We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trawangan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

A very nice property with a very friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel as it is located at quiet end of the island. The peace in weather itself makes you so calm and relaxed. The beach in front of the property was also very beautiful.
Had spent only 1 day but wish to visit again soon!!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling in group, book a Villa, its damn good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parulparul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    140
    66
    30
    20
See reviews for
87
181
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Located on the beach at the end of the strip it is located outside the busy part and close to two good restaurants. The reception and staff very friendly but not overly helpful.

Ride from the ferry dock to the hotel costs $50k, dont pay anymore.

The rooms are reasonable, squeaky bed, and the bathroom/shower is outside. The internet was slow, as on most places on this island. Breakfast was not worth mentioning, a croissant and a juice, just ok.

The beach at this part of the Island seems to have more rocks/coral then the north end, so bring water shoes if you want to swim.

Swimming pool is good, but overlooks the older part of the hotel which is in need of some TLC.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchTravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 nights in a 2 bedroom villa with a private pool before moving to the standard rooms for 3 nights. The villas are beautiful, both bedrooms with outdoor bathrooms and a plunge pool with a shaded day bed.
The standard rooms are spacious and all have a balcony with bean bags overlooking the main pool and ocean.
The resort is at the quieter end of the main strip of Gili T - still an easy walk/bike ride to everything.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jessicajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our resort. The staff and management work tirelessly to ensure guests get the maximum enjoyment from their time with us. We look forward to you returning in the near future to let the staff pamper you again! Regards, Alan, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in July 2013 for 4 nights and it has to be one of the best resorts I've stayed in. The rooms were lovely - very spacious & clean. The location is a little bit out of the way but only takes 10mins to walk to the busier part of the island (its such a small island anyway). The resort is right on the beach and its very clean and quiet and only used by the people staying at the resort. The pool was lovely and we spent most afternoons in the pool which was empty!
Breakfast was included and delicious! A good menu to pick from and the service was very good! You have the option to have a table on the ground floor or you could take your food up into the tree house! Its lovely lovely and the views are amazing but when we went there were loads of ants up there so we ate and left reluctantly!
We loved this hotel and the only bad this was we should have stayed longer!
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
You can hire bikes at a cost but make sure you check them before you take them because mind broke half way around the island and I had to push it the rest of the way back which was abit of a pain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review about your experience staying with us. The staff work very hard at improving our customer service and making sure you feel pampered and special. We all look forward to you and your friends returning sometime soon so we can fuss over you again! Safe travels until we meet again.
Regards,
Alan.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Away from the busy streets, near to a small forested areas. Lots of geckos, flys, mosquitoes. Ya need to walk further for a swim as theres lots of dead corals along the beach infront of the resort. Staffs are great. Owner is friendly. But could do more for cleaning of the swimming pool.green and really2 milky. The pool needs alot of work.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Faizalsurf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Unfortunately the common pool at the rear of the property was under maintenance and running repairs when you stayed with us. The sign stating 'Pool Out Of Order' may have been shifted at the time and should have been visible. We have offered the use of the Beach front pool to all guests staying in our Standard rooms at the rear to compensate for their pool being out of action. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused by this. It was the 'wet season' here during your stay and the wildlife take over. We have a fogging program to eradicate the Mosquitoes but as you can imagine they are extremely difficult to control but we do our best. Regards, Alan, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We are totally hooked. We thoroughly enjoyed the service with the never ending smiles. The rooms are very comfortable & clean. The pina coladas in the the beach huts were exceptional along with the laughs with the staff. We will be back!!!:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borsjebutera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review about your experience staying with us. The staff work very hard at improving our customer service and making sure you feel pampered and special. We all look forward to you and your friends returning sometime soon so we can fuss over you again! Safe travels until we meet again.
Regards,
Alan.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay here based on the good review on trip advisor. Booked via booking.com and got the best deal i suppose.

Prior departing i have been emailing back and forth with the hotel to confirm my booking and an extra bed. Emailing no problem but when we arrived, the room wasnt ready we have to wait for an hour past check in time. We stayed in the superior room (unit 11) at the back. Hotel location if perfect, a bit further from the jetty and trawangan public harbor so you are far from the crowd and noises. However still center enough to the trawangan central, art market, shops etc.

We are a group of 3 staying in the superior room. The room is too small for 3 thus if you are traveling 2 person then it is perfect size. AC in the room works well. tv, dvd player, small refrigerator are provided in the room. Hairdryer will be provided at your request. Bathroom is at the back semi open air roof. Water are strong and hot water works well. The room is quite clean, wooden floor a bit oily from mopping. bed is quite comfortable not hard not too soft. TV channel are limited. Safe deposit box didnt work well in our unit.

There are 2 pools one at the back that we cannot use because it is dirty and no pool cleaning service people at the time. So we were suggested to use the one up front of the hotel. Breakfast area is by the beach, love it! Breakfast menu are english breakfast, huevo rancheros, assorted bread, pancakes, fried rice and fried noodles.

Private beach is only a scroll away from the hotel entrance. Perfect for beach dip and sun bathing. Beach has lots of small corals, suggested you to bring beach/snorkeling shoes.

Sadly on the second night we stayed there it was raining and our room roof leak. Our bed got wet as well as one side of the wall near the electric socket. This is unacceptable. We rang the front office but no one came to our room to help or fixed. Thus we slept in a wet bed.

There are a lot of mosquitoes in the room so we requested a bugs spray from the front office.

Overall, the service in the morning isnt too bad but at night is totally bad.

If i come again, i would try to find a different hotel. However, this hotel isnt that bad. We just happened to got the bad room with bad evening service. The best thing i could say about this hotel is the location and its private beach.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank IAmGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing