We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely antique bungalows - there`s everything you wish for”
Review of Blu d'aMare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blu d'aMare
Ranked #26 of 170 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2014

5 lovely wooden bungalows with seating area in front of each, very nice old wooden furniture, spacious outside bathrooms (incl. fresh (not salty!) and hot shower).
Breakfast is plentiful and great! (e.g. awesome fresh juices and banana-chocolate pancakes).
Very friendly staff.
It`s conveniently located right at the beach but a bit north of the busy restaurant and bar zone and still just a few minutes away. From there you only hear the mosque a bit and you really get used to it. If you happen to wake up from the mosque in the morning, go out and watch the really pretty sunrise over Mount Rinjani!
The private beach area provides sunchairs and parasols for the guests, which is great.
Unfortunately the restaurant was closed when we were there in early April.
It was a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 186 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely stay, nice place with a great breakfast and you don't need to really worry about lunch because there is so much.

Only negatives are the mosquitos which can't be helped as there are loads everywhere and the sound of the mosque at 5 in the morning.

Overall we loved it as you get you own deck chair on the beach and are left to yourself as much or as little as you want.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke_t_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Avremmo dovuto trascorrere solo 2 gg ed invece...7 gg, ci siamo fatti travolgere dall'isola e dall'atmosfera del Blu d'aMare. Un vero paradiso... Moreno ed Alessandra sono due persone eccezionali che svolgono la loro attività con forte passione tale da averla trasmessa ai componenti dello loro staff, tutti cordiali, efficienti e sempre sorridenti. Non ci resta che sperare di tornare al più presto!

We would have had to spend only 2 days, instead we spent 7 days. The island and the atmosphere of the Blu d'aMare... we were enchanted. A real paradise ... Moreno and Alessandra are two exceptional people who conduct their business with a strong passion that they pass it to members of their staff... everyone was friendly, efficient and always smiling. We can only hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CriR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay at Blu d'aMare because of all of the great reviews here, and I was not disappointed. Everything that reviewers have said about Sandra and her family being warm and welcoming is very true. They were always kind and helpful, and it really felt like I was in their home instead of an impersonal hotel or guest house. Contrary to what some people expressed in previous reviews, I found everyone on staff to be nice and did not encounter any rudeness. The cottages are basic but spacious, lovely and very clean. The bread that they bake daily is simple but to die for! I must have eaten six loaves of it on my own! I ate at the restaurant as well and really enjoyed it.

The beach directly in front (reserved for guests of Blu d'aMare) has incredible snorkeling! I saw a variety of brightly colored fish and turtles during each of the three days that I went snorkeling. You can a snorkel and fins right next door, and also a bike. There is an excellent dive shop called Mango right next door as well and there is also a shop where you can buy water, snacks and other items. It was nice to be located within a 10-15 minute walk from the main busy area of the island but still in an area that is not isolated (as it is surrounded by other b&b's and restaurants).

I can't really understand the negative comments about this place considering that it's a mid-range option and NOT a luxury or high end place. If you're looking for those kinds of amenities, then this is not the place for you. However, I often stay at pricey boutique and luxury hotels around the world and I was perfectly comfortable with my stay here. I would certainly return and recommend this place to family/friends!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank CaliGirlSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good location, excellent service , tasty food , very helpful staff, clean and cosy bungalows ...
Everything is set to make us feel welcome and at ease .. So what's else !! Nothing to ask more !!

Loved it !! Special thanks to Abu ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Bungalow nr. 4. After reading the positive reviews on TA we decided to book blu d'aMare for a few days. The bungalow is lovely and the location is perfect. The breakfast is ok but not so special. The lady who served the breakfast was very moody. On our first day she asked what we wanted for breakfast. We asked what choices they had. She just said 'same as every day'. Not so hospitable!! The days after she acted the same, seems she had some bad night's rests or so..
We also tried their restaurant for dinner, and again we were very disappointed. We both ordered the king prawns, and they were too well-done and dry.
All in all we were very disappointed in the service and food, so for us the proportion price/quality is very bad, not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casmira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for a week at Blu d'amare and loved it. Host Sandra is incredibly warm and welcoming and was so nice when I got the dates wrong! The breakfast is delicious and (as Sandra rather charmingly puts it) 'very complete'. The restaurant has knock out Italian pastas for lunch and dinner, although we did need to make a reservation to get a table outside at dinner.
Our little hut (number 1) was very charming and the canopied bed was lovely. We made great use of the little balcony and had a very relaxing evening with a litre of the house vino tinto and our books. My only very slight reservation was you can't shut the bathroom door when you are in the bathroom, some kind of latch would be really helpful.
Great place, highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Danima Resort & Restaurant
Danima Resort & Restaurant
#10 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Bale Sampan Bungalows
#6 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mango Dive & Bungalow
Mango Dive & Bungalow
#7 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Heart Resort
Good Heart Resort
#18 of 258 in Gili Trawangan
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balenta Bungalows
Balenta Bungalows
#63 of 258 in Gili Trawangan
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Bella
Villa Bella
#57 of 258 in Gili Trawangan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu d'aMare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu d'aMare

Address: Lungomare, West Nusa Tenggara 006285888, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $64 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your holiday in original, unique accomodation antique javanese wooden house, with private garden and delicious real italian food. Direct on the beach. Italian management, in every room AC, fan, sweet and hot water on the bathroom. Mini bar,Safety box. Special honeymoon dinner on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blu d'aMare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu d`Amare Hotel Gili Trawangan
Blu D'aMare Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing