We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY FOOD IN GREAT SETTING”

Ko Ko Mo Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indonesian, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Elegant restaurant set on the beach with stunning views to Lombok. An innovative mix of Asian, French and Italian inspired fusion dishes, focusing on fresh seafood, quality imported meats and homemade pastas, breads, desserts and pastries
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVELY FOOD IN GREAT SETTING”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

this is the nicest restaurant on Gili with a nice selection of seafood , meats and local dishes. They always offer you a lovely tasting of something and freshly baked bread - yum!! Good cocktails and wonderful staff.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank camilla59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    186
    67
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jokela, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“worth to visit”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had after beach lunch/dinner at the ko-ko-mo. Service here isbetter than ain an average GT-restauarant. This also means more expensive menu as well. I had garlic bread first, which was dry and not goodat all, as a main I took kingn prawns and scallops with salmon- seafood risotto. The food was good but nothing to seleprate about. Wife of mine took tuna stake,which lacked of taste.

The restaurant nextdoor "Pearl" I recommend and I'll write a report after TA accepts this new placeon their listof restauranats in GT.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miksaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Although this is the most expensive seafood restaurant on the small island of Gili Trawangan, but every penny you spend is worth it. Try the seafood platter - it's one of the best you would have ever had. Location in itself is not an advantage as all restaurants in Gili are situated bang on the beach, which the sea barely touching your feet while you gorge in on the delicacies. However, this place is tastefully decorated, plays good music and generally gives leaves you with a feeling of having experienced luxurious (read: fine) dining!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebayanBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best value for money I feel...”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Fairly expensive with the hidden surcharges of service and government tax. Food was really good and so was the service but I feel a number of other places could have provided similar for a lot less.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ovenwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at Ko Ko Mo Restaurant, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you found our food and service to be really good.

In terms of 'hidden surcharges' I'd like to comment that, as you're a Trip Advisor reviewer, you possibly also read reviews for the places you stay in or eat in. If so, you'll see that I've explained several times about the service and tax which are added to the bill. These charges are a legal requirement in Indonesia and anyone not including them is operating outside of these requirements.

We do not profit from the surcharges, and nor are they hidden as they are at the bottom of every page of the menu, and on our websites, as well as in many of my responses to reviews that mention these costs. We make this very clear in order to not have any hidden surprises for our guests

Finally, to quote a travel site that explains the fees and taxes:

Hotels: All hotels services inclusive of 21% tax. 11% is government tax and another 10% is service charge. Therefore, tipping is not mandatory. However, if you want to tip, give 5-10% of the total bill.

Restaurants: some restaurants will include 5-10% service charge to their bill. But if they don't levy any service charge, you can tip between Rp10,000 to 10% of the total bill.

So in conclusion, we do add these mandatory charges, and advertise the fact that we are operating professionally by doing so

Thank you again for your review
Management, ko-ko-mo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“very so so”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

NIce terrace with view over to Lombok. Food? Very so so. Drinks? Can't go wrong with a beer. Good coffee is already getting difficult. Had to ask the waiter to reduce the volume coming from the blaring loud-speakers - we were the only guests at lunch peak time. Expensive and not worth it. At least: the waiters were smiling.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Ko Mo Restaurant also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Ko Ko Mo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing