We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but Could be better”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great value for money and breakfast was one of the best on the island. We stayed in standard room but had some problems with the bed. It felt like it was ready to break. Had to ask for a different room, but as it was full, we had to upgrade. It was worth it. The pool infront of the restaurant was much better than the one on the back.
The hotel is located in a quieter area, so its perfect for relaxation and the staff was really friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrldtrvlr2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We have now repaired the bed and we do apologize for the inconvenience. We get constant compliments on our breakfast we offer, the kitchen staff do a fantastic job and we strive to keep improving in all areas of service we provide. We do hope you return to stay with us again. Regards, Alan, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    144
    67
    33
    21
See reviews for
91
188
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Main question of interest is would I stay here again? Yes, I would but there are a couple of reasons that I only give 3 stars. Some minor things like the cleanliness of the towels and bed sheets. They were not filthy at all but there was a couple of dubious looking stains suggesting that the laundry probably isn't that good. Also the hot water in the shower was erratic at best only made tolerable by the 30 degrees heat outside.
The 2 main issues I had were
- we wanted to extend our stay and found a decent rate on the internet (1.1m RPH per night). When we asked at reception if they could match this deal they told us to go ahead and book online without even trying to discuss a deal with us. Even more frustrating but a better result nonetheless was that on the resorts own website the rate being offered was even better so they could have easily sorted a decent price for me. As it was, I had to go back to my room and make the booking on my phone and go back to reception to check we could stay in the same room.
- they added a bottle of wine to our mini bar bill at 500,000 Rph. When we pointed out we hadn't drunk it they took it off or bill but never apologised or explained the mistake. I got the feeling they just chanced their luck to see if we wouldn't notice.

On the plus side (and the reasons we would stay here again):
Great location and probably the best beach on the island having walked around the whole island. Far enough away from the noise and bustle of the main strip to be relaxing and peaceful yet close enough to lots of good places to eat, massage and dive. It's also only 5 mins walk to the sunset bar where you can watch the sunset over Bali with a nice cocktail.
The breakfast was good and served right on the beach which was delightful. The staff serving in the restaurant were very attentive and really made an effort to remember or names and look after us. The treehouse snugs are a great addition to the restaurant too.
The pool is good and quiet. The rooms were spacious and the ac kept them very cool.
The food was good but I felt that if they turned the music down a little they might attract some more passing trade. Noisy reggae-pop might not be everyone's ideal dining music.
GT is an amazing place that has changed a bit since I was last here 5 years ago but its still not lost its charm. The slight drawbacks we had with the trawangan resort didn't take away from an amazing week on GT and this is why we would stay at this resort again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zwsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This resort is truly great value for money. The surroundings are tranquil and beautiful and it only takes a short walk to get to the centre near the pier where most of the restaurants and bars are located. We were three girls who traveled together and shared a deluxe triple room and the room was absolutely wonderful. The room itself was incredibly spacious with all facilities needed and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We truly recommend The Trawangan Resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at The Trawangan Resort. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you and your friends returning soon. Happy and safe travels until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night in standart room. Clean and traditional. Love the bathroom its roofless. Overall the service is good. Found 1 staff is not friendly when serve breakfast. I ordered fresh milk and come out it taste like rotten milk. But the other staff come and say sorry and give the good fresh milk. And also they have a friendly female manager. The location is not far from the crowd. Resto n bar..just a little walk. The quite beach is just accross the entrance and u can freely enjoy the view and wind of the beach..but try not to swim because of so much rockstone that ull find hardly for ur feet to step in. And u can rent a bicycle from this hotel for Rp. 55 thousand for 24hours. Overall i had a great experience with this hotel. Will come back next visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chilipretx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thanks for a beautiful time in Gili T. This resort is on the good side of town, not far from the hustle and bustle and good restaurants but also not far from riding around to see the sunset on the other side of the island- the perfect position! We really enjoyed eating our meals and reading a good book up in the treehouse (now I want one of my own). The breakfasts were incredible, love that Lombok coffee! Thanks Mariardi, Bakti, Tari and everyone else who looked after us- you are the loveliest people ever. We will definitely recommend you!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which had a lovely view. Make sure to check out the treehouse too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hello again. Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. The staff are very happy that you enjoyed their service and company so much and they loved having you stay with us too, hopefully to return soon. The kitchen crew work hard at keeping the standard high and the breakfast is certainly a winner with guests. The tree houses are also a big hit, how could you not chill out looking at the incredible view of the rugged Lombok coastline. So until you return again, safe travels from the Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Trawangan Resort back in March 2013 , sorry for the delay to write the review.. Our stay at the Trawangan was great. The staff very helpful from the beginning when we made the booking until we checked out. Pleasant experience. Chef was new and he made changes on the menu which is great ! We had free breakfast that included on the rate, we tried the lunch, we tried dinner .. all was great ! We stayed in the 2 BR villa with private pool .. booked for 4 people, but my friend and her husband cancelled last minute because of family emergency. So we end up enjoying the 2 BR villa on our own. Bathroom is great, water is good but I suggested to use the bottle of water to brush the teeth :). Cleanliness is great. We like to location of the resort, not too close to the center .. and its not far either if we want to get something to eat or else. Comments for outside the resort : The horse ride - cidomo I think what they called them, was great. we took a ride around the island. But few of the cidomos need to have lights at night .. some of them didn't have lights. Danger ! Overall our stay was great .. we certainly be back when we are going to Gili Trawangan again in the future. Thank you !!
One suggestion : Why the other guests that staying in 1 or 2 BR Villa are not allowed to use the pool that located in the superior room area ? Obviously, guests that staying in 1 or 2 BR villa paying more than the ones that staying in superior room, right ? So our suggestion is that you can allow the guest that paying more for 1 or 2 BR Villa to use the pool in the superior room area. Specially when the hotel is not full ... thank you for the consideration.

Note : I put fitness center on excellent it means for the pool ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemycassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hello again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. All the staff work hard at making sure your stay here is special and certainly our villas are a great way to relax and be pampered. Once again, from the management and staff, thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort is like the big daddy of Trawangan. The moment our eyes could spot this little island from our boat, all we could see was blue waters and people and people and more people. It was breath taking nonetheless, as though a large group of people from different parts of the world came together to make a world of their own. Once you hop on to a horse kart and ride up to this resort,You will see most of Trawangan's happenings, like all of its restaurants,bars,hotels,resorts,hangouts and people and just when all of these start to disappear you will spot your resort. Hidden in a scenic,quaint corner, this resort is perfectly placed right where all the noise ends yet not too far off from the commercial lane. It gives you that much needed space to tranquillity.
The Trawangan resort in itself is so beautifully made, it makes up for a large portion of your trip. There isn't one thing that will disappoint you. We stayed in a two bedroom pool villa which is probably the cosiest villa you will ever find on this island. With all modern facilities and amenities, comfortable bedrooms and open bathrooms this villa was adjacent to a plantation ground through which you can also walk towards the beach. We did not face a single problem during our stay at this resort. Room service,food,clean linen,helpdesk,cleanliness,ambience and location add further to the charm of this place. In better terms, it truly is a luxury to play dirty at the beach all day long and come back to the comforts of this resort. We ended up extending our stay by a day more and were moved to a smaller villa which is equally cosy and private. Towards the left of the resort is the commercial main street and towards the right of the resort is just empty fields and beaches and a few breath taking sunset bars.Spent almost an entire night, star gazing at the beach opposite to this resort and it was one of the best nights of my life. You cannot find a better spot than this one, if you have a companion you love.The pool in the double bedroom villa is very beautifully constructed with a small cabana in one corner. The common pool and the villa pool, both are well maintained, clean and extremely tempting at all times. We couldn't help but jump into the common pool which is really big in size after a few drinks and a beautiful sun downer. If you really want to enjoy this island for all the beauty that it holds (not the people and the noise), I'd suggest you look no further.
The best part about this resort is that you'll find smiling faces at every corner of it.
Trawangan resort - NOT A SINGLE FAULT

Room Tip: Travelling as friends, choose the double bedroom pool villa no3 as it is adjacent to an open field t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Densify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guests.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Trawangan Resort. We are extremely happy that you had such a lovely experience staying with us and look forward to you and your friends and family returning to stay with us again. On behalf of the staff and management we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also thank you for the beautifully written review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here. Regards to all. Alan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing