We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware: they have bed bugs!”
Review of Gili Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gili Palms Resort
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Unfortunately Gili Palms was a real disappointment on many levels. From the moment, we turned down the dirt road and saw it first the first time, it just didn't look welcoming. The staff were ineffectual - they had us believing that we didn't have a booking even though we were the only ones in the whole place - and all they seemed to do was lounge around watching tv. The room was small and there was no hot water, the bathroom smelt like waste (and had ants everywhere) and there were very little amenities - a safe that didn't work, some towels, no soap. We had to keep the curtains closed all the time for privacy because all the rooms looked out at each other. To top all this off, we woke on the first night to realise we were being eaten alive by bed bugs. My boyfriend was covered in huge welts and when we reported it they offered us another room but we couldn't stay there another moment after that. Who knows what other room might be infected! The staff also wanted us to pay for the 4 nights planned but we decided to just leave and deal with the booking company from then on. Gili Palms contacted the booking company to say we were a "no show" and needed to pay the full cancellation fee. Fortunately the booking company were very accommodating and we didn't have to pay.

Considering the scope of accommodation available to you, I would definitely suggest going elsewhere. I was there with my boyfriend and looking for something a little romantic, inexpensive and comfortable. This didn't fit any of our criteria in the end.

There are so many

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jellmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
765Neil_G765, Owner at Gili Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Sorry to here about your unfortunate short stay. After your report we had a European friend who owns another resort on the island go and check the rooms for bed bugs and place some traps to see if they were present but none were detected. There are millipedes on the island that if you come into contact with give you welts on your arms and legs. Bedbugs give bites that bleed.
Staff now spray all rooms before guests arrive to kill any ants etc as insects are a big problem on a tropical island. On the refund issue we advised the booking company to refund the money as they cannot do it without our permission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is located a bit aside from the restaurant/bar area which makes it very quiet and comfortable.
The room are clean with appliances : A/C, fridge, safe box, satellite tv ...
the outdoor shower is a pleasant experience with hot water!
But I found the price a bit high for the service and no extra.The breakfast was very basic though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilouzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Well equipped hotel room with fridge, tv and amazing pool just outside the room. Only down sides are paper thin walls and having to ask to get our room cleaned after 4 days.

Location is away from the crazy bars but still central so that's great. Annoying that as it wasn't on the beach front, we weren't able to sit on (or pay to sit on) the loungers on the beach as each hotel saves them for its own customers. I would have prefered a lounger, especially as they were all empty! Stupid policy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alana06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Booked this through Asia Rooms at a much higher price than I should have paid if I'd contacted them direct, my bad. The location is excellent, one minute back from the beach so its quiet and peaceful. The bars and restaurants near the hotel are pretty quiet and always empty, but if you walk 5 minutes down the beach you come to the busier area and 15 minutes to the party area if that's what you want. The rooms are a little small but clean all in a U shape round the pool. Each room has a day-bed/sofa outside it looking out at the pool with a light and fan, a great place to sit and relax.

The rooms have nice well stocked minibar and semi-outdoor bathroom. The staff here make the place a 5/5, always waving a cherry hello or goodbye as you come and go, making sure your room is cleaned and offering any advice you need or a friendly chat. They have a massive range of DVD's you can borrow as well. I look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: I took a room near the restaurant and I could connect to the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AaronB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this small hotel as a place to stay.
Very relaxing ,great fresh water pool .Johnny staff member bends over backwards to oblige all requests.
Loved the day beds outside the bedrooms .
The cat Nigel was noisy at times but was not always there as he went to the village to visit friends ha ha.
Would highly recommend getting up early and watching the sun rise.The morning light is superb.
Hire a bike from the hotel ,I could not change the gym space.There is not one but who cares lie by the pool.

Room Tip: All rooms surround the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We loved our stay here for 4 days in July. Just away enough from the madness of central area but close enough to stroll to it. Everything you need from a resort. You spend all your time on the day bed outside your room and just fall straight into the pool when it gets too hot. You can have all the breakfast you want despite the menu having set pieces. The staff were amazing and would even run down to the store to fetch things for us. If there weren't enough bikes available they would run off to fetch them from goodness knows where. No request was a hassle to them. Big thanks to Robert and his staff esp lovely Joni who took us to the night market and explained everything to us about selecting food etc. Will definitely recommend this place. in fact already have friends going. We checked out other resorts on the main drag but they didn't compare well. This is a great friendly social place as everyone says hi. Don't miss sunrise at the end of the lane every morning. And ride around the island by bike.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xtinanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Me and my girlfriend just stayed at gili palms for 8 nights and it was probably the nicest accommodation we have stayed in throughout south east Asia! The staff here are always there to help whatever time! They also showed me some very nice places to eat! The breakfast was always good! Swimming pool very nice and clean, and every bungalow is literally no more than 10 steps away from the pool! Rooms always clean and fridge fully stocked with ICE cold bintang! We met the owner Rob and he's a very nice man! I would recommend this accommodation to anyone! Keep up the good work (Johnny,Hans and the rest of the staff!)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank gibbooz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
604 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
#24 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jali Resort
Jali Resort
#1 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Palms Resort

Address: Jl. Nautilus, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $31 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gili Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Palms Resort is located on the beautiful island of Gili Trawangan which is in a group of three small islands just a few kilometers offshore from Lombok.The resort was built in 2010 and consists of 14 rooms with bathroom, air conditioning, led tv with dvd and our own power generator backup as the supply on the island can be quite unstable.Some of the best snorkelling on the island is located just 100m from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gili Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Palms Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing