We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Review Only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trawangan Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
1,150 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
“Food Review Only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but did decide to stop at the restaurant for dinner after perusing the menu. Four of us dined, and it was the first time in three days on the island that we actually ended up four happy customers, after making several less than stellar dining choices at neighboring restaurants previously.

We started with appetizers including Pumpkin soup, a Mediterranean salad, and a garden salad - all of which were really good.

The menu was quite extensive, with options for almost any palate. Our entree selections were Satay with rice and vegetables (though there were no vegetables!), Rosti Zurich, which was a variation including chicken and mushrooms, a vegetable panini, and mie goreng (local noodle dish).

Everyone commented on how wonderful the food was. For all that food, plus a strawberry smoothie and a large bottle of water (served four), the entire bill was about $35 US.

Service was friendly, if not fast. but then the place was packed when we arrived. We would definitely eat here again, and all four of us would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawanganDive, General Manager at Trawangan Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi ML T

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our restaurant. As you will have noticed, there is a very competitive market on the island, and I imagine it would be very hard for people to make a selection. We are so grateful that you came to eat with us, and extremely pleased that you were able to write such a glowing review.

We are working to improve the level of service all of the time, and hope that if you return to the island, we will be able to get a 5 star all round.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    77
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
33
106
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Trawangan Dive Restaurant is one of my favorite hangouts on Gili Trawangan. Either for breakfast, lunch or diner, or for a coffee break or afternoon drinks. They always have something delicious to still your hunger or thirst and the staff is always friendly and serves you with a smile.
My favorite lunch item is their pumpkin soup, but they also have great salads and sandwiches. Try their chicken from the BBQ rotisserie in the evening, served with a yummy pumpkin salad from the salad bar. And most important...they serve the best Sangria on the island, a delicious drink on those hot nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiliEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawanganDive, General Manager at Trawangan Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi GiliEs

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope that we continue to be one of your top places to hang out.

Now that we have a new chef, we hope to introduce many more favorites to the menu.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I spent 8 days with my family here, I look so forward to going back when i get the next chance. The service, friendly staff, food, cleanliness and the overall value are 10 out of 10.
And especially the dive charters with a great bunch of down to earth instructors that are very professional along with being well organized. The owners and Padi would be very pleased with the service and good job they do.

Room Tip: There's a moss next door but i think they are all over the island so they always seem like next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis19712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawanganDive, General Manager at Trawangan Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Lewis

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your positive feedback. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed you stay and loved having you come to stay with us. We’re looking forward to seeing you all again soon with your friends. Please email me when you have some dates in mind, and we can organize everything for you.

Many thanks and I hope that will be the first of many visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was supposed to write this review ages ago.
Good fun. Nice people. I had the best time ever.
The staff are all very professional and take the time to make everyone welcome even to party afterwards with them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rileywhitelum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawanganDive, General Manager at Trawangan Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hey Riley

Thanks so much for the review. Great to hear that you had so much fun with the team, and they you also found everyone to be professional.

We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for only 2 nights but definitely would have stayed more if time was on our side!
A diving instructor, Adam, convinced us both to go on our first ever dive and it was brilliant!
Felt extremely safe the whole way and Adam is a great teacher.
Rooms are clean, bright and spacious and breakfast is amazing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawanganDive, General Manager at Trawangan Dive Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hey Ellie

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We’re so glad that you were pleased with your room, and breakfast. More so, we’re thrilled that you were convinced to try scuba diving and that you loved it. We hope that you will have many more amazing diving experiences, and that we will one day see you back here!!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We booked a villa with a balcony for 3 nights from 7th to 10th March 2014 with my wife and a couple of friends. My stay experience is generally positive : )

However the villa has a heating problem with its restaurant kitchen vent below its villa's main corridor. Twin room is particular hard to cool down even though all room had an air-conditioner. I reckon the twin room's air-con unit need to re-fill its coolant agent. Perhaps an air-cooler unit might work better, or perhaps an additional fan to reduce the stuffiness for the twin room.

Also, perhaps, the mini-fridge in the double King size bedroom would need its own cabinet in order to keep its exited heat against the air-conditioned room, which is eco counter-productive.

I would like to commend the Caucasian chef who came to our aid with a standing fan and clearing some problems with our toilet flush even though he seems to be leaving.

A real plus, the food at Trawangan Hotel's restaurant was marvelous and fresh drinks outstanding. You must try to have its smoked chicken if you have the chance!

Room Tip: If you already feel your room is particularly stuff, be sure to get a standing fan unit at the start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eiizumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawanganDive, General Manager at Trawangan Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Elizumi

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I’m so glad that overall, you had a good time with us.

I’m sorry that you experienced some problems with the heating in your room, and I have made sure that the air conditioning has been maintained so that the room is kept cool.

I will investigate cabinets for the fridges in the room, and I very much appreciate your suggestion for this.

Our chef is fantastic and we are very pleased to say that we are experiencing many improvements with the food in our restaurant. We have many satisfied customers, and of course, you can’t beat a delicious meal on a beautiful beach on a tropical island.

Thanks again, and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Never tried out scuba diving before and today was my first try-out. I chose this hotel exactly because it had a good diving school review from TA.
Had my half day Discover Scuba Diving today with the crew at Dive Centre, and all of the guys on TA were right! Had massive fun today. Saw some turtles, one cute baby shark (may not be the word you usually associate with sharks, but it was indeed very very cute!) and schools of pretty fish! My coach was amazing. And I almost was able to do the dive 85% independently.
Simply put, the dive school is just amazing enough that I am planning to return for my PADI certificate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dejavurenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawanganDive, General Manager at Trawangan Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Dejavurenee

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on trip advisor for us. Indeed not many people would describe sharks as ‘cute’ but at Trawangan Dive, we completely agree with you!!! We look forward to your return, and teaching you to dive 110% independently. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trawangan Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trawangan Dive Resort

Property: Trawangan Dive Resort
Address: Jl. Raya, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trawangan Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trawangan Dive is situated on the most idyllic stretch of beach Gili Trawangan has to offer. An award winning scuba dive center we offer courses from beginner up to professional level including tecnical diving and coral reef restoration study. Offering a wide variety of room types including economy, standard, luxury and a two bedroom villa, we have something to suite all budget. All of our rooms have air conditioning, hot fresh water showers, TV, private balcony, mini bar and safety box. Our luxury rooms have private gardens and tea and coffee making facilities. Your buffet breakfast can be enjoyed in our beach front restaurant which also offers a variety of food and beverages throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trawangan Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trawangan Dive Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Trawangan Dive Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing