We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good quiet location - poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good quiet location - poor service”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Trawangan Resort is nicely located at a few minutes walk distance from main commercial area of Gili T.
During my stay I spent two nights in a two-bedroom Villa and one in a Deluxe room.

Two-bedroom villas are a great option for a family or two couples travelling together. The rooms are stylish and well furnished, with comfortable beds and well decorated semi-open air bathrooms. There’s a large living room with TV and dining area (although no cooking facilities are provided), and a private pool with a nice gazebo. The overall ambience is cosy and comfortable.

The Deluxe room instead was a bit impersonal. We were given a loft-style room downstairs: even if spacious and well equipped, it was empty and un-cosy. There were no bedside table abat-jours and the main light was very white and bright. On the contrary, a couple of friends stayed in an equivalent room upstairs and they found it very nice and cosy (the ceilings are wooden and they are better furnished). Make sure to ask for a room upstairs (and ask twice, since the staff is not very receptive and their English is very basic).

The restaurant is nice, right on the beach as most places in Gili T. There are a couple of stilt-areas where you can relax and enjoy a drink in a tranquil and private place.
A la carte breakfast is good and abundant, but make sure to have a good amount of time – the service is really slow and you will have to wait to get your orders. We didn’t try lunch or dinner at the hotel since the place is rather empty at day and evenings, moreover many dining options are available nearby.

The beach in front of the restaurant is a nice area to relax and sunbathe, not ideal for swimming though as there are many coral remains that make it uncomfortable.

Room Tip: If booking a Deluxe room, ask for one upstairs. Two-bedroom villas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    146
    70
    35
    23
See reviews for
93
194
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Gili Trawangan was our second stop after the calm and serene Tulamben in Bali. I must say we were a bit shocked by the number of European tourists in Gili, we thought Gili was secluded and quiet, not a mini-Patong! But the resort made up for everything with the great location that was nicely off from the crowded party area, yet close enough to civilization. We stayed in the villa that was perfect for a group of 6 friends, we had so much fun swimming, cycling and snorkeling in the perfectly clear blue waters close by. Breakfast was amazing and such a highlight of the trip, I was looking forward to them everyday! The facilities and accommodation were great, but the resort needs to keep proper maintenance, ants and mozzies seem to be problems. Sanitation and drainage will be future problems too if not maintained. Also, I didn't understand why there were no blankets provided but a thin bed sheet doubled as a blanket. The bathroom towels also need to be of better quality and stains adequately removed. But other than these minor grouses, the resort was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmurfetteSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

rented a 2 bedroom villa for a night. a very nice place for hanging out with friends

there's a 'gazebo' beside the pool, a nice place to have a chit-chat in the middle of the night. you can sleep there if you like. beware of mosquitos

it is a wise decision to rent a bike with lamps. the road is so dark at night

+
the rooms are amazing. no flaws
so quiet, total privacy
comfy, lot of wind breezes
fresh water shower, an expensive commodities there
well-priced. very clean

-
pool water smells bad
the food, eww
for those who dislikes darkness, this place is not for you

spoiler: dont bother searching for the lamp-switch. the outdoor lamps are automatic and the gazebo downlight switch is in one of the pillar
i spent 1 hrs searching for the switch

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halimadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It just does not get any better than this.We had a huge room that was so relaxing all with a beautiful pool outside.If this was not enough the beach was only about 50 meters away from our door.The food was perfection and the service as better than just about anywhere.By day 2 the staf knew our daughters name and looked after her like a princess.Very relaxing laying on the beach having beers and lunch or anything served.
The owner took time out to introduce herself and make sure we were happy with everything.
Only a short walk to the main town area,perfect location to be quiet but so close if you wanted to go out for dinner.
Do yourself a favour and just stay here.

Room Tip: we had room 102,ground floor with the pool out the front. huge bathroom and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent 3 nights on Gili T. at the Trawangan Resort. Took a 4 bedroom villa with friends. Fantastic location just away from the main area. Villa was very clean and in very good condition. We had our own pool and the Villa was very private and quiet. There wasn't much in terms of utensils for the kitchen but we ate out every meal so it wasn't as issue. Staff were friendly and efficient. Will certainly go back to Gili T and this resort.

Room Tip: Probably cheaper to just walk up or book last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on the quite end of Trawangan which was great for us. We had a two bedroom villa with pool. The rooms are great as is the bathroom. I was very sick when I arrived here and I was so comfortable in the room. The pool is great and the outside area. Staff are friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralouclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here with my parents and girlfriend for 7 nights and loved it. We had a two bed villa with private pool and it was perfect! The bedrooms were spotless and big with very comfy bed, air con and TV. The en suite bathroom was outdoor and fantastic! The living area was large and once again, clean and very modern. Very peaceful with the only noise we could hear being the sea and the jangle of bells on the ponies and carts.

The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and the staff were extremely friendly and approachable. The two resident cats (black and white brothers) were very friendly and always up for a cuddle if you're a cat lover!

The wifi was our only problem as it was quite unreliable and you have to continuously log in to use it.

But we will most definitely return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmedgeLedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,753 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing