We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan
Ranked #2 of 40 Tours in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Marlin Dive is the original and longest established PADI dive resort on the beautiful Gili islands. Set up in 1992 by renowned technical diver and instructor Simon Liddiard, Blue Marlin has grown to be a successful PADI 5-Star Instructor Development Resort and TDI technical diving facility. We offer daily recreational and technical dive trips for certified divers, a complete range of PADI recreational courses from beginner to instructor level and a luxury diving liveaboard based in Komodo national park. An award-winning TDI and IART technical facility, we specialize in Enriched Air Nitrox, Tri-mix, Buddy Inspiration and Evolution, and JJ Closed-Circuit Rebreather training. We have a full service dive resort with a restaurant, bar & on-site accommodation. Let our clear warm waters, swaying palm trees and no-motorized traffic ensure your holiday is a memorable one.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Montreal
1 review
“Good experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We did our advanced open water there. We only had done 4 dives before and didn't knew much about the AOW. We chose blue marlin mainly because of Manon who explained everything to us and suggested which options we should choose. We felt like she knew what she was doing (compared to other dive schools that we visited that day). Our instructor, scuba steve, was really nice and helpful. He helped us a lot with our diving technique so that we're now more confident. He also managed to deal with a panic attack I had while diving. Overall great experience and friendly staff!

Helpful?
Thank Ely155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMarlinDive, Manager at Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Ely,
Thank you for diving with us here at Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan, we are happy to hear it was a good choice for you. We are happy with your feedback that you received well informed information ahead of the dive course, with sound advice from Manon, and also that Steve was a helpful and capable instructor. We thank you for your excellent review and for your recommendation of us to others.
Kind Regards
Blue Marlin Dive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    108
    30
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to learn to dive”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Did my Padi open water at Blue marlin with Deris and couldn't have asked for a better instructor and experience. Despite being a bit anxious about diving at first felt very comfortable with Deris and had a great mix between having fun and ensuring we knew how to dive safely. All the other instructors were very helpful and seem to have the same attitude. Would highly recommend and would love to come back to do further courses. Additionally the dive sites were very impressive lots of turtles and cool fish.

Helpful?
Thank Ollie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMarlinDive, Manager at Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Ollie,
Thank you for making Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan your dive school of choice for the PADI Open Water Diver course, we are delighted to hear it was a great experience for you. We are glad you found Deris to be both a fun and friendly instructor, whilst at the same time being very safety conscious, and that you felt you got the same vibe from the other instructors also. We are happy to see you are highly recommending us, and that you would also consider returning for further dive training. Thanks again for your awesome review.
Kind Regards
Blue Marlin Dive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The best in Gili Trawangan”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Edwin receive us in the front desk and the italian guy Marcos was our instructor. They are very helpfull since the desk front until the end of the diving. The boat had 16 divers and we dived in groups of 4 with a Dive Master in front of each group. The best and more personal dive company in Gili Trawangan!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PedroTojal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMarlinDive, Manager at Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Pedro,
Thank you for diving with Blue Marlin Dive on your visit to Gili Trawangan, we are happy to hear it was an enjoyable experience for you. We are delighted to hear you found both front desk staff Edwin and divemaster Marco to be helpful and personable, and that your diving experience went well. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards
Blue Marlin Dive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great school, Fantastic instructors, Fabulous Parties”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

best dive school, best instructors, second best dive-sites ever
we did our advanced course in 2 days. 5 great dives e.g. deep-dive, night dive and navigation dive

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris Michiel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMarlinDive, Manager at Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Chris,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of us, great to hear it was the best school and instructors, and also that you enjoyed the parties!! Glad also that you enjoyed the diving experiences.
Kind Regards
Blue Marlin Dive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Dive experience”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We did a combined 44 dives over a week and cant fault these guys for fun diving. We got to see amazing amounts of different fish that we were trying to spot. We also had the luxury of being able to request certain dive sites for the next day. The Blue Marlin team are fantastic from the guys in the gear room who after the first day remembered all our sizes and weight requirement etc and would go out of their way to make sure that little requests like brand were also met. As we are all experienced and qualified divers we got the VIP treatment (no setting up gear or carrying to the boat) Every dive site was utilized well for all the different people diving across the whole boat from The tech divers to the people doing certifications, no one was left waiting through good management and systems. The dive masters on staff know the dives backwards and know how to lead them to get the best out of each site dependent on the daily conditions, we dived one site twice by request and on the second dive there was a reasonable current running, but Adi made this dive by using this during the dive to move us to a further away part of the reef.
We will go back next year and will dive with Blue Marlin for sure.

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 256Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMarlinDive, Manager at Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Matt,
Thank you for choosing to dive with us here at Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan, we are delighted to hear it was a positive experience for you and your family. We are happy to hear you found the dive crew helpful and friendly when helping you get equipment for the dives, setting up the gear and bringing it to the boat. We are also pleased you enjoyed the variety of dive sites on offer, the abundance of marine life around, and the knowledge our local divemasters have about the surrounding sites. We hope you will return to us in the future and hope that you will recommend us to others who might be considering a trip to the Gili Islands.
Kind Regards
Blue Marlin Dive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Blue Marlin Dive Gili Trawangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing