We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family time”
Review of Gili Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gili Palms Resort
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

we spent 8 nights here after new years :
rooms are tidy.
breakfast is good.
staff are polite and very helpful (mostly)
beds changed daily, floors mopped.
hot water
pool good
doesn't seem to attract the party brigade, as it is a little bit away from the "center of town".....big positive with young kids.
we swam with turtles every single day of our time there, no joke. Every day !!!!
plenty of good restaurants close by, get a horse taxi to the end of the strip and walk back, heaps to choose from.
staff were exceptional with our kids, they took them to the mini golf, kept their eye out in general for them, it was really refreshing and we felt very safe letting our kids ride around the general area.
I didn't bring a battery charger, and one of the staff found me one from a little shop.
I did have 1 negative, when we got to gili t, we did the tout thing, and , thanks to him, we found gili palms, the problem was the price....... the local manager negotiated a 3 day rate with us(2 rooms) which we agreed to, he kept telling us not to tell others guests what rate was as we "got special deal"......after day 2, after talking to other guests we found out we were getting gouged for about $20 per room per night higher than everyone else. I spoke to local manager about this and said either fix the rate or we will find somewhere else for the next 5 days, he said he would fix it.
the day before check out, I asked him for the bill, and he had "forgotten" our conversation, fortunately, the aussie owners had that week enlisted an expat to assist and oversee the daily running, I reluctantly informed him of the situation and he immediately rectified it (thanks jim).
this place is great, and we will certainly return there for holidays again, would higly recommend to family's with kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarwinWatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Gili Palms Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 211 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The new Australian manager and his terrific team of friendly locals really bent over backwards to help make our week's stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Palms is perfectly located 2 minutes stroll from the beach and 5 minutes away from the main restaurants and nightlife. This means that holiday makers can enjoy the nearby raucous nightlife, but still sleep when they get home. All members of our family, including our 19, 16, and 12 year old kids could enjoy the variety of experiences, both nearby and on- site - swimming in the pool or beach, snorkelling, mini-golf, bike riding, shopping, or listening to great live music. We would highly recommend this reinvigorated motel, although the wi-fi signal was weak in some rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Okey rooms, but highly overpriced. More like an "Inn" than a "resort" really. Wifi was close to non existing. Staff spoke bad, to no english. No mosquitonet. Nice pool, looked maybe a little dirty, we never used the pool though, because the beaches on Gili are so beautiful you don't want to waste your time on Gili in a pool. No fishes to see in the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rotevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had to write it because we paid way too much for this low quality. My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights and had to deal with the following:

1. No hot water even though they said they have
2. Dirty bathroom (ants and other insects through holes in the walls and other)
3. Worn out sheets (some spots were there)
4. AC dropped water even after we asked to get it fixed
5. Very disappointing breakfast
6. Safety box didn't have batteries so they gave us the key instead of putting batteries (just to show how the service is like)
7. You have to go outside for wifi as it does not reach the room
8. Room wasn't clean in general and my wife had to use my t-shirt as a pillow case!

If you have time and are travelling light, I recommend a walk around the island if you can't book something decent from the beginning, we had to go with this one because we had no choice and we needed a sure thing. The northern side has some nice simple hotels with nice pools and views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahmoud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our time here. The resort is somewhat basic, although everything including the pool and garden is well maintained and the staff is very friendly. Still, the rooms are a bit dated. The bathroom of each room is open-roof, which is a nice detail, although the light in our bathroom was broken and did not get fixed, despite asking for it (admittedly, we only asked once). There is wifi near the pool, but not in all rooms. The breakfast is tasty, but not overwhelming in choice. The entrance is just off the main road, towards the quieter end of the high street, leaving a c.15 min walk to the 'centre' and some of the busier bars and restaurants. Remember to bring cash, as they don't accept credit cards.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank R2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Rooms are well equipped and bathrooms are nice with hot water but just lacked the "wow" factor given its off the beach location and villas all facing one another which made me feel I was sharing my island hideaway experience with everyone else. Decent banana pancake for breakfast.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank calum a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were contacted by a guy at the harbour on the moment we arrived.
Normaly I don't react on these guys but this time I did. I told him that if we did not like the place we go and take a look somewhere else.
To our surprise it was more than good mimi resort. Staff was nice and the food was very good.
The rooms were clean. We were lucky this guy on the harbour stopped us. Thank you !

Room Tip: As a party of three we were able to get room 8 wich was the biggest room for an extra matras.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gadogado871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#6 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,797 reviews
1.1 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
#20 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Palms Resort

Address: Jl. Nautilus, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $43 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gili Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Palms Resort is located on the beautiful island of Gili Trawangan which is in a group of three small islands just a few kilometers offshore from Lombok.The resort was built in 2010 and consists of 14 rooms with bathroom, air conditioning, led tv with dvd and our own power generator backup as the supply on the island can be quite unstable.Some of the best snorkelling on the island is located just 100m from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Gili Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Palms Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing