We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded villa with shared pool”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Baruna Villa

Villa Complex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Complex
Sundeck and outdoor dining Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Villa Complex
Sundeck and outdoor dining
Pool
Twin Bedroom
Lounge
Entrance Hall
Living Room
Master Bedroom
Dining area overlooking lounge
Bathroom
Lounge area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Cirri F
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Secluded villa with shared pool”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my family stayed in one of the two Baruna villa for about 10 days and we were rather content with our stay.
The villa is situated on a quiet and secluded part of the island, a few minutes walk from the beach, and about 15 minutes from the busiest part of the beach road.
The villa itself is a two story house with a kitchen, living area, maids quarters, and two bedrooms on the first floor(one with a big bed and en suite bathroom, and one smaller with two twin beds which are impossible to push together with a separate bathroom accessible from the main living area), and a single bedroom on the second floor.
Outside there is a pool area which is shared with the adjacent villa which is a mirror image of this one.
As to the pool area, it can be a bit of a gamble. We were lucky and had pretty docile neighbors for most of our stay, but one day we had a plethora of highly energetic children who splashed around like crazy in the pool all day and made a huge racket. So as to the shared pool area one have to roll the dice.

Another thing we missed is the fact that finding any kind of sunbeds or similar at the beach can be extremely difficult. Every hotel, bungalow and resort have their own real estate at the beach, but the villa unfortunately does not.
If you want any you would have to be there very early in the morning and get some from one of the few restaurants which allow you to use them.
We also had quite a bit of construction noise on both sides of the house going from early morning to late night every day.
You can also expect power outages almost every day. The first day our generator wasn't working, but after that first day it was fixed, albeit being rather noisy.

Even considering all of this, we still enjoyed our stay. We were here for a quiet vacation, and being away from the normal hustle of gili was nice.
The house staff create a nice breakfast every day at your request, and are always available.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M1ntyR
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Baruna villas was the highlight of our 3 month trip around South East Asia. The villa was beautiful, spacious & immaculate with the friendliest & most helpful staff & a lovely swimming pool. We were greeted at the ferry dock by the owner who had horses & carts ready & waiting. She accompanied us to the villa to explain the set up while the staff whisked us up delicious arrival drinks. She encouraged us to make ourselves totally at home & said to contact her if there was anything she could help with. We immediately extended the length of our stay & I cannot wait to visit again. We had a group of 6 so the value for money was brilliant. Gili Trawangan is a magical island and Baruna villas is the place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbaly
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect for Large Group or Two Families”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Service was impeccable, breakfast served by the pool every morning with plenty to choose from, rooms cleaned daily, and clean towels provided on request. Maurice and the others were friendly, professional and extremely helpful. Joanna was extremely helpful and catered to our needs.

The villa's were perfect for us (Two families). The shared pool was fabulously clean and lots of sun beds to relax in the sun.

The villa's were located away from the noise of the main street. Far enough but yet close enought to walk to the centre of the action. I would recommend renting bicycles to get around - we found them very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, size, service
Liked least: Its a 20 minute walk from the action but this was a positive for us
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin P
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Staying at Baruna has made this such a wonderful relaxing holiday for our family. Joanna organised everything so well it was just a case of us turning up ready to enjoy this beautiful island. The villa is spotlessly clean with everything you will need provided. Its in a perfect location; close enough to easily ride or walk to the beach and restaurants but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Breakfast by the pool each morning was a delicious start to each day. The staff are friendly and happy to help with anything you need. Thankyou for a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities, pool, breakfast, location
Liked least: WiFi a bit slow, but being changed.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Zealand
Reviewed January 21, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing