We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much chop - although best cold beer around..”

Scallywags Seafood Bar & Grill
Ranked #18 of 120 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Scallywags restaurant has become a favorite for locals and tourist alike. Food is shipped in daily, with organic greens from Bali. The beautiful island location and the freshest food on the island makes it a great place for breakfast, lunch, sunset, dinner and party nights. Scallywags is the original and the best place to enjoy our nightly BBQ, starting at 6pm. Guests can choose from a large range of sashimi grade fish and Australian imported steaks, to name a few. A complimentary salad bar is included for all BBQ items. Not hungry? Our trained bartenders can whip you up an amazing refreshing cocktail for you to enjoy while soaking up the views over the ocean.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not much chop – although best cold beer around..”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate lunch at Gill T and were not really impressed with any of the food we ate – we had heard it was owned by an Aussie hence why we aet there. The service was average there were a lot of wait staff walking around however we had to chase them down to be served. The thing we did enjoy is how cold the Bintang is served, the bottle is in a stubby holder and the glasses are chilled – best cold beer we have had in a long time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MojiNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    928
    444
    223
    181
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

For the price it was ok. We both had the BBQ so we could have the self service salad selection. The salad was the best bit.

My girlfriend orders tuna an medium and came very rare for a medium tuna and she left the very middle as it was undercooked.

Not amazing but not bad either. If it was for the tuna it would have got a 4 star.

Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fancy, OK, Pricey”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Had our fancy dinner here, where ladies can wear their best & sexy dress with a flip-flop.
Wide varieties of seafood (not to mention the lobster) at least they are wayyy fresher than Manega.
Nothing special to the food, so I cant compliment the chef, but I do like the ambient.
Ohh yeah, it is pricey!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DodyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Perfect for dinner.
Romantic too... Love it!
Just by the beach and you can hear the sounds of the wave. The food was good. Mostly western and great seafood BBQ!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank callmemizk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stopped for coffee and dessert on our afternoon walk. Nice setting with lovely views out to sea. So many staff but there seemed to be no-one in charge giving any sort of direction. We ordered 2 cappuccinos and got 2 expressos fair enough anyone can make a mistake but then we ordered banana tempura with ice- cream and a bottle of water. The bananas were nice but took well over 30 minutes to come by which time we wanted to leave and didn't really feel like them. Thought about going for dinner but think we'll give it a miss judging by our afternoon experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scallywags Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Scallywags Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing