We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for the diving - great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trawangan Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I didn't stay at Trawangan Dive (we stayed at Ozzy's bungalows right next door) but did a rec dive there and it was a great choice. All the dive centres on Gili T charge the same (370,000 for a dive and then a compulsary 50,000 eco tax per diver for your first dive), so it's definitely worth picking a decent dive shop.
We were attracted to this place because of the lovely setting - fab pool with a swim-up bar, lovely gardens with lots of tables and chairs. The managers and staff were all friendly and super chilled out. Our instructor James took my friend and I out, told us about the place we were going, what to expect in terms of the current (very strong at the time) and we had a really fun dive. The equipment was all in good condition, set up for us by the staff and the boat crew helped us on and off the boat on the beach and at the dive site.
The credit card machine was broken when we went to pay after our dive so they told us to come back another time - we completely forgot until we were leaving the island 3 days later - they are very trusting! But obviously we did go back and pay...who wants karma coming after them?!
All in all a great diving experience - although I obviously can't comment on the accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ic060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 384 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Where do I start? Perhaps with the staff. They were delightful and made the whole experience so great. Nothing was too much trouble. In fact we were stranded with the ferry out of action due to high seas and they organised for us to get a speed boat over to Lombok, a taxi from Lombok to the airport and a plane to Bali. All at no cost to us.

The rooms were perfect and much better that I was expecting. Big bed, nice bathroom, TV and Free DVD's and the best part is that they were about 50 m from the water. This is the best end of the Island to stay as it is near what you need but not too busy.

Finally the diving was perfect and relaxed and cheap.

I will be coming back here and skipping Bali in future.

Thanks guys for the perfect holiday - just what I needed. Russell from Perth.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russtripit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at Trawanagan Dive for just over a week, whilst there i managed to complete my open water course and advanced open water!! Overall i had a really great experience, all the staff were friendly and I loved being able to go in the pool bar after a dive!
The location was good, right on the beach were they had sun beds and a restaurant, although it is quite near the mosque as are most places being a small island!
I really enjoyed the diving around Gili Trawangan, and the instructors were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Great place to chill out and relax whether you're a diver or not. We really enjoyed sitting on the beach having breakfast which turned into lunch and more! Great idea to have breakfast from 8 - 5pm, really appreciated that. I couldn't complain about anything as everyone was very friendly and helpful but the only thing that was annoying was the very loud mosque next door which obviously is not the Trawangan Dive's fault. Just be warned it's very load and very long at 5.30 in the morning!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou-Schmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed in a bungalow at Trawangan Dive for five nights with my girlfriend. The room was actually really good. It was clean, air conditioning worked well and there was a really good lcd T.V and DVD player. However we do suspect that there were some sort of bugs in the beds?

The Hotel is in a good spot, and the snorkelling directly out the front of the hotel is excellent. One point worth noting is the mosque that is very close by. This can be very noisy, especially at 5am in the morning!

Staff were ok. Some seemed a little lazy. It was very noticeable that the staff were a lot more friendly when the manager was around.

The British manager was really good and would do anything for you.

All in all it was pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

had such a good time, I extended 5 more days. Great island, great little hotel on the beach.

I stayed in a deluxe Room, was nice, clean and simple. A/C, tv, dvd. nice hot water as well.

the breakfast burrito is great.

Location on the island is great, far enough from the busiest part of the island, and right beside where the beach gets more snorkeling friendly. everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank porkchopfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in Kelapa Kecil Bungalows as a part of the 3-days-stay+2-days-dive package. It is located right next to the dive shop, which is extremely convenient. We could change clothes and relax in our pool between dives. There is a pool in front of the shop too, as well as a restaurant with great food. Breakfast is typical "continental" in Balinese way - fruit, eggs, toast, jam and butter. Tasty, but nothing to hold your belly full for a long time. It is served in the room or next to the pool, which is actually a meter apart since the pool is in front of the room. A very pleasant guy working there helped us with with organizing transport and renting a bike. There are no cuts in water nor electricity. The place is located near mosque, so it might be a problem if you mind loud singing several times a day. A good big bed, nice bathroom, excellent AC. The biggest problem is that there is no internet connection in bungalows nor in the shop. There is a possibility to refill your water bottle in the shop for a fair price. Fruit and water were served on the boat after a dive.
Diving was good, great locations, reliable equipment, planning of dives was not really thorough though. Don't trust guys working on the boat about fixing your equipment, do it yourself. Instructors were good, helpful and it was a great fun diving with them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malmo_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,909 reviews
1 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
#24 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Trawangan Resort
Manta Dive Gili Trawangan Resort
#13 of 268 in Gili Trawangan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trawangan Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trawangan Dive Resort

Address: Jl. Raya, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $36 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trawangan Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trawangan Dive is situated on the most idyllic stretch of beach the GIli Islands has to offer. Our award winning scuba dive center offers courses from beginner up to professional level including tecnical diving and coral reef restoration study. With a wide variety of room types including economy, standard, luxury and a seaview family room, we have something to suite all budgets. All of our rooms have air conditioning, hot fresh water showers, TV, private balcony, mini bar and safety box. Our luxury rooms have private gardens and tea and coffee making facilities. Your buffet breakfast can be enjoyed in our restaurant 'Fat Cats' which also offers a variety of food and beverages throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Trawangan Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trawangan Dive Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Trawangan Dive Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing