your outdoor terrace to relax with a book. Les Villas Ottalia is approximately 1 hour and hald speed boat ride from Padang bay & 2 hours away from Lombok International air-port. Resort staff would be delighted to book your complete journey with fast boat or flights from Bali to Gili Islands upon request. Looking forward to welcome you to your home away from home. 'When Robinson Crusoe finally meet luxury...' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Villas Ottalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Villas Ottalia Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing