We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experiences” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Gili Trawangan

Cafe Gili Trawangan
Ranked #51 of 112 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Gili Trawangan is located on the coast that has the widest beach on Gili Trawangan and incredible panoramic views, we can see the Rinjani mountain, Gili Meno, Lombok Island while sunbathing
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
550 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Mixed experiences”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had many meals there because we're in the trawangan dive bungalows. We had some really good experience with burrito and salads in general - tasty, fresh, good pieces of chicken. Juices aren't really good, same thing with iced tea and expresso. The really down here is the service: most of the times really slow and uninterested, they seem to be suffering a lot to be there. One day they forgot our food at all and after one hour waiting we decided to go somewhere else.
there were like two really good waiter and waitress and we always wanted to be attended by them.
Also, in comparison with other restaurants in Gili, it's expensive. You'll find better options, but probably not a great location as there, just on the beach, in front of a great place to snorkel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    60
    32
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Cafe Gili Trawangan was pretty average as far as good food goes. Location was pretty good though. Unfortunatley the beer wasn't all that cold.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Warmest Trawangan memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Gili Cafe is a place where we spent most of the nights on the islands because we needed Internet badly.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Internet is definitely the best we managed to find.
I would also recommend seafood BBQ which is always fresh and tasty.
The interior is nice and cozy.
To cut it short, our warmest Trawangan memories)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieFresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot to sit and enjoy a cocktail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only drank here, but it was a perfect, very confortable place to sit at the water's edge and drink some cocktails. The actually cocktails were ok (only a choice between a bunch of different Mojito flavours or Colada flavours) but the rate is because of the location/vibe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must eat here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went here 1 jan 2013, just a week ago. They have fresh seafood, with great taste. Friendly service, cozy music and nice interior. And additionally, they have a manohara boat that design only for the drink maker, quiet unique. So if you are planning or already in Gili Trawangan, it's oneof cafe you MUST try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sendang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gili Trawangan also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Cafe Gili Trawangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing