We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish yet relaxed in a wonderful location on Gili T”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Trawangan Resort
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Mataram, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Stylish yet relaxed in a wonderful location on Gili T”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrive at about 6pm on Friday night and were met by friendly staff with welcome drinks and fruit baskets. We had a nice evening by the pool and were able to walk 5 minutes into ‘town’ to enjoy the Gili T night life. The following day we headed to the nearby surf point and then to the tree houses on the Trawangan beach front bar... later we enjoyed tasty cocktails and snacks. We were really impressed with the place (especially the view from the tree houses... the breakfast and the coffee!). We would definitely recommend it to other groups of friends looking for a hassle-free, chilled out holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Such a lovely review, thank you so much. We are so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your stay; the new villa certainly is the place for a good group holiday! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, our fantastic tree houses and exploring Gili T – we hope to welcome you back soon for another stress free break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    142
    66
    32
    21
See reviews for
90
181
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Would go back to Bali just to go to Gili Tranwangan and stay at this place. Was amazing. The villas, the outdoor pool, the treehouses overlooking the sand right out from the hotel. Spectacular!! And they probably have the best satay on the island.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxtar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! It’s so great to hear you loved the resort so much and would come back just for us! We certainly hope to welcome you back for some satay very soon and we will even reserve a tree house for you to enjoy it in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for a 'big' wedding anniversary. Loved The Trawangan- great location just a 5 min stroll away from all the action, beautifully designed and appointed villa overlooking the coconut grove next door, really great breakfast which includes reall coffee- cappucino!! Welcomed by the very friendly manager Allie. One small criticsm- no pool towels supplied and when we asked we were given more bath towels???
Loved it and we will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your villa and breakfasts – you can’t beat an English breakfast! Sorry for the lack of pool towels during your stay, you will be pleased to hear we are about to put beach/pool towels in all the rooms and villas so you can enjoy these when you come back! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2N/3D for honeymoon, using direct private speed boat from Nare Bay near Senggigi only takes us 15mins to reach at the Gili Trawangan harbour. From the main harbour near Gili T hotel , turn left and walk down the street about 5-10mins to reach The Trawangan Resort. If you are looking for romantic,peaceful place the Trawangan resort is the answer. It's not really at the crowd place so the benefits that you will get is more private and quiet beach with beautiful serene. The owner and staffs there are very warm and welcoming us, After check in with welcome drink, they gave us their new room villa, it's very spacious with private pool facing to the white sandy beach. Here's the summary of our trip there. DESTINATION/TRANSPORT : from Neru bay Senggigi to Gili Trawangan with private speed boat about 15mins/// From the main harbor at Gili T harbor turn left and walk down the street to The Trawangan Resort for about 5-10mins - you can choose Cidomo (a horse cart ride/rent bike - the only transportation at the Island) STAFFS: fair English speaking, helpful and friendly ROOM: new spacious villa room, complete with Aircon, Fan, spacious shower and toilet FACILITIES : private swimming pool (bigger than the old 1), breakfast (limited options but serve in good quality and taste), all drinks and beverages in this island is charged with 21%tax, Happy hour buy 1 get 1 from 3-7pm and 5bottles of beer only IDR100,000, private beach and tree houses. SUGGESTIONS: the location is nearer to Vila Ombak Harbor, would be great if have night entertainment such as live music, better to come in summer on period of March - August. Can try other restaurants nearby from this resort only 5 mins walk to ko ko mo / scallywags - grill specialized - black penny, etc.

Room Tip: this resort has 2 building sections, old 1 and new 1. We were so lucky to try the new villa site whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LennyLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of The Trawangan Resort. We were very happy to welcome you for your honeymoon and are so pleased to hear you had a good stay as our very first guests in our new villa! We are currently making some changes to our restaurant and bar and once this is completed we will be organising some evening events and live music. Hopefully we can welcome you back to enjoy this with us – maybe for your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The 3 Course Christmas Dinner we had was amazing! The staff is so lovely and helpful and the location is a dream. The Restaurant is right at the beach and from the tree houses you can enjoy the stunning view with a tasty cocktail in your hand!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elli_alb_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for such lovely comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed Christmas dinner - the menu was created by our new chef who will be cooking some amazing dishes from now on! We look forward to welcoming you back for a tasty meal and a cocktail soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Trawangan resort over Christmas, arrived on the 23rd and left today the 28th. The resort is not really a resort but its ok. The villas are nice but the main lounge room has no air conditioning so was very hot.

The service for breakfast and room service is very slow. Not sure why as it is not a very big resort. I had asked for a cake for my daughters birthday on Christmas Day a few weeks before we arrived but got told on the morning of Christmas Day that it was "far too short notice to organise a cake".
This made me so grumpy as I had gone out of my way to organise it weeks before hand. They ended up sourcing a cake from somewhere and didn't charge me for it which was good.

On a positive note Christmas lunch was fabulous. Lovely atmosphere, lovely food.

What was the most annoying was weak to no wifi. We only managed to get onto wifi once on our last night. Sure we are supposed to be on holiday but these days it has become a staple of life. We needed to organise other parts of our holiday and keep in touch with other people and was impossible. To ask at reception was like asking a brick wall.

it was very frustrating to have no laundry facilities on site and to get your washing done it goes away for over 24 hours annoying if you didn't bring many clothes.

What spoilt our holiday wasn't the resort itself but the carriage horses. We arrived on the island to the sight of a carriage horse refusing to walk another step presumably of exhaustion and or dehydration. It was being whipped by the owner and was shaking and looked completely freaked out.

Turns out the horses are expected to work long hours with no water, carrying unbalanced too heavy loads. The bits in their mouth are too tight and the straps are digging into them. Their legs are splayed and you often see they have sores and cuts. They are emaciated and look terrible. They are foaming at the mouth. It is vey distressing.

There is a movement to help liberate the Gili carriage horses and this movement is trying to make conditions better for these horses.

Snorkelling. We went on one of the day trips and got taken to 4 diving spots and each of them had dead coral and rubbish all through the water. No one said anything and I keep reading reviews of great snorkelling at the Gili's. Well are these people not aware of the difference between dead and living coral? Snorkelling was really disappointing. Turns out the local fishermen used to do bomb fishing which damaged the reef. The Gili Eco trust is involved in regenerating the reef, but our snorkelling guide did not mention this and did not take us to where this is happening.

We ended up leaving early as it was just wet and muddy and depressing.

Room Tip: Don't expect wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of The Trawangan Resort and Gili Trawangan. We are sorry to hear you weren't 100% happy with your stay at the resort or on the island - but very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas lunch with us. Once again we apologise for the inconvenience with your daughters birthday cake but we hope the lovely cake we provided was enjoyed by yourself and your family.

We do apologise for the weak Wi-Fi signal, this is a small island and sometimes connection can be lost or slow especially when demand is high, such as over the Christmas period. However during this particular time it was a fault of the provider which is unfortunately out of our control.

With regards to the laundry service, water on the island is limited so not many of the smaller resorts have their own laundry facilities. Often laundry is taken all the way to Lombok to be cleaned, however for guests we use a local service who will collect and deliver back to you. There are no tumble dryers on the island so we rely on the sunshine to dry the clothes as quickly as possible but in wet season this can take a little longer than normal. We do apologise if this caused you any inconvenience.

The Cidomo's are a huge part of Gili life and with no motorised vehicles on the island working horses are a necessity for the locals to run their businesses. The conditions for the horses and standards in which they are looked after have significantly improved in the past year. Each owner takes responsibility for their horse and if you take a stroll through the village you can see they are groomed, fed and watered reasonably well.

You are correct in regards to the snorkelling, The Gili Eco Trust is working on a huge Bio rocks project to improve the reef, you can see this happening if you snorkel off the shore from the pier towards the north of the island.

Once again many thanks for your review - The Trawangan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've just come back from a lovely 4 nights here.

The hotel/resort itself is a 5 min walk from the main 'strip' which is only a bonus in my book.

My villa was really nice, the semi outdoor bathroom was lovely. Yes the are building next door, but it's not intrusive - who stays in their room all day to listen to the builders when the island is there to be explored.

Breakfast was one of the nicest I've had in Indo as standard hotel breakfasts go. Nice healthy option for museli too (i'd go for the banana pancakes every time tho)

Staff are great. The manager is a lovely guy too. Would recommend to anyone going to Gilli T

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleFromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetrawangan r, Guest Relations Manager at The Trawangan Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review of our resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Trawangan and on beautiful Gili T. We hope to see you back here soon where we will have some scrumptious banana pancakes waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#17 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trawangan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trawangan Resort

Property: The Trawangan Resort
Address: South Beach | Pemenang, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Trawangan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south beach of Gili Trawangan, THE TRAWANGAN RESORT brings a superior level of comfort and sophistication to your Gili Island experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Trawangan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trawangan Hotel Gili Trawangan
The Trawangan Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing