We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pondok Santi Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Rødovre
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The most beautiful scene in gili T. Huge grass field with rows of big coconut palms. Very nice and helpfull staff :)
Climbed the coconut palms everyday, for fresh drinks :)
Pondok santi has their own boat wich is the nicest boat in gili. Beautiful sunset cruise araund the islands.
Not a finger to put on anything. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Mark,
Thank you for your glowing review of Pondok Santi.
It was a pleasure to share our paradise with you. Glad you enjoyed and appreciated the coconuts…they don't come fresher than that do they!

Best Wishes to you both.
from Georgie Baz and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
243
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lovely place to stay, its been nearly 1 year we got married on the boot that they hire and wouldn't think of anywhere else I would rather get married. Fantastic couple that run the hotel very friendly. And thanks to Won that had organised the hole wedding in 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you Sarah, for your comments. Happy Anniversary!
We are very happy it worked so well for you to be married on The Princess Margaux.

Best Wishes
Georgie and Baz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Being a retired 5 star Hotel General Manager you could say I'm particular. Pondok Santi exceeded all my expectaions and the staff in particular are very friendly,yet not obtrusive. This peaceful spot (on what is known as a party island) is an oasis of quiet and tranquility surrounded by over 200 coconut trees and rolling green lawns - a very private estate. Security is good, the property is well maintained and a very high degree of housekeeping is evident. Breakfast is 5 star all the way. A tip, there are no meals outside of breakfast, but plenty of options only a stroll away.Please tick 'helpful vote' if you feel my unbiased review is helpful - thank you.

Room Tip: all the Bungalows (there are only 6) are first class. Rent the resort's bicycles for a day or tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello Kind Guest,
Thank you SO much for your honest review….from an ex Hotel General Manager it was even more important to us. As you know my husband and I are away in Costa Rica on holiday and this is the first time we have left Pondok Santi alone. The staff ( who are our best friends also) were afraid of being alone, but we had utmost confidence in their ability to run the place as they always have when we have been there, you heart warming reviewed confirmed this for us.I will certainly pass your review on for them to read.
We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our piece of paradise on Gili T.Glad you enjoyed the breakfasts also….after a week of being here and staying in similar places we think Pondok Santi breakfasts are good also and looking forward to returning to one of Sonya's fruit platters!
Sabit and the house keeping team do there utmost to see to the guests requirements and there is no better compliment than " beyond our expectations".
Thank you again and maybe with the direct flights to Lombok we may see you again at Pondok Santi.
Best Wishes from
Georgie and Baz and All the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

If you want to go to Gili Trawangan, stay at Pondok Santi! I stayed there for a week, and I would have loved to stay more days!
The 6 wooden bungalows are built in a huge (and perfect) garden: everything is so clean, the towels smell good, the bed is comfortable, the private garden-bathroom is amazing, everything is created to preserve the natural beauty of the nature.
The service is perfect too, the staff is so kind, the managers help you for any kind of issue (we had to change our plans because the speedboats were cancelled, and they fixed an alternative journey for us).
The breakfast is amazing.
Last, but not least, the location is great: it's just 5mins walking from restaurants and bars, so that you can enjoy a peaceful environment when you need, but you can also go partying when you want.
There is a private beach (nice and clean), no swimming pool (luckily).
We enjoyed so much, and we are already planning to go again :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paolaxve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello Paola,
Thank you for finding the time to write a review for Pondok Santi.It is always a pleasure to share our little patch of paradise with guests who enjoy it the same as we do.
The staff put their heart and soul into making the guests holiday memorable so thank you also for mentioning them.
I am glad you got away OK…it can be stressful when things like Fast Boats stop running!
Best wishes to you both and thank you for coming to Pondok Santi.
Georgie Baz and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Pondok Santi is without a doubt the best place to stay on Gili Trawangan. We spent 7 days there after 5 days on Gili Air, which in January (with clouds and storm) was way too quiet for us (think empty restaurants, of which there aren't even many).

As Georgie (the host) said after, Pondok Santi rescued us! To start with, I always think it's the people that make a place, and the staff there are just amazing. The staff are like a family, and as soon as you arrive you become part of it.

Two other guests staying there threw the staff a little party as they'd been there so long and wanted to say thanks. One of the girls who worked there cooked AMAZING curry and corn cakes (the best we had on our trip by far) and the boys got out their drums and we all danced and sang. It was an amazing experience we won't forget. (Thank you guys!)

Aside from that the bungalows are set in beautifully kept green areas filled with tall trees, with hammocks dotted around. Apparently they are due to install a swimming pool, but it won't spoil the bungalow view as the green space of the estate is massive and it will be built in another area.

The bungalows inside are super-clean and have big comfortable beds, nice sheets and good mosquito nets. There's good air con, a ceiling fan and a TV with dvds, and a safe that's big enough for a laptop.

The bathroom in our bungalow (no 5) looked brand new. It's outdoors and stylishly done with a strong rainfall shower with hot fresh water (apparently not a given on the Gilis).

One of the highlights for us was the beach. They have a private beach out the front that's cleaned every day with white sand and blue water. It's lovely and quiet and much nicer than any other bits of beach we saw. You can also watch the sunset there, although bad weather meant we only got half of one our whole stay.

Oh and another major plus is the location. It's 5 mins walk from the main strip, which in quiet January meant we didn't feel cut off. Walking up the west coast there were a few hotels we had looked at that were spookily empty and you'd have a long, dark walk to any restaurants!

In conclusion, this place is like an bit of paradise on Gili T (which can be a bit rough around the edges), made excellent by it's wonderful staff.

Thank you Georgie, Baz and all the team!

Nancy x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi Nancy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a graphic report of your stay.I was smiling as I read it remembering all the fun we had…thanks for being keen participants in everything!
We were pleased you left the island so relaxed and with such happy memories.
Thank you for the compliments about the staff. They try so hard to make everyones holiday a special one.
You are right, we are in a very good location with a lovely beach, glad you enjoyed it so much.
Best wishes to you and Enzo and good luck with the wedding plans. We would all love to have you again sometime at Pondok Santi!
Georgie Baz and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

every people i met said that Pondok Santi is a little bit far from the Gili Trawangan Harbour - for me pondok Santi is just a couple minute away from the hustle of Gili Trawangan which is perfect for me. When I stepped in the area- i feel completely in the different circumstances of Gili Trawangan that I've been seen from Harbour to here; grass are green, with coconut tree form a neat row - and birdsong - hammock - cabana.
They only have 6 cottages- the room interior was simple but sufficient - however I would prefer a brighter light.
They have a beautiful beach, again cabana, and hammock, with beautiful view of layering hills across the beach. They provide canoe, and surfing board for free.
They help you anything you need for your activity, renting a bicycle, calling cidomo, transport, etc.
In the morning I asked to have my breakfast in the verandah, and it was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upiafifuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you and your beautiful daughter with us.I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return again one day.

Best Wishes to you both,
Georgie Baz and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

everything was just perfect, great bungalow with all comfort, amazing outdoor bathroom, very quiet location, the best beach on the island, easy to walk within max 10 minutes to the main strip. the hosts are so welcoming and helpful, the complete staff give you the feeling you are at home, prepare your omlette the way you like it plus fresh juices! forget all your worries about the speed boat travel (we had the same worries) the professional boat providers are safe, with many staff on board, have your medicine with you in case of more wind - but the boat and trip is no problem, relax!!! we will for sure be back for pondok santi on gili t!

Room Tip: all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Hello Boys,
Thank you for your review. We feel honoured to have cafe owners all the way from Berlin staying at Pondok Santi. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfasts and juices on the beach and i will pass on your compliments to the staff.
thank you very much.
Best Wishes
From Georgie Baz and all the Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,696 reviews
0.2 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Santi Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Santi Estate

Property: Pondok Santi Estate
Address: Pemanang, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Santi Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Santi Estate is the ultimate getaway retreat featuring ten beautiful bungalows set in lawned grounds on an ancient coconut plantation. Each traditional bungalow has a beautiful open-air bathroom, safe, air conditioner, mini bar, fan, lovely front terrace and day bed overlooking the manicured grounds. Private Pool Bungalows also include their own plunge pools, sun lounges and king size outdoor daybed. There are 10 beruga palm-thatched day beds in the grounds and along our private beach, which are the perfect place to chill out, sleep or read. During the day, get together around the large 25m central pool where snacks and cold drinks can be ordered, listen to music or just relax on the sun lounges. The resort offers a boutique restaurant, which is open for lunch and dinner while the main beachfront strip starts just 400m away with dive shops, restaurants, and beach bars, so you're never short of somewhere to eat. Cooling white stone paths link the areas of the estate, and coconut palms provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. In fact, everything has been designed to make sure your stay is comfortable and hassle-free. The island, with its coral reefs, is a favorite destination for divers, and one of the best dive spots is right outside Pondok Santi. There are plenty of dive shops on the beachfront where you can hire equipment, and arrange a boat trip. You don't need a boat for snorkelling as there's plenty of colorful coral and marine life to discover from the beachfront, including turtles, clown fish and many more! If surfing is your thing Pondok Santi is the perfect place, with a surf break right off the beach. For a couple of hours either side of high tide, you can paddle out and enjoy the waves. Most days and evenings 'Princess Margaux', the resorts luxurious traditional outrigger is available for sunset and snorkeling cruises, the boat can also be hired privately for island hopping adventures throughout the day. The island also offers riding and kayaking, and there are numerous spas on the island, where you can enjoy facials, massage and other beauty treatments. Lombok is just 20 minutes way by boat - a great destination for a game of golf, exploring the markets or a hike up Mt Rinjani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pondok Santi Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Santi Estate Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing