We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort! Great Prices & Services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort! Great Prices & Services”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed villa with it's own private pool. Villa was clean and modern. Service was great, met the owner who is from Australia and was very friendly. We hired the bikes instead of walking back and forth up to the main restaurants & bars. Great snorkelling & diving off the island. Beware of the alcohol on this island as it's had more than a few reports of methanol in the vodka, I stuck to beer for most of the trip anyway. Rudy's bar is where we partied most nights and is believed to be where Perth teenager Liam Davies was served a vodka and lime tainted with methanol and subsequently died from methanol poisoning several days later.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    144
    67
    33
    21
See reviews for
92
188
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here in April for 2 nights as a group of 5 girlfriends and had a great time! We stayed in a 2 bedroom Villa with an extra bed for the 5th person, the 2 Bedroom Villas are spectacular! We had 2 separate bathrooms and open living/kitchen area with an amazing private pool. The Villa wasnt cleaned to 100% standard on arrival with some cobwebs in the kitchen and a toilet not thoroughly cleaned however nothing too serious to complain about. The resort itself is away from the main strip of accommodation & restaurants on the island but only a short 5 minute walk. The included Breakfast has a great variety & great value, yummy eggs benedict! Would definately reccomend for a family or group of friends! My only regret is that 2 nights just wasnt enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ree K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, the villas were spacious and comfortable and the pool was great. The staff were always friendly and helpful! The food in the restaurant was amazing, fine dining! The cocktails the bar served up were delicious highly recommend a martini! All in all our stay here was amazing thankyou to all the staff at the Trawangan for making our honeymoon something to remember.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AleishaOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our second trip to Gili Trawangan for scuba diving. The first trip we stayed at Qunci Villa on Lombok and "commuted" by boat each day. This time we wanted the full Gili experience. We chose the Trawangan Resort because it appeared to offer a nice blend of location and features and we weren't disappointed. The location is near the southern tip of Trawangan, in a quiet stretch of the pleasant roadway that rings the island. The resort has its own bar/restaurant, and there are two really special restaurants (Kokomo and Trattoria) within a 10-minute walk. We also walked to our dive shop (DSM, which we highly recommend) except when we were carrying our gear on the first and last days of diving. The resort has a small infinity pool that was just perfect for cooling off after a day of diving. The pool deck is thoughtfully arranged so you can get anything from deep shade to full sunlight in the afternoon.

We booked a deluxe room on the second floor, which we highly recommend. There are only 4 of these, so be sure to ask for one if that's your preference. The room was modern and clean, including the attached shower / bathroom (this room is detached or open-air in many resorts in the region). Our only serious complaint was the air conditioning, which was either low on coolant or badly undersized for the room. Temperatures were tolerable for sleeping at night because of a ceiling fan over the bed. But it was uncomfortably warm through much of the day.

By the way, if you've never been to Trawangan and are concerned about transportation, don't be. You can reach Trawangan by boat from either Lombok or Bali. There are several departures each day from both. The Trawangan Resort did a great job of arranging our inbound transportation, including car from Lombok Airport, boat from a clean and convenient harbor at the northwest corner of Lombok, and even the cidomo (pony-drawn cart) that transported us and our luggage from the Trawangan pier to the resort. And they were equally helpful in arranging our outbound transportation by fastboat to Bali, then by car to the Bali airport.

Room Tip: There are 3 very different types of room layouts / locations. Suggest calling or sending an email t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Planetary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a boys trip away from the hustle of Singapore and it suited our needs perfectly. We had 4 large rooms all with ensuite out door bathrooms, a private pool, huge kitchen/dining area and sitting room. The staff were incredibly helpful and nice especially the F&B manager.

In their beach restaurant there are 2 high and 2 low tree houses which offer great views with easy access to the sea as well as table service for food and drinks.

This island is very similar to other islands in the region (Koh Phi Phi, Boracay etc.) but the one thing which sets it apart is that there are no motorised vehicles allowed.

The hotel transfer from Lombok airport was very easy and relatively short at 2hrs including the boat ride.

The beach directly in front of the hotel has a lot of coral washing up so rubber reef shoes would be a smart thing to take if your feet cut easily.

Room Tip: Villa 8 gave us a lot of privacy and a huge amount of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Trawangan Resort - Gili Trawangan Island
I never expect that I could find a great accommodation in Gili Trawangan. The Trawangan Resort is just like luxury life in the middle of virgin island. Located in front of the beach where you can snorkeling only 10 meters in front of you. The staffs are well trained, good communicator, and helpful. The property was excellent: bathroom, living room, private swimming pool, kitchen, and quiet. The owner and the Cheff will be happy to greet you as their guest. Bicycling, snorkeling, diving are fun here and the staff will happy to assist you to get all information about the island. Must try!

Room Tip: Overall the room is good, but please try to get the room with garden view. Huge garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgusHelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful resort/ rooms, clean, friendly and very helpfull staff.
Breakfast was very nice, restaurant is on the beach!
Very close to the most beautiful part of the beach at Gili trawangan. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
631 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing