We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay if they can lower down their room rate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Beach Cottages
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay if they can lower down their room rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is about 10min walk from Bangsal pier, before the mosque. We had a standard AC room for about $60. It's very expensive considering their facility but we were there on high season so cannot complain. The room is spacious with mosquito net covering the bed. The bathroom is also spacious and has warm water. Their decor is very traditional, reminds me of the traditional houses in Central Java. Unfortunately they didn't clean up the room during our 4 days stay. We had AC leakage to on our first day. They fixed it but it wasn't as cold as before.

Our room is just below the mosque speaker, I guess. We can hear their prayer so loud from inside that we had to close the door and windows. We were there on Ramadhan celebration that has more prayers than it usually is. It don't really bother us cause we spent most of the time outside the hotel.

Their breakfast is delicious though. We can have hot drink, juice and pancake or toast. It's also in beachfront that we can just go to the beach whenever we want and left our stuffs at our room.

The staffs in the restaurant, hotel, rental shop for bike and snorkel gears are very friendly and attentive.

Overall, I don't really have problem with this hotel, except their price. It's too expensive. Probably I would stay there again if they offer like $30-40 a nite. :)

Room Tip: Choose room other than room no. 4-6. the mosque's speaker is just like above it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank novangely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    11
    5
    16
See reviews for
2
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I choose blue beach cottage (not the blue beach cottage II) after doing long walks from one hotel to another at gili and compare the price with facilities they offer. As far as i found, this place offer lowest price for a place with hot water shower, a television, a nice cold air conditioner and spacious enough bathroom. The staff says the price is adjusted with peak season or low season. Maybe that is why i get a good price. They have a very nice restaurant with not expensive food and drinks, compare to other. a good beach for swimming also in front of the restaurant. I really like the omelet onion cheese and their watermelon juice for breakfast. very good and refreshing.
This place located not very far from the port and night market at gili.
in addition, there is a family of cat lives in this place. they like to play on my balcony and make sounds in the morning. I don't mind with that, in fact i like to play with those kittens.

Room Tip: Choose room number 3, the bed is nice compare to the front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamueco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

It is 10 m from the mosque, so every night you will be waken up buy the very loud prayers. No ac, bathroom was dirty, fan was broken. Staf is nice and friendly. Restaurant is good and convenient, located on the best beach of the island for swiming. If you don't come in high season you can probably walk around and find something nicer...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prando79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Blue Beach Cottages II beginning of June for 4 nights for 250,000 a night, and we felt we got good value for our money. We stayed down the pathway in a standard room. The room was budget basic with large comfy bed, tiny TV, free WIFI, rough concrete outdoo bathroom but with clean toilet and basin. There was hot and cold fresh water shower. They don’t make up rooms or provide fresh linen or toilet paper, in fact we found hardly any of the budget accommodation on the Gili Islands do, so we went in search of these when required and they were happy to oblige. Its in a great location, there was music found and mosque singing but not loud enough to stop us sleeping – in fact we heard the Gili T Mosque singing when staying on Gili Meno! Try the fantastic banana and chocolate crepes just down the road. The girl in the breakfast nook will deliver your breakfast every morning, we loved the fresh fruit juice, hot chocolate and she cooked the best banana pancakes we had in the Gilis. I definitely recommend, only saw the reviews of bed bugs after we booked in, but we stayed at Beach Cottages II, number 5 and never saw a cockroach or bed bug. It is unclear from the reviews if bed bugs were at Blue Beach Cottages or blue Beach Cottages II, but we had a great stay at II. My tip to the Hotel would be buy some fitted sheets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

On first appearance Blue Beach is slightly over priced but fine. Within two days I had discovered a cockroach and bed bug plague. Worse still, no doubt due to the faulty doors and locks a large sum of money had been stolen from my (locked) room, followed the next day by my credit card being stolen from my wallet that was locked in the safe AT THE RECEPTION DESK. In response management treated me appallingly. Openly accusing me of doing it on purpose to avoid paying for my room. Security were called not to help me but to stop me leaving without paying. A truely horrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WICKET25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in May 2011. We stayed in the Bungalow at the front on the left. On first impressions we thought great, had a fridge (luxury in Gili T) nice bathroom area too. The lighting in the room was dim, now we know why! The bed was ridden with bedbugs...woke up with blood smears all over the sheets, these bed bugs were rather large too. Every morning we woke up with cockroaches over the floor, several each morning. I would not recommend staying here, there are better places.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank becky19855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

If you don't mind sleeping with bedbugs the size of fully grown beetles then stay here!!! Theres loads of them and they feed off you, and are only out during the night so chances are u wont see them, just wake up with what u'll think are mosquito bites.... Nightmare....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CadizforniasurfJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.0 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Beach Cottages

Property: Blue Beach Cottages
Address: Main Strip, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Blue Beach Cottages Hotel Gili Trawangan
Blue Beach Cottages Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing