We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pondok Santi Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

On a recent trip to Indonesia in September, my partner and I were absolutely blown away by our experience at Pondok Santi on Gili T. After a week of Bali and Lombok, we kicked back and soaked in the tropical atmosphere for 3 nights at Pondok Santi.

The main strip in Gili T is flooded with backpackers, Touters, horse carts and Indonesia chaos. Just around the southern end of the island, a mere 10 minute stroll from the hustle and bustle, is the very private, very peaceful, retreat of Pondok Santi. Private bungalows amongst everything the tropics is about- coconut palms, hammocks, couches in outdoor huts, and beautiful plants and flowers. The grounds are huge, and the 6 bungalows spotted along the path are private and spacious.

The managers and staff at Pondok Santi were very considerate, and were a pleasure to deal with. This was the highlight of our trip, and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Gili T! Don't miss out on this- a unique treasure in paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hi Laura,
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Pondok Santi. Great to have another kiwi on board.
I hope we see you again sometime.
Best Wishes
Georgie Baz and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 417 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Pondok Santi in September after an extremely hectic week in Bali getting married. We were quite exhausted by the time we got to the Gili Islands after a lengthy boat ride, but once we arrived at Pondok Santi after our horse and cart ride we were able to start relaxing.

We stayed in bungalow 3 which was a great room with a beautiful outdoor shower and very quiet. After our first night we were offered breakfast in our bungalow on the verandah which we did almost every day - - just delightful! The staff are incredibly friendly here and breakfast was a treat, with fresh fruit juices, large fruit plates, eggs however you like and the tastiest pancakes all on the menu.

You can walk to town from Pondok however the best way to see the island is to hire bikes which can be organised for you - recommended trips are out to the Sunset point, around the island and into the centre away from the tourist strip to see how the locals live.

Finally we'd like to say a massive thanks again to the managers of this fabulous property - Georgie and Baz. Unfortunately my partner got food poisoning on the final night we were in Gili T and we had to move our flights home to Australia. This would usually be quite difficult when staying on a remote island however Georgie and Baz opened their work office to me to use for hours, to make sure that I had whatever I needed to sort my travel arrangements. Their consideration for us in this stressful time was more than we could have asked for, and shows the truly genuine interest they have for their guests.

We loved staying here, this would be the only property we would stay in Gili T if ever returning to this corner of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hello happy Honeymooners.Knowing how busy you would be when you got home I was not expecting such a prompt review ...thank you so much.I do hope your "husband" has recovered and you got home safely and no hold ups with APEC.It was the least we could do to help you out with changing flights etc.I was very impressed at how calm you were! I bet you were exhausted at work on Monday.
Thank you again and all the best for a long and happy life together.
Georgie Baz and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a three week tour, and fell in love with the place.

Arrival: we were dropped off by our horse and cart, the only transport on the island, and were greeted by a member of staff literally running to take our bags with a huge smile. We were then escorted to the reception area, where Georgie, the host with the most, greeted us by name. We felt incredibly welcome.

Rooms: there are 6 bungalows and they are immaculately clean. They're gorgeous, and full of character...much more enticing than a plain room at a big hotel chain. The bathroom is in a gorgeous garden outside, and so perfectly kept. There is a mini bar for a mid afternoon beer and a flask by the day bed on the veranda, topped up with hot water in the morning for an early coffee.

Breakfast: this can be eaten on your veranda or at the long dining table. Sometimes sitting with strangers isn't great in the morning over breakfast, but Georgie introduces everyone by name, and we actually really enjoyed chatting as the atmosphere was so informal. The food is delicious...I would recommend tomatoes on toast. Not sure what they did to them, but they were delicious.

Location: Gili T is lively (relatively speaking). Pondok Santi is within walking distance to the bars etc, and it's a nice walk, but equally when you have had enough, it is a safe distance from the gap year-ers partying. It is very quiet. There is a postcard perfect stretch of private beach opposite the bungalows, complete with swing hammocks and ample sun loungers. Fluffy beach towels are provided in your garden bathroom.

Staff: they were faultless. Polite, charming and smiley, and sincerely so. Also, they seemed to adore working with Georgie and Baz, Georgie's husband.

Grounds: the grounds are huge, and the grass is in better condition than Lords. The staff take huge pride in the gardens, which are easily the best kept on the island, from what I could see. If there are leaves ruining the grass, they will be raked away. There are also two swings from the palm trees, which were a lovely feature for both adults and children.

Leaving: we couldn't face sorting out our onward boat trip the night before we left. We mentioned this to ever efficient Georgie and Baz at breakfast on the last morning, and within minutes they had booked our horse, boat and taxi at the other end, which was very very helpful and reasonably priced.

All in all, we just loved everything about it and can't wait to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaS470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Hello Victoria,
Thank you so much for your prompt and glowing review. It was so "hot of the press" it felt like you were still here.I am sitting at my little table having my morning coffee and almost expect to see you smiling faces walking up the path! I have read the review to the morning staff and it has made them all very happy and I will translate it and send it to the staff room so the gardeners know you all appreciate the gardens so much, and the beach which is a challenge for them to keep it to the standard we like.Thank you for the compliments about the bungalows...we just added a rather nice little chair to them all yesterday, creating a little more comfort for guests.
We really do hope you can come again sometime so we can have another sunset cruise and fun together.
Best Wishes to you both
From Georgie Baz and ALL the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from three nights at Pondok Santi. It is a small place with 6 cabins surrounded by coconut palms. The cleanliness of the place was unbelievable! Our cabin was cleaned at least three times a day as the staff were worried about leaves blowing into the open air bathroom. The staff were really friendly and Georgie and Baz were gracious hosts, sharing stories over breakfast. It is about a 5 minute walk to the main part of town or even quicker if you hired bikes, like we did. The staff are happy to help with any arrangements for day trips or transport. If you are around at about 4 o'clock in the afternoon, the complimentary snacks are perfect for tiding you over until dinner. It is the perfect place for couples who want a peaceful nights sleep and a place to lounge surrounded by a beautiful plantation. I thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: There are only a few and they all face the same way, so you can't get a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello Charlotte G,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.It is always appreciated as I know how busy life gets out there in the "other world!"
Your comments on the boys made me laugh...you are so right...they are most unhappy if your garden bathrooms have any form of foliage blow in from the trees and as you know we have had strong winds this month and guests like your self would totally understand the difficulties of keeping such open air bungalows spotless in such extreme wind, however they continue to sweep..bless them! Glad you enjoy the complimentary platter...nice to enjoy a late afternoon nibble .
Thank you for your visit....we have had a very busy season and been blessed again with delightful guests!
Kind regards
Georgie Baz and the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We absolutely loved staying here. The staff were all incredibly friendly - it had the most informal atmosphere of all the places we stayed during our honeymoon to Bali and the Gili Islands and it was all the better for it. The managers Georgie and Baz are incredibly nice and warm people and really made us welcome straight away. The house keeping team (with a special shout out for Harry, Sabit, Wadi and Musaha who taught us some indonesian!) were also brilliant.

Pondok Santi is quite an unusual place in that it is set in very large grounds and had just six villas and no swimming pool or spa or anything like that. But this actually makes it much more relaxing and homely because it enables you to take in the beautiful surroundings in peace. It was definitely the most relaxing of all the places we stayed and we were very sad to leave. The location is brilliant because it is a little out of the centre of Gili T which we didnt like so much, and had a lovely private beach area which is beautiful. It is also close to the lovely sunset bar and our two favourite restaurants (Kokomo and Pearl Beach Lounge) there.

We would strongly recommend Pondok Santi and would love to return again ourselves some day.

Room Tip: We were in Villa Number 2 which was in a perfect position as it was one of the furthest from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Hello Charlotte, Thank you for your prompt review. It was lovely having you both here sharing our little piece of paradise. It is so warming to read reviews of happy travelers who join us with no expectations and leave relaxed and happy. And well done on your Indonesian!.... and thanks for mentioning the boys names on TA...I try to print out and pass on all compliments to the staff as they play such an important part in helping to make the guests enjoy their Pondok Santi experience.
I am sure it will put a big smile on their faces.
Best Wishes from
Georgie Baz,
Sabit, Hari, Wadi Toni and I am sure the other 12 as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the moment you find this place either online or off the street you feel relaxed. Having spent a week in Bali's hustle and bustle for the very first time and even though all holidays take away the stresses of work - I finally felt relaxed when I arrived at Pondok Santi. Whether it was the peacefulness of the place once we walked through the front 'reception', the warm welcome we received from Georgie and the staff, the various day beds dotted throughout the magnificently manicured grounds and on the private beach or just the serene quietness, we are not sure which one it was but all combined you can not help but feel relaxed. In our eyes nothing can fault this place, even when we had no hot water (which in the heat was no big deal really) it just showed how remote the island is and how uncommercial as there is no Bunnings just down the road! One of the highlights is going to breakfast Breakfast in itself is a talking point) where all the guests (12 in max) can sit at the one table which is good to get other people's tips on where to go and where not to. Georgie and Baz are the perfect hosts and it is fair to say that Pondok Santi is the place is the place I go on a hectic busy work day when I close my eyes. This is a must do on anyone's bucket list.
Tina and Sue - Melbourne, Australia (travelled late August 2013)

Room Tip: Oops no swimming pool - clicked by mistake. Terrible is not a word that comes to mind when thinking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello Tim and Sue,
Thank you so much for your review and being such easy relaxed guests, even when the hot water califont gave us grief .....Oh to have a "Bunnings" down the road. !That really made us laugh because there is a funny little shop in the village that sells wire and rope, a screwdriver and cement and Baz always says he is off down to Mitre 10 to get whatever....in his dreams!!
So glad you enjoyed Gili Trawangan also. I know it was your first trip to Indonesia so it was important to us all at Pondok Santi that you had a memorable holiday.
We hope we see you again one day.
Best wishes from
Georgie Baz and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Pondok Santi at the end of August 2013 and we loved everything about it. Getting there was easy once you find a cimodo (horse buggy) that drops you off at the front gate. Walking back and forth to the main strip is easy and safe (less than a lovely 10 minute walk to the Komoko or Pearl - recommend both of those places for food) and extremely beautiful at night with the stars. In fact one of the things we loved most about the Pondok is that it was far enough away from the main strip and that we had a private beach where we could avoid the masses. That said, they did rent bikes for us which made getting around the island even easier. The property itself is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The breakfast was amazing and the staff was incredibly friendly although we usually preferred to have breakfast at our room as it allowed us to get ready for the day. The room is wonderful and the outdoor shower is a nice a touch. The beds could be slightly more comfortable but they weren't bad either. Be sure to use your mosquito netting. A pool would also be neat as swimming in the ocean on the island isn't the easiest (low tide and lots of coral) but there's a salt water pool at the Pearl hotel which we used one day. Overall, it wasn't too necessary as we soon discovered that we would rather hang out on the private Pondok beach than poolside. (Side note: if you do want to get into the ocean for snorkeling or swimming anywhere on the island, I recommend you do so in the morning - the earlier, the better!)

One of the most memorable moments for us during our stay was going on the sunset cruise that they organize for you. The boat is beautiful and the view of the sunset is unbelievable. We also got to snorkel off the coast of Gili Meno which a major highlight. On top of it all, it was only the two of us on the boat the entire time which was incredibly peaceful and romantic.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend the Pondok. The staff, especially Georgie and Baz, were extremely kind, the premise is gorgeous and it was the experience of a lifetime. By far the nicest and most private spot on the entire island! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalina718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi Catalina,
We really appreciated you taking time to write a review.
It is always so good to hear back from guests about how they enjoyed their holiday. You were beach lovers and you may be interested to hear that Sabit( Housekeeping Supervisor) has instigated the building of a bamboo pagoda ,draped in mossie nets under the trees at one end of the beach ...not quite finished yet but it will be a beautiful romantic spot for breakfasts or takeaway pizza in the evenings, or just to hang out in during the day. We love the beach also, at all tides it has its own beauty.
Thank you for coming to the other side of the world and finding Pondok Santi!
Best wishes to you both.
From us all at Pondok Santi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
1,883 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
569 reviews
8.1 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
#1 of 175 in Gili Trawangan
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Santi Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Santi Estate

Address: Pemanang, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $137 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Santi Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Santi Estate is the ultimate getaway retreat featuring twelve beautiful bungalows set in lawned grounds on an ancient coconut plantation. Each traditional bungalow has a beautiful open-air bathroom, safe, air conditioner, mini bar, fan, lovely front terrace and day bed overlooking the manicured grounds. Private Pool Bungalows also include their own plunge pools, sun lounges and king size outdoor daybed. There are several day beds around the pool, on our beach and on the grounds, which are the perfect place to chill out, sleep or read. During the day, get together around the large 25m central pool where snacks and cold drinks can be ordered, listen to music or just relax on the sun lounges. The resort offers a boutique restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner while the main beachfront strip starts just 400m away with dive shops, restaurants, and beach bars, so you're never short of somewhere to eat. Cooling white stone paths link the areas of the estate, and coconut palms provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. In fact, everything has been designed to make sure your stay is comfortable and hassle-free. The island, with its coral reefs, is a favorite destination for divers, and one of the best dive spots is right outside Pondok Santi. There are plenty of dive shops on the beachfront where you can hire equipment, and arrange a boat trip. You don't need a boat for snorkelling as there's plenty of colorful coral and marine life to discover from the beachfront, including turtles, clown fish and many more! If surfing is your thing Pondok Santi is the perfect place, with a surf break right off the beach. For a couple of hours either side of high tide, you can paddle out and enjoy the waves. Most days and evenings 'Princess Margaux', the resorts luxurious traditional outrigger is available for sunset and snorkeling cruises, the boat can also be hired privately for island hopping adventures throughout the day. The island also offers riding and kayaking, and there are numerous spas on the island, where you can enjoy facials, massage and other beauty treatments. Lombok is just 20 minutes way by boat - a great destination for a game of golf, exploring the markets or a hike up Mt Rinjani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Pondok Santi Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Santi Estate Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing