We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Gorgeous place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Really great place to stay. The rooms are big and beautiful, heaps of space. Love the huge bathrooms. The pool is gorgeous.
The food and cocktails were brilliant, and the staff and service are amazing and so helpful. I also really loved the location, still really close to all the action on the island but not right in the middle of everything, a little more peaceful.
Would definitely go back, thanks Dewi and all your fantastic team for such a gorgeous experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    142
    66
    32
    21
See reviews for
89
181
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Trawangan Resort really has it all. We rented the whole resort for three days in early June to accommodate all our wedding guests as we got married at Pondok Santi Estate next door. I can not rave enough about The Trawangan. Dewi and her team are amazing, the service was spectacular, so personal and fun.

The front restaurant and bar has awesome food and Agung is a whiz behind the bar, the man can seriously make a cocktail and has a fantastic personality to boot. All the staff are so so accommodating and friendly, they really make your stay that bit more special.

The villas are beautiful, if travelling with a couple of friends I would recommend the two bedroom ones that look over Pondok Santi, you have your own pool, day bed, frangipani tree and outdoor bathroom as well as a large kitchen and sitting area. The four bedroom villa also has a very impressive communal space. A big group of our friends took the 8 bedroom villa at the front of the resort and nicknamed it Melrose Place, with its big pool, huge communal table and enormous rooms it was the perfect place for a big group to hang out. They could sit in the pool and literally call across the small road to the bar for a beer. Perfection :)

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they managed a packed full resort as well as all the food and beverages for our wedding day with ease.

Room Tip: If your budget allows go for the two bedroom villas, either 3,5 or 7 as they look out over the gorge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

From 50k horse n buggy experience to dining in the restaurant we loved it. Easy walk to town but for the price you must try a buggy once. Beautiful rooms with courtyards. Good comfortable beds and outside air shower facilities rather fun. Only downside is lovely coral beach is really only swimmable when the tide is in. Quite shalllow otherwise but this is not unique to the resort...it's the island.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterbhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and i stayed at the Trawangan for 6 nights from 31st May to 6th June. The overall impression was very good. The only reason I haven't awarded them a five was due to an off day on the breakfast front and one day when our room wasn't cleaned nor were the towels replaced! Otherwise, the remainder of their service, breakfasts, and the room itself was very good.

The Trawangan is located away from the busy part of the gilli t strip, which made it a tranquil atmosphere. The highlight was awaking for breakfast, the eggs benedicts and strawberry were delicable, plenty of superlatives for the standard of food there! Aside from one day when the kitchen staff were over zealous with the vinegar on the eggs and hollandaise sauce, the food was ace.

Their service was excellent, when we informed the girl on reception when our room wasn't cleaned, housekeeping came promptly, sorted it out and replaced the soap and used towels. They were very thoughtful too, especially when we realised our travel adapters wouldn't plug in, they gave us an adapter. It was the attention to little things which made their service unforgettable. The people on reception were always smiling and helpful. We would like thank the staff again for making our stay a pleasant one.

As Gill-T (as the locals and expats like to call it), it was paradise. There are a dozen dive schools on the island and my wife and I decided to do the Padi Open water certification with Blue Marlin dive. I would recommend them and our instructor Ari Martinez as they were thorough and gave excellent teaching in a time intensive course. We would like to think that we will return to Gill-T someday and when we do, we shall make our stay at the Trawangan Resort.

Room Tip: The villa rooms are the best ones there, they are steep in price but if you have the means, get invo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blessedarethespoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit County Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My mom and I took a trip over to Gili T for three nights. I booked a villa by the pool in the back of the Trawangan Resort- there are two pools. The pool in the back of the resort looked kind of dirty the whole time that we were there, and stagnant. I said something to the front desk person. Maybe it has something to do with wasting electricity?

There is also a pool in the front of the Resort that seems cleaner and the water is moving through a pump... waterfall thing. The Villa was small compared to the other places that we stayed in Bali. Gili T is more expensive than Bali, so we payed around 90.00 US for the Villa. The bed was comfortable and the villa was clean... just small. The air conditioning worked ok once it got kicking in. The outdoor bathroom was cute too. The Villas in the back are about a long city block to the actual restaurant and beach.

The staff speaks good English at the front desk. They were friendly and helpful. They arranged for a pick up and drop off to the Ferry via cart... keep in mind it's $7.50 to have guy from hotel pick you up with sign and carry luggage to horse cart buggy, and $5.00 back.

The staff also arranged for bikes right away. The beach towels are pretty small and more like a bath towel. The restaurant staff is really fun. The breakfast was good too, right on the beach. The food at the restaurant is fresh and the drinks hit the spot!

This is more of a surf beach. You can watch surfers on the Break at Breakfast. You can also walk or ride your bike about 5 minutes to this cool sunset bar.

We were there during the full moon, which was really beautiful, however, the Full Moon party down the street can be heard through out the island- ALL NIGHT LONG! Ear Plugs and a glass of wine... did the trick!

The beach chairs are uncomfortable as they slope most of the time down beach. You can drag them down.... lots of beautiful seashells on this beach!

The resort is a good place to stay about a 15 minute walk- 5 min
bike ride to the little "town".

There was also left over food and drinks sitting by the back pool the entire time that we were there.

Not as detailed as the Bali Resorts... but overall, it was just what we needed and enjoyed the people in Gili T and the staff at The Trawangan Resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookegoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

this resort is near the end of the strip of restaurants and bars. it's quiet and the beach is empty of people. we had a two bedroom private villa with it's own pool. it felt like a little piece of heaven. the rooms were not large but adequate, clean and the bathrooms had that out door feel. service was excellent and the food was great. i wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: get the private villa if you can it was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Trawangan Resort for the first time last year and have been excited for the past 12 months thinking of our return. We had a really nice time there and we are long term yearly visitors to Indonesia. Foods, service, room surrounds and everything was great.
Very excited and I will be there in 2 and a half weeks but who's counting.
Sampai jumpa lagi Trawangan Resort
Salam dari Mark dan Andrea

Room Tip: Sorry got carried away I don't know if there is a spa or fitness centre but it is a lovely place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing