We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Great Location BUT Some Room For Improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Friendly, Great Location BUT Some Room For Improvement!”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Well we chose this resort after seeing such positive reviews on tripadvisor and in general they were right.

We had the organized transfer for USD30 per person and was picked up at the airport in Lombok. The driver was friendly and the car was clean. After arriving on the coast facing the Gili islands we were transferred by speedboat to Gili Trawangan all very fast and efficient BUT there was no one to meet us so we were not sure what to do. Problem solved as we phoned and they just told us to hop on to a horse & cart and the payment would be taken care of by the hotel on arrival, which it was. The return transfer was very well organized.

The check-in was friendly and relaxed with our welcome drink and when we were ready they showed us to our room. There was nothing to complain about with the room as everything was fresh, clean and there was plenty of space. The only complaint we had was that we couldn't really get the AC to make the room cold enough.

We used the spa combining the 30 minutes stress relief massage with the 60 minutes reflexology massage booked through reception from the spa menu. The masseurs had no idea what these massages were and just said they would give us a 90 minutes all over complete massage. Still it was very good so no problem!

The included breakfast was simple but adequate and the food we had on the resort was generally a good standard. They had a happy hour every night with specially selected cocktails BUT as most the cocktails included vodka and they had no vodka (the rest of the island did) there were only 3 available on the list till our last night! Although the website and brochures and room info advertise 24 hour room service this is non existent!!!

The swimming pool and the private beach area with sunbeds and tables were great and it was very easy to relax here away from the crowded centre. The resort is on the North end of Gili Trawangan about 25 minutes walk into town or a short horse & cart journey away (approximately USD5).

There are plenty of restaurants and bars on the island and the snorkeling is great. We rented a boat for 5 hours and sailed around all the islands, snorkeling as we went. We saw plenty of turtles and fish. Off Gili Air the snorkeling was truly spectacular with so many varieties of fish eating bread from our hands. We lunched in Gili Meno then went back to the resort exhausted!!!

The best thing about our stay at Villa Grasia was that the staff were so great. they are generally young and still learning but are so really friendly which made it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    113
    52
    15
    7
See reviews for
41
148
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Great new hotel with really friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerzak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed at the Vila Grasia for 6 nights in the first week of June, 2010. We were very happy with the experience.
The hotel is located ideally.... you get to the beach in 2 minutes, just 1 hop across a narrow track, yet it is away from the hustle and bustle of the the centre of town. The rooms are large and have all the conveniences you could ask for and are VERY clean. I am extremely fussy about cleanliness but found no cause for complaint , in the entire stay. I loved the the tap outside each room( the rooms are like little villas in themselves, with a lovely porch in front of each one)... you just rinse your feet after every walk on the beach and the room and porch stay dry and free of sand.The bathrooms are big and very clean. I loved the little strip of green the bathroom looked onto. Very soothing and a great touch ! The beds are comfortable and we slept like babies after every hard day of snorkelling.
The staff are very polite,friendly and eager to please. Andy was my favourite... ever smiling , quick to anticipate your needs and quicker to fulfill them ! All the others were really good too.
The beach in front of the hotel is great for snorkelling... we had some of our best experiences there. The tables on the beach are ideal for an after swim drink in the afternoon and in the evening there is a bonfire and "in house " music from Hakeem .
The swimming pool , though tiny, is clean and great for exercise and lounging. The gym has the basic equipment needed and the lady masseur at the spa is good at what she does.
The menu is not exhaustive but the food is well cooked and service quick and efficient.
A fabulous experience, we couldnt have had better !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushmita05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights this May.
Everything is exceptional- the rooms are huge, modern, and 5* standard with TV, Fridge, haardryer, shower gel, body lotion... not to speak about the welcome fruit basket and daily fresh flowers! The staff is very friendly and helpful, and is keen to make your stay as plesant as possible. It is about 25min walk away from the "noisy, party part of town" but ideal for relaxing days at the beach + snorkeling in the sea. The pool area is lovely and very clean, there is a modern gym as well if you like a workout. Did I mention the free afternoon coffee/ tea and handmade bisquits? Yummy! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Villa Grasia is located on the northern side of Gili Trawangan around15 mins cedomo (local name for horse cart) ride from the harbour. This accommodation is fairly new (we were told it was nine months old) and can easily fall under one of the up-market properties in Gili Trawangan. But its worth every rupiah you pay. The room (standard Villa # 100) as well as the bathroom were spacious, squeaky clean and very well maintained. The bathroom had fresh water running in the shower, which we was a boon as we learnt that not all hotels provide fresh water for bath and you need to buy it! This Villa is situated right on the beach, separated only by a small road. The designated snorkeling area is a few minutes walk from the Villa but you can also do snorkeling in the sea area right in front of the hotel. Our hotel staff was kind enough not to charge us for the snorkeling gear, which otherwise would have to be rented from the shops on the island. You can see beautiful corals and marine life a few meters from the beach and the waves are gentle which means that even a first timer and a non-swimmer can try their hands at snorkeling! More adventurous ones can take a boat ride in the middle of the sea and explore greater depths of the sea.
The villa has a sunny restaurant facing the sea and an awesome breakfast spread. It has an inviting pool but the water is saline which is understandable given that fresh water is a precious commodity on this island. The staffs were very friendly, helpful and courteous.
We were very happy to discover a stunning view of sunset over the sea by the Villa beach itself! This was perfect for us, as we did not have any energy left to walk till the designated sunset point after a marathon snorkeling session! Villa Grasia is located on the quieter side of the island and yet it is not too far away from the hip and happening party places. But if you want to walk it down, its about twenty-twenty five minutes walk. So depending on your mood, and energy levels, you could choose to spend the evening on the tranquil Villa beach or join the party(ies) in the nearby restaurants! When you go restaurant hopping or party hopping and decide to walk back to your hotel (instead of taking a cedomo) it would be wise to carry a torch light as there are no street-lights on this island! If you happen to be on this island when there is full moon, make the most of the moonlight and go for a post dinner stroll. There can be very few things more romantic than a leisurely walk at night along the moonlit beachside listening to the gentle waves and breathing in the clean, crisp night air!
The local map which one of the hotel staffs gave us was extremely helpful in exploring the island on foot. But we really wished there were more signboards on the island as we lost our way twice in the wilderness trying to locate the view-point on the hills!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayAgya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2010

While on our honeymoon a few weeks ago, my husband and I stayed at the 4 Seasons near Ubud in Bali. After excellent service for three nights we took a speed boat to Gili Trawangan. We wanted to stay someplace quiet but have access to some sort of entertainment (meaning bar or dancing) should the mood strike us. We went to the North of the island which is very quiet and stumbled on Grasia by accident.

I can not RAVE enough about this place. Its location was absolutely perfect. It's situated on the quiet part of the island, but was only a 25 minute beach walk into the town. It's about a 8 minute horse carriage ride into town as well.

The staff was OUT OF THIS WORLD. They knew we were on our honeymoon so they gave us a cocktail in their outdoor restaurant/bar (which only has maybe 2 people there at one time). We got into the room and they had put flowers everywhere -- on our bed (in a heart) on the desk, even in the toilet!!! Our room had cable, was tiled so very cool and neat and a patio that we could sit and rest. Our room was just a few steps from the beautiful beach with lounge chairs. The snorkling was good, the view fantastic and the water so blue and warm. There are only 25 rooms (or so) all with patios and sliding glass doors.

When I say that the staff surpassed the 4 seasons services I was not kidding. We'd leave the room for 2 hours and come back to a freshly made bed and more flowers. We'd go out again and they would come in to fold our clothes on the ground. They greated us constantly with Mr. and Mrs. Chris (we have the same first name and it was easier for them to remember). They'd keep track of what we liked to drink at happy hour and asked us if we would like to partake in a cocktail or beer. The breakfast every morning was OUT OF THIS WORLD. Pancakes, Narsi, sausage, fruit etc. It came for free with the room. They put the 4 Seasons to shame....for about 80% less then it cost. I mean for 4 days, free breakfast, two room service orders (and it was YUMMY!), cocktails (2 of us and 2 -3 drinks each) and tax - it cost us less than $350 US.

They played the guitar for us -- and we'd sit on the beach with them in the evening on the nights we didn't want to "go out". We expected to stay there for 1 or 2 days.....we stayed 4 and almost cried when leaving.

We are back in the states now and I have to say our experience in Gili T and at Grasias was our favorite memory. Much love to all those there...

P.S. - it is very quiet there. There was a family of 5 across from us but we couldn't hear a thing but we ended up chatting with them from each porch. Basically honeymoon or family -- this is THE place to be.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fresita75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

From modern, spacious and luxurious hotel room, to good service staffs, to best snorkeling location (right on front of hotel) and amenities (gym, pool, etc). Simply, this hotel can fit business like accommodations.

This place a bit far from noisy central offers a quiet, and yet accessible (hotel entrance along the road) thru horse ride (forgot how local call it, "pony"?). You can rent a cycle from check in to checkout for <USD4. I did cycle the whole island in 2 hours!
Horse ride is <USD5 too. Cheap!!!

Here is the catch... if you want to stay in the hotel at night, facing the beach they have an open air dinner accommodation (with bonfire, sea breeze, candle light .. name it...). One more thing, the supervisor named Hakeem is an "artist" in his own rights. Staffs can sing and play some instruments. Anyone would enjoy the beat!!!
With their good hospitality, I can remember some of the staffs name.... first Hakeem, Andy, and some others...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRETHREN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
#10 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Grasia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Grasia Resort & Spa

Property: Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Grasia Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Grasia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Grasia Resort And Spa
Villa Grasia Hotel Gili Trawangan
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing