We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option on a decadent island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent option on a decadent island”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are a decent size and in pretty good condition. The grounds are generally well kept. Staff is pleasant and relatively efficient. However, beach in front of hotel is unusable unless you have reef shoes, although it is nice enough to lounge about on, as it has both shade and sun.

They have free breakfast and afternoon snack/donuts. Nice touch as long as you don't forget to spray any exposed flesh: cafeteria is a mosquito magnet; they'll bite your toes, your arms and your cheeks. Fortunately, our room was not infested--even so every night there was a mosquito or two extracting it's due.

Cafeteria/restaurant food is mediocre, which is especially problematic given the remote location of the hotel. At night there are no street lights, and hardly any streets to speak of, so one can feel stranded in the hotel without decent dining or entertainment options. Cats run rampant and are allowed to climb tables, chairs, etc in restaurant and on porches. This is the rule throughout the island. Just look at the seat cushions in the cafeteria. Haven't seen a wash since they were first put in place years ago....

Each bungalow gets two bikes. Alas, since the bikes are kept in the open and have never been oiled the chains and gears are in terrible condition. My bike broke at the far end of the island. I couldn't even push it. Plus, the sand and mud (incessantly stirred by dung dripping horse carts) makes any foray on two wheels a meaningful effort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    110
    51
    15
    7
See reviews for
41
145
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We had come from a week in the Conrad Bali 5 star hotel in Bali and even though this hotel was very different, we still had an amazing stay. Unfortunately we only stayed 3 nights as this island is worth a much longer stay if you are looking for some chill out time!
Our little bungalow was great - very spacious and clean with two bicycles supplied for our use (cycling around the island can be challenging at times as you push your bike through the sandy sections, but it's well worth it!). It is on the quieter side of the island but seems to be quite popular with divers/snorkelers as a number of boats from the other side of the island seem to come over during the day. A few people mentioned in their reviews that it is difficult to snorkel with all the coral on the beach in front of the hotel. I would agree with this but it didn't stop us! We were just careful and wore waterproof shoes into the water (bring a pair with you, they're not so easy to find)
The food in Villa Grasia was nice. We ate lunch there most days and breakfast every morning. The breakfast supply was quite limited but what was there was nice and I also normally got freshly cooked eggs.
There is a spa in Villa Grasia but the therapist is not on site and needs to be booked in advance. We didn't do this on time so were unable to avail of a treatment. We did use the pool (but only briefly) and it was lovely. When we were around the hotel, we spent most of the time on the little beach section across the "road" (i.e. dirt track!!)
The island itself was my favourite part of this trip (compared to Bail where we weren't overly impressed with the area in which we were staying). The atmosphere on the island is so friendly and laid back. If you are thinking of going to Gili - DO!!! And spend more than 3 nights so you will have time to explore the other islands and really enjoy the snorkelling or diving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked our holiday for the Christmas period a little late (If you are going Xmas/New Years- do not leave it till 2 weeks before) so our options were limited.

After arriving by public ferry from Lombok (I would recommend as it only cost 13000 IDR from Bangsal Harbour) we started walking, and kept walking until we reached the top of the island. We checked into our room which was very nice and clean with a large bathroom.

The servicing is simple with daily towel changes and you bed made.

The room provides you with two bikes per room. Ensure you ask for a bike lock and lock it up. We did this every night until the final morning when my boyfriend rode in to complete his scuba course. He did not lock up his bike (as we noticed not many people really do) and it disappeared from the side of the dive school. We then had to pay $US 200 for a rusty old bike. This kind of ruined the trip for us as it was very suspicious that it was taken within a couple of hours in the morning on our last day before checkout!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked a night here last minute as it had a Family Bungalow available. Although it was kind of hard to get to , a fairly long horse and cart ride thought the middle part due to the beach side road being unaccessilble. The room was lovely, clean, beautiful linen, pink frangipanis everywhere. The staff where very friendly, they provided us with ok bikes to explore with. The gym is good the breakfast was good also. The bathroom was lovely , bathed in natural light and clean also. If you are after some beachside rest and relaxation this you should consider this place , there is a few ice restaurants within walking distance and the main jetty area is perhaps a half hour walk.

Room Tip: The Family Bungalow is at the very back end of the resort. This is not a problem however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. We stopped there due to the lack of options on this side of the island.

The food was really bad. The pizza was badly cooked, the based soggy and way too much cheese.

We ended up paying Australian prices for a small pizza and an entree size plate of dips. Expensive place, not recommended.

p.s: we had excellent meals in Bali, but we are not eating well in Gili. The restaurants are overpriced and average food.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank megadayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a fabulous time at Villa Grasai. It is a lovely place with great staff. I would recommend it for families as it has a pool and the beach is across the dusty road. Horse and carts use the road. Spicy Hari was one of the team making us very welcome and wanting us to really enjoy the island and Indonesia. He engaged with our boys, helped me with my Indonesian and was a source of information about life on the island. Thanks Hari. I loved the afternoon tea and the unusual combination of nibbles. We had cakes one day and deep fried sausage meat the next.
Next door to the hotel was a brilliant dive company. So this was an excellent combination for our family. The dive sites were a few minutes away on a traditional spider boat. James SCUBA dived for the first time in the sea.
Its a great island. We left by local boat for Lombok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We came to this hotel after being so terribly disappointed by the place we'd reserved. Very luckily, Villa Grasia was nearby and they had a room available. The hotel was modern and very clean and it fit the setting very well; the pool area was well-kept and comfortable; the restaurant was lovely but the food was mediocre. The grounds were beautifully landscaped. The room came with complimentary bicycles. One of the best parts of our stay here at Villa Grasia was the staff, who were consistently warm and friendly and welcoming. In fact, it was my husband's birthday, and I left little notes in the room. The cleaning staff noticed them and when we returned to our room they all shook his hand and said happy birthday. The next time we passed the lobby, the staff had prepared a birthday presentation for him, and they surrounded us and sang to him, accompanied by a guitar. It was thoroughly charming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
329 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Grasia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Grasia Resort & Spa

Property: Villa Grasia Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Grasia Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Grasia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Grasia Hotel Gili Trawangan
Villa Grasia Resort And Spa
Villa Grasia Resort & Spa Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing