We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the food, stay for drinks”

Tir Na Nog Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 117 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Price range: $2 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open since 2000, we have been providing a fun, safe and relaxed atmosphere within which to enjoy some good, honest food and drinks. We have an extensive menu to cater for all your culinary desires, including a fresh BBQ every night of the week. After our kitchen closes, we turn up the tempo, and have a DJ playing till close. On Wednesday nights it's our famous party, so don't miss out.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forget the food, stay for drinks”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went here a couple of times end August / early September. Good for watching EPL and on Saturday they had a dancefloor outside. Pizzas are average; fish from BBQ was horrible - not fresh and served with garlic butter to kill the taste. Service is slow and unattentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    107
    46
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Irish Pub”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the best place for meetups and great priced drinks. We were concerned about the methanol scare in the drinks at some venues and were told that The Irish Pub is the safest bet.

Signs on the wall brag about meeting National guidelines for alcohol sales but we didnt drink any of the local spirits anyway just to be on the safeside. The imported spirits were not that much dearer anyway. On the beach and a great party spot.

We had a silent disco with wireless headphones through Ramadan. Very cool and unless you use the headphones it looks very weird. Music by DJ.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“False advertisers!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Food pretty average,service is terrible,it's says on their menu it's half price cocktails for ladies on Sunday! and last night(Sunday) the waiter told us its not because its Ramadan!! the owner is Irish what's Ramadan to him????and yet I could of ordered a bottle of whiskey if I wanted during "Ramadan" absolute joke!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ljs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirnanoggili, Owner at Tir Na Nog Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I'm sorry you found the service terrible at our bar/restaurant. We try our best in high season by employing more staff to try and keep all of our customers happy, but seemingly we didn't manage that with yourself, and I apologize for that.

I'm a little astounded at your comment about Ladies Night though. You're right, the owner is Irish, however, we are operating within a Muslim society where alcohol is allowed. We were asked by 'the island community' NOT to run our Ladies' Nights during the holy month of Ramadan. As a mark of respect, of course, we complied with this request, as we've also done with the request to turn off our music every night at midnight, during the busiest time of year. Several people have asked us about the music going off early and Ladies Night, and once we've explained the reason, they have always understood. We respect the local customs and have a good relationship with the local community. I appreciate you are on holiday, but you are still in someone else's country and you should respect their wishes. If you are that culturally insensitive, it's a shame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went to the bar to watch footy with the family. Service was woeful.Food was ordinary. Feels like they care about the front area and not about the back. Would avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirnanoggili, Owner at Tir Na Nog Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your response and we have noted your comments and will try and make changes accordingly.

However we would like to point out that the time that you were watching the football is the time when all the staff were breaking fast as this is the month of Ramadan. Also we are the only bar that is capable of showing these sports on the island and it happened to be a very busy time when you were here.

We will improve the service to make sure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

had dinner and watched the footy a couple of times here all good , well run hotel in good location , try the burgers allgood cheers brett

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tir Na Nog Restaurant also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Tir Na Nog Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing