We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could not leave...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bubble Dive Official
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We could not leave...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed 9 days at Big bubble. At first we were afraid of the noise because it is on the Main Street. You will hear the party's some nights, but if you like to party, then you are just next door.
The staff is really friendly, trying to make you feel at home. Breakfast anytime, always with a smile. The rooms are basic but really big, we could invite friends to share it! No hot water, maybe solar panels one day, who knows, but then, for this price, on a sandy island,... You don't need more.
Big bubble cares about the environment, trying to be echo friendly and supporting beautiful projects such as the bio rock. Gili T needs more people like them! Another reason to stay there. We both took our Advanced dive course with them and they are a great team. We had a lovely time at Big bubble, thanks to all the staff, the guys from the dive team, Made, Victor, Steve... All really different from each other, which makes it even better!

Room Tip: We were there in March and a fan was enough, no need for aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    38
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
56
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zhuzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I did my open water certification there in January. My divemaster was Steph and she was extremely patient and helpful. She had a professional yet informal demeanor that made learning from her a relaxed environment where you could learn from your mistakes. The location is nice, close to the the beach. the rooms were satisfactory and clean and were worth about exactly what you pay. but, no cockroaches, rats, bed bugs or mold, which can be hard to escape in indonesia. also, i should mention that we had to fall asleep to music from the clubs faintly creeping into the room every night, but i hear that is the situation with most of the budget and middle-range accomodation on that island.

the staff were extremely accomodating and arranged a speed boat transfer to the island from lombok after dark. they even discounted the room and gave me a free fun dive for doing my certification with them. the staff there are also very nice, fun and easygoing. that entire part of the island has a strong drinking and party vibe and big bubble is no exception...which is usually a plus for most people going to trawangan.

my two complaints are: first, when it came time to pay the bill, the attempted to charge us more than the quoted amount for the speed boat transfer and they also wanted us to pay for a loaner umbrella which was already broken before we borrowed it. but, they removed the umbrella charge and decreased the boat transfer without too much fuss. second, we stayed for five nights and they asked us to change rooms twice because of some kind of double booking situation. but, the second time, it resulted in a free upgrade to an aircon room - which we didn't mind.

overall, a very satisfactory experience - particularly the dive certification with steph. my gf was already certified and did some diving with others and she seemed happy with the other divemasters.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Big Bubble is located right on the main road, next to the beach. The bungalow was basic but clean with AC (no TV and hot water). It was very nice experience to stay in Big Bubble dive and bungalows. They were very friendly in welcoming us when we first arrived there and they very helpful if we ask something.The breakfast was good and you can find Wi-Fi in public area only. Unfortunately we didn't diving at that time because our minimum budget. It is close to all the bars and restaurants although if you want a stretch of quiet beach or a more chilled out drink you won't have to walk far either.

Only 1 bad thing when we stay there, we aren't not confidence with the lights because we don't know whether there are bed bugs under our bed. After this traveling we found our backs, legs, and arms itch very much with many small bump :(

Room Tip: If you get a room close to the public area, maybe you'll find a little bit wifi on your room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewi_bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Learning to dive with Big Bubble was an amazing experience. For starters, the organisation of the course was great: I emailed Big Bubble a few days before arriving, so that the day after arriving in Gili T I found myself in the ocean on an Open Water course. After this, I took an Advanced Open Water course, with the instructors advising me the best optional modules to take with regards to my aims. The professional nature of the qualified instructors went a long way to making my dive experience in Gili T a comfortable and safe one.

I travelled to Gili Trawangan with the intent of volunteering for the Gili Eco Trust, with which Big Bubble works closely. For this reason I was instantly made aware of the ecological and conservation work Big Bubble is involved with, with it's contribution to the BioRocks- artificial reefs that can be found off shore in front of Big Bubble- as well as being one of the only places surrounding the harbour not to have extended its building onto the beach, preferring to plant trees there, as a barrier to coastal erosion.

Further to this, one other thing to note about the staff at Big Bubble is the overwhelming hospitability. It is hard to spend a minute here in which you don't see someone smiling. The dive instructors and dive guides are full of jokes, as are the receptionists and kitchen staff. I spent 3 months volunteering on the island, diving from Big Bubble, and not once was I made to feel unwelcome amongst the staff and guests here. There are many people at Big Bubble, from staff to dive instructors to other customers and guests, that I would now consider good friends.

Its location is central to the night-life of the island, with the night market only a minute away, and many other restaurants and bars on the doorstep.

I look forward to coming back to Indonesia next year, to see everyone at Big Bubble and go diving again. I had an amazing time and met some great people that I really miss!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Me and my daugther took our Open Water certificates here. Fantastic instructors and a very friendly atmosphere. We stayed at another homestay but spent a lot of time in BB's facilities. If ever on Gili T - GO THERE.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My friends and I spent a night at Big Bubble. The staff were friendly and the room was good, clean and good value for money. I loved the outside bed we had on our patio. The location is superb, just across from the ocean. It was also central to everything without being over crowded. A good place to crash for the night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Big Bubble is mostly dive focused centre with bungalows to rent. The bungalows are very simple and have seen their days (especially the bathroom). The patio in front of the bungalow is a nice touch but besides that not a lot of creativity to make the stay comfortable. Caution required on slick floor tiles which get very slippery when wet.
On a positive side the service is good, the staff is very accommodating. Whatever requested - additional fan, change of reservation - was provided without a question. The dive centre seemed to be also very professionally run and popular. The bungalows are better suited for friends/couples who want to be in the middle of Trawangan action and bungalow is needed just for sleeping, less so for families. Yes, the area is a little noisy in evenings but Big Bubble did clearly warn about this when making the booking therefore no complaints.
Stars given reflects purely bungalow quality, I am sure the dive centre deserves more credit (did not take).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.2 mi away
Rust Mimpi Manis Bungalows
Rust Mimpi Manis Bungalows
#47 of 60 in Gili Meno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meno Mojo Beach Resort
Meno Mojo Beach Resort
#41 of 60 in Gili Meno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Bungalows
Tropicana Bungalows
#17 of 26 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Two Brothers Bungalows
Two Brothers Bungalows
#3 of 60 in Gili Meno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Hideaways Resort
Tropical Hideaways Resort
#4 of 60 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cha Cha Bungalows
Cha Cha Bungalows
#26 of 60 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bubble Dive Official? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bubble Dive Official

Property: Big Bubble Dive Official
Address: Gili Trawangan Beach, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE AS BIG BUBBLE NO LONGER HAS BUNGALOWS, WE HAVE A NEW TRIPADVISOR PAGE UNDER 'Big Bubble Dive'. At Big Bubble, we are very proud of the fact that we have been in Gili Trawangan since July 2001, making us one of the longest running dive centres on this island. We are situated down on the beach near the turtle sanctuary in a hotel called Dejavu. We have been given an award from PADI for "Outstanding services" as a dive shop for over ten years and are a PADI 5 Star Centre. We are also members of the Gili Island Diving Association (GIDA) which was set up by the owner of Big Bubble to help maintain the high level of standards and safety whilst diving in all shops that are members of GIDA. Big Bubble offers a very high level of service for both fun dives and courses, using brand new equipment and guaranteeing small groups for our divers, as well as a fun and professional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Bubble Dive And Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Big Bubble Dive Official Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing