We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night in standart room. Clean and traditional. Love the bathroom its roofless. Overall the service is good. Found 1 staff is not friendly when serve breakfast. I ordered fresh milk and come out it taste like rotten milk. But the other staff come and say sorry and give the good fresh milk. And also they have a friendly female manager. The location is not far from the crowd. Resto n bar..just a little walk. The quite beach is just accross the entrance and u can freely enjoy the view and wind of the beach..but try not to swim because of so much rockstone that ull find hardly for ur feet to step in. And u can rent a bicycle from this hotel for Rp. 55 thousand for 24hours. Overall i had a great experience with this hotel. Will come back next visit.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank chilipretx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 503 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thanks for a beautiful time in Gili T. This resort is on the good side of town, not far from the hustle and bustle and good restaurants but also not far from riding around to see the sunset on the other side of the island- the perfect position! We really enjoyed eating our meals and reading a good book up in the treehouse (now I want one of my own). The breakfasts were incredible, love that Lombok coffee! Thanks Mariardi, Bakti, Tari and everyone else who looked after us- you are the loveliest people ever. We will definitely recommend you!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which had a lovely view. Make sure to check out the treehouse too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello again. Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. The staff are very happy that you enjoyed their service and company so much and they loved having you stay with us too, hopefully to return soon. The kitchen crew work hard at keeping the standard high and the breakfast is certainly a winner with guests. The tree houses are also a big hit, how could you not chill out looking at the incredible view of the rugged Lombok coastline. So until you return again, safe travels from the Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at Trawangan Resort back in March 2013 , sorry for the delay to write the review.. Our stay at the Trawangan was great. The staff very helpful from the beginning when we made the booking until we checked out. Pleasant experience. Chef was new and he made changes on the menu which is great ! We had free breakfast that included on the rate, we tried the lunch, we tried dinner .. all was great ! We stayed in the 2 BR villa with private pool .. booked for 4 people, but my friend and her husband cancelled last minute because of family emergency. So we end up enjoying the 2 BR villa on our own. Bathroom is great, water is good but I suggested to use the bottle of water to brush the teeth :). Cleanliness is great. We like to location of the resort, not too close to the center .. and its not far either if we want to get something to eat or else. Comments for outside the resort : The horse ride - cidomo I think what they called them, was great. we took a ride around the island. But few of the cidomos need to have lights at night .. some of them didn't have lights. Danger ! Overall our stay was great .. we certainly be back when we are going to Gili Trawangan again in the future. Thank you !!
One suggestion : Why the other guests that staying in 1 or 2 BR Villa are not allowed to use the pool that located in the superior room area ? Obviously, guests that staying in 1 or 2 BR villa paying more than the ones that staying in superior room, right ? So our suggestion is that you can allow the guest that paying more for 1 or 2 BR Villa to use the pool in the superior room area. Specially when the hotel is not full ... thank you for the consideration.

Note : I put fitness center on excellent it means for the pool ..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovemycassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. All the staff work hard at making sure your stay here is special and certainly our villas are a great way to relax and be pampered. Once again, from the management and staff, thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort is like the big daddy of Trawangan. The moment our eyes could spot this little island from our boat, all we could see was blue waters and people and people and more people. It was breath taking nonetheless, as though a large group of people from different parts of the world came together to make a world of their own. Once you hop on to a horse kart and ride up to this resort,You will see most of Trawangan's happenings, like all of its restaurants,bars,hotels,resorts,hangouts and people and just when all of these start to disappear you will spot your resort. Hidden in a scenic,quaint corner, this resort is perfectly placed right where all the noise ends yet not too far off from the commercial lane. It gives you that much needed space to tranquillity.
The Trawangan resort in itself is so beautifully made, it makes up for a large portion of your trip. There isn't one thing that will disappoint you. We stayed in a two bedroom pool villa which is probably the cosiest villa you will ever find on this island. With all modern facilities and amenities, comfortable bedrooms and open bathrooms this villa was adjacent to a plantation ground through which you can also walk towards the beach. We did not face a single problem during our stay at this resort. Room service,food,clean linen,helpdesk,cleanliness,ambience and location add further to the charm of this place. In better terms, it truly is a luxury to play dirty at the beach all day long and come back to the comforts of this resort. We ended up extending our stay by a day more and were moved to a smaller villa which is equally cosy and private. Towards the left of the resort is the commercial main street and towards the right of the resort is just empty fields and beaches and a few breath taking sunset bars.Spent almost an entire night, star gazing at the beach opposite to this resort and it was one of the best nights of my life. You cannot find a better spot than this one, if you have a companion you love.The pool in the double bedroom villa is very beautifully constructed with a small cabana in one corner. The common pool and the villa pool, both are well maintained, clean and extremely tempting at all times. We couldn't help but jump into the common pool which is really big in size after a few drinks and a beautiful sun downer. If you really want to enjoy this island for all the beauty that it holds (not the people and the noise), I'd suggest you look no further.
The best part about this resort is that you'll find smiling faces at every corner of it.
Trawangan resort - NOT A SINGLE FAULT

Room Tip: Travelling as friends, choose the double bedroom pool villa no3 as it is adjacent to an open field t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Densify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guests.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Trawangan Resort. We are extremely happy that you had such a lovely experience staying with us and look forward to you and your friends and family returning to stay with us again. On behalf of the staff and management we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also thank you for the beautifully written review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here. Regards to all. Alan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Trawangan resort is a cute hotel in the south of Gili Trawangan.
The experience in this hotel could be great but: this place fall short of service. When we arrived we talked during an hour with the receptionist in order to have the price that was post on the website. After 10 different versions of the price we asked him to meet his manager who give us the website price right away.
We had a lovely villa with 2 room and a swimming pool. During the evening, when we were on our way to go to sleep we ask to this same receptionist how to turn of the light from outside of the rooms. The light was directed straight into the room: impossible to sleep. We take again one hour to turn off this light because the receptionist didn't understand "turn off"!!!
The same for the towel, the staff didn't understand when we were requesting for towels... And there is a lot of misunderstanding like that.
In the morning when we had our breakfast we informed the staff that we were hurry (we had to dive); we waited 40 minutes for some toasts with jam on the side! You have to pay for any extra coffee, water or juice! (The breakfast is not really good..)
This is a shame because the place is really nice, people are smiling but they are not competent (even to say hello in the morning)...
Only a really nice girl utan (I am really sorry if I spell wrong) was really nice and tried to speak french with us. And the manager seem more competent of course!

Room Tip: The 2 Bedroom villa is very nice but if you would like to add an extra bed the room is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed in a pool villa at the beginning of October. The villa itself was lovely and spacious but was showing signs of wear and tear, which is surprising seeing as I didn't think the resort was that old. I can agree with what some people have said about stains on ALL of the towels and on some bedsheets - definitely time to replace some, as you just can't feel clean drying yourself with a stained towel!

We had a problem with big ants and even though they sprayed insecticide fog around the resort, it just didn't tackle the bugs. As the villa had 2 bedrooms, we had to abandon one of the rooms on our first night as there were ants crawling all around the back wall and then even came onto the bed, luckily in the other bedroom, we only noticed a couple which we quickly got rid of.

Breakfast is great and there is definitely a really decent choice, which fills you up until lunchtime. We ate lunch at the hotel on our first day which was OK but we explored other resorts and restaurants for the rest of our lunch and dinner meals.

The resort is in a great location, situated at the quieter end of the island, although we were disturbed by a few loud Australian groups who were in the villas next to us, as they had pool parties that went on well into the night, without any consideration for other guests, so that was frustrating. Also the dark moon party in the nearby bar had a party late one evening/morning and you could just hear the thumping beat of the music. It was difficult for us to get a great sleep because of these issues and we were often getting up early to go for morning scuba dives.

However, these are all little niggles really as we loved our stay and loved the absolute beauty of Gili T - I would definitely recommend cycling around the whole island one day, although check the bikes first as the chain kept coming off both of our bikes and we had to constantly stop and sort it out.

The staff are great... on our final morning we had to leave at 6am before breakfast had even started and we knew that we would just have to grab some food at the airport instead, however they contacted us the evening before and offered to put some things together for us - they came to the villa 20 minutes later with cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc... it was an amazing spread and we have never had a resort offer anything like this before (normally if you leave before breakfast, then tough, you miss it!) but I really hope that the kitchen/waiting staff are praised for this, as it was definitely above and beyond what they needed to do and we were very appreciative.

You will definitely enjoy your stay on Gili T!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank nipon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had some disappointments while staying here. The maintenance of the resort is an ongoing battle with the salt air and extreme heat and wet season taking a heavy toll on all the buildings on the island. We are currently mid way through a room by room repaint and general maintenance which is conducted during the quieter times. We are also replacing linen and towels as required. In regard to the ants and bugs it is part of the environment here and very difficult to keep them away. We do use a fogging method for control but only with an insecticide that is environmentally sensitive as this is a fragile environment we live in.
Most guests staying here are very considerate in relation to being noisy at night but occasionally more excitable patrons are having a good time and maybe a bit noisy.
I agree that the resort is in an ideal location, just far enough away from the night life and parties but close enough to easily access the main strip.
The staff try very hard to make sure our guests have a memorable their stay with us as you could see with your early departure breakfast preparation. We do hope you will return and stay here again with us and look forward to seeing you should you do.

Regards

Alan. Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in July as part of our last (bo ho) holiday in SEA (after 6 years in Singapore). I was a bit unsure about going to the Gilis as I thought it would be a bit backpacker/diving tastic (which it is a bit). But this hotel is fab. Close to the main stuff but also quiet. Villa are great. Our 3 kids spent hours in the pool. The food was perhaps the high point. Probably one of the best restuarants in a hotel I can remember. I can still remember breakfasts on the beach. We even had dinner there one night which was again the best food we had on the trip. Top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for your trip Advisor Review of our resort.
The staff and management are extremely happy that you had such an enjoyable experience staying with us as it shows our efforts are paying off. The kitchen staff work very hard ensuring breakfast is spot on and your day starts of great and as your review states, one of the best.
We all look forward to you and your family hopefully returning to stay with us again so from the staff and management, happy travels until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,883 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
681 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,204 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $55 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing