We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Accommodation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Danima Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Accommodation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of staying in this resort in Gili Island. The room was superb, the view was lovely across the pool and restaurant to the beach. The food and service excellent, a small resort just far enough away to be a little private and only two minutes walk to the hub of Gili Islands famous beach strip. You can dine on the beach with the sand under your feet if you like the romance of it or sit in their fabulous open dinning area, cannot recommend this resort highly enough and I will always make this small resort my first choice.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at the front with fabulous glass walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriPlaistowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    71
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
218
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was Danima Resort for 5 days in february and I was fine.
Few rooms always clean and well maintained, great Italian food (for me the best on the island), a beautiful beach right in front of the resort and wonderful staff always at your disposal for every need.
I was really good and would recommend this small family run resort to all hoping to return soon.
A special thanks also to Luca Daniella and little Clara who make feel all their guests like family
Thank you all
Jen

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 overlooking the pool and the view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunyday J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

After 5 wonderful days at the Danima want to write a review to recommend this small family run resort at all.
If you look for peace and quiet this is the place it does for you, deserted white sandy beach and a fantastic snorkeling right in front of the Resort are the framework for this very special place.
Air conditioning and waterfall shower worked fine, no music or noise day and night.
Absolutely recommend

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnorD492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel could make it to 3 star. The rooms are absolutely okej. Restaurant is not what i expected. Its not a good Italian restaurant. But there are some other restos on the island that is great.
The beach in front of the hotel is great. Perfect snorkling with turtels outside the hotel.
litle bit to long from the centre Need for bike renting. Staff fix everything for you. Great.
Pool is the best. Really clean and nice.

Room Tip: Absolute one of the two room closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StockholmConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed our time. At first our room was a touch underwhelming, but the daily flowers on the bed and the large selection of free movies to borrow were a nice touch.
Breakfast was fantastic, but dinner was just ok. The real benefit of this hotel is its location, far enough from the mosque (unless you like the 5x a day loud horn chanting) but not so far away from the strip that you can't easily walk.
The snorkeling was fantastic right off the beach, in fact tour boats would sometimes stop right in front to drop ppl off.
The staff was quite excellent, they tried really hard to personalize our service which was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsurf0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had no idea what to expect of Gili Trawangan when we made the four-night reservation at Danima as one of our stops vacationing in Indonesia. The dog-and-motorvehicle-free island provided us with a memorable experience. Lots of cats and smiles, excellent snorkling and diving (high chance of turtle spotting).

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed in one of the poolfront houses at Danima Resort. The bedroom was simple, neat and clean and had room for two extra beds, even if a bit cramped. TV and A/C working fine as well as the free wifi. Bathroom spacious but somewhat smelly. This was probably also due to the weather, very rainy, leading to everything, incl towels, being damp. Other downside was the disturbing noice from a nearby bar quite late at night.

Danima is located close to the beach with private sunbeds and access to good snorkeling. It is quite a bit from "the center" of the strip, and even further from the decent restaurants that are located on the opposite side of the strip from Danima. I definately recommend renting a bike to get around. It gets very dark in the evening though, and parts are not well lit. Pls note that the "road" is very uneven and bumpy, and when raining, large parts gets flooded. Suggest bringing a flashlight! Other option to take one of the horse taxis when going for dinner.

The absolute highlight of our stay at Danima was the staff. From the time of reservation, until checking out, they were outstanding. They are all extremely serviceminded, kind and attentive and always greet you with a smile. Because of them I would definately consider staying at Danima again if we were to return to Gili Trawangan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SenceC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location for this resort was perfect, it was far enough from the hustle and bustle of Gili T (and there definitely is some of that downtown) but close enough to cycle to the main part of the island. Susanna and the rest of the staff were exceptional and so friendly remembering our names through our whole stay which gave it that personal touch.
There are only sections of the island which has abundant coral reef for snorkelling and it just so happens to be in front of the resort so perfect all those snorkelling lovers. There are private deck chairs and umbrellas with table service on the beach too!
A real treat was afternoon tea served with freshly baked cake daily at 4pm. Delicious!
Would go back there again!

Room Tip: A few reviews commented about the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. I found the opposite and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingWidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.6 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danima Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danima Resort & Restaurant

Property: Danima Resort & Restaurant
Address: Jalan Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara 83553, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danima Resort & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort was opened by Daniela and Pancrazio Palmieri in 2009 and is thereby one of the newest on Gili Trawangan. Only four Deluxe Cottage are situated within a beautifully arranged tropical garden with look on the pool. Our double-bed rooms are set with: fresh hot water, air con, Dvd, frigobar, safety box and free wi-fi. Located right on the beachfront, with seating on the beach, our restaurant is always open enjoy one of our delicious meals overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Danima Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danima Resort And Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant Hotel Gili Trawangan
Danima Resort & Restaurant Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing