We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, food was ok..”

Black Penny Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 120 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Semarang, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place, food was ok..”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We happened to stay at their villas for three nights..include breakfast..
Their restaurant is beachfront..so every morning we had our breakfast with clean air and beautiful view.. :)

They served american breakfast..
You can choose fried rice or toast with egg..fresh fruit salad or fresh fruit juice..and they also have white toast, croissant and danish for your bread options..

We did once tried their lunch/dinner menu..and it turned out as tasty as their breakfast.. :)

And they give 20% discounts for lunch and dinner for in house guests.. yay!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tekoajaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    67
    35
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beach Front restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The space isn't huge. But it is comfortable.
If you could stand the wind, I suggest you try to seat at the desk near the beach. You could see the wave approached the sand.
If you couldn't stand the wind, take the table on the side. It is more cozy than the table in the middle area.
For the price itself, I didn't know exactly how much my dinner cost, since it was pre-booked by my travel agent.
But I saw the menu, and I think it's reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b1ttersweet_choco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
“Foreshore Cafe”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The foods and beverages are not too expensive and yummeh, the view is cool (foreshore), and the waitress is friendly.
Cool place to hang out at the Gili Trawangan, Lombok :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naomi_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were staying at Black penny but ended up having dinner there twice with copious amounts of other options either side. Great food for all palettes with a great fish and meat grill selection. Breakfast was also excellent and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 526benjaminm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingo
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

There were 6 of us for my birthday and from start to finish the service and food were excellent. Best we had on the island and best portions for the price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chadilac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Penny Restaurant also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Black Penny Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing