We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing Pondok Santi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pondok Santi Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Missing Pondok Santi”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pondok Santi is situated in what I believe is the best part of Gili Trawangan. A super short bike ride north is a great spot for snorkeling, SUP hire, surfing, then you reach some great restaurants just a little further north. A short bike ride south is the best location to watch the sunset over Mount Agung (Bali). Gili Trawangan is a very short boat ride away from Lombok. My little family of three enjoyed the boat trip on the Princess Margaux to Teluk Nara.

The huts are nice and comfortable, I especially like the outdoor bathroom.

Thanks Georgie, Baz and all of the staff at Pondok Santi. Cheers for joining us in a game of volleyball, thank you for the delicious breakfasts, papaya and orange juices.

I miss Pondok Santi on wonderful Gili Trawangan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueswimmercrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for finding time to write a review. We really do appreciate your effort as we know how busy you all become when you return home.
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Pondok Santi and you returned home with happy honeymoon memories.
Best wishes from
Georgie Baz and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    27
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
254
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights at one of the 6 bungalows at pondok santi as part of our honeymoon, loved it so much we ended up stayed for 7 nights.
Stayed in 3 out of the 6 bungalows and each one is as lovely as the next. All the same with only very minor differences.
There isn't a restaurant or pool on site but the complimentary breakfast (highly recommend the omelette and pineapple juice and the Lombok coffee) and amazing staff more than make up for it. There are so many great restaurants and pools to use close by not to mention the beach directly across the road with hammocks and huts to relax in.
I can't recommend this place enough, it was the absolute highlight of our 3 weeks in Indonesia. We will be back for sure.
Thank you Baz, Georgie and all the staff!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyfrank25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Amy,
Thank so much for your review.....I started to laugh when you reminded me how you kept extending your stay and happily hopped from one bungalow to another.... ...what a great group of honeymooners that week (3)...you left the place all loved up. And the awesome sunset cruises with every one swimming and fooling around what a lot of laughs.
The staff also enjoyed your company, such relaxed cruisey guests. Thank you for coming to stay and look forward to seeing you next year when you come for your friends wedding.
Best wishes from
Baz Georgie and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The highlight of our honeymoon was our 3 nights at Pondok Santi. We were able to completely relax and just lounge around the property on various hammocks and day beds, soaking up the beautiful views and sunshine and enjoying the peace and quiet. Close enough to the main restaurants and shops on Gili T that you can walk to dinner, but far enough away from the noise and activity that you can believe you are in your own little world. The villas are perfect, from the wide front balcony with day bed, to the spacious bedroom with thoughtfully provided DVD collection, to the open air bathroom - a surprisingly addictive setup. Georgie and Baz (managers) were welcoming and full of information about the area and the staff are lovely and never intrusive. I can't recommend this accommodation highly enough. My husband and I are already discussing our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemRus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi G and W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and add the super dopa photos!
Great to have part of "the team" here. Glad you were able to relax and refuel on the last leg of your journey.
Great to meet you both.
Best wishes from
Georgie Baz and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This would easily rate as one of the best properties I've stayed in. Me and my wife stayed at Gili Islands for 2 nights, and there was no better choice than Pondok Santi, going by the reviews.....and Bingo! Every word of it was true.
This is a truly enchanting, peaceful, huge yet immaculately maintained property on the biggest of the 3 Gilis. Situated only a couple of minutes away from the "nerve centre" (so to say) of Gili Trawangan, it's got only 6 fully equipped cottages on a sprawling estate. There are two great aspects about the cottages: the tranquility of the environment and ironically, the roar of the sea!
They also have a private beach just across the estate, loaded with recliners. The beach is clean and a great place to chillax though not ideally suited for a dip-in-the-sea. The best part is the service, which is extremely efficient - prompt and responsive. The outdoor shower concept is innovative and amazing (only to the discerning ;)). This property and indeed the entire island is representative of a true island living - a relaxed pace of life amongst nature and clean, green air. It was a treat to wake up each morning amongst the sound of birds and stunning views on this property.
Gili itself is a great place to relax. Motorised vehicles are not allowed on the islands and it's so small that you can cover the entire stretch within an hour and a half on a bicycle (the preferred medium of transport). You will also find some of the best seafood on this island, don't miss it.
Thank you Pondok Santi and Gili for a truly memorable experience.
We shall be back soon!
Nidhi & Debayan
India

Room Tip: Room No 6 is the most isolated of the lot. It is also the closest to the beach and the pathway leadi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebayanBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello Lovely Honeymooners,
Thank you for taking the time to write such an accurate review!
I am so pleased you enjoyed all our wee island and Pondok Santi had to offer especially as you travelled so far....all the way from India.
Also glad you enjoyed our beach scene with the new hammocks and Baruga day bed there.
It has been a busy place lately!
I hope you had safe trip home and all the best from us all at Pondok Santi.
Georgie Baz and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April and had a marvellous time. Santi is about 50 metres down the road from the closest resorts or restaurants and several hundred metres from the beginning of 'the strip' - not too far to be isolating, but enough to escape the chaos and notice down the road. The hectares of trees and quiet beach are so serene.

The rooms are beautiful but can be quite dark (I.e. not much natural light in the early mornings and late afternoon), although the day bed on the front of each porch is fantastic. Loved the outdoor showers and the fresh water!

The service was faultless and so friendly, we felt like VIPs. I did miss the lack of a pool but will be back in heartbeat anyway :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhylh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello Rhylh,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Glad you appreciated the out door showers and fresh water. You may be interested to hear we are about to replace bathroom walls so decided to push them out another 2 meters all round and fill with beautiful tropical gardens. They will be extremely spacious then.
Also I took on board about what you said about the rooms being a little dark. I wonder if you may have had our brand new roller blinds down as in the day time they would darken the room a little. Also I will get staff to pull up the outer bamboo blinds and see if that helps. You have to be able to find your things don't you!
I hope you and your sister enjoyed the rest of your stay in Bali.
Kind Regards,
Georgie Baz and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My two day visit to Gili Trawangan was a plan hatched on the spur of the moment during a trip to Bali in November 2012. I have to say this turned out to be an inspired decision. From the moment I wandered into Pondok Santi, I was enchanted by the whole atmosphere and experience of true Island living (with all the natural luxuries you could possibly need). For those with a spirit of adventure, or just seeking something that is a little different, but special. The sunset island cruise on Princess Margaux was truly memorable. A huge thank you to AJ and Nigel for looking after me so wonderfully. For those of you in any doubt if this is the place to visit...what are you waiting for? THE highlight of my 6 week tour of Asia & Indonesia. My only regret was not staying for longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Beth,
Thank you for your review.I am very pleased you enjoyed Pondok Santi and the Sunset Cruise, which is a fav of mine also. I am glad you had a good time with AJ and Nigel, they are heaps of fun. Also thank you for referring your friends who are with us now. We all had a great S/S cruise last night...they are so much fun also...love having them here.
Kind Regards,
Georgie Baz and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Pondok Santi is such a lovely place to stay ! Before we arrived Gili Trawangan we didnt know about this place anything. After short walk in the island we found Pondok Santi and no doubt we found a right place to stay. At first we booked a bungalow for 2 nights but after 2 days we were sure that we want to stay longer :-) Its fantastic to wake up in the morning and have a breakfast on a deck when birds are singing and enjoy a wonderful view. Bungalows room and a bathroom outside was really beautiful and staff so nice and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and there is not enough good words to say about Pondok Santi !! Thank you all for everything and hope to see you soon again :-)

Olavi & Eleri from Estonia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elerimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hello Olavi and Eleri,
It was lovely to get your very quick review, it felt like you we're still here! We are so glad you enjoyed Pondok Santi, the morning bird song and the breakfasts on the verandas are a nice way to start the day. Great to have our second lot of guests from Estonia ...and that you knew the first lot!,
Best wishes from ,
Georgie Baz and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,753 reviews
0.2 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
639 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#15 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Santi Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Santi Estate

Property: Pondok Santi Estate
Address: Pemanang, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 247 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Santi Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Santi Estate is the ultimate getaway retreat featuring twelve beautiful bungalows set in lawned grounds on an ancient coconut plantation. Each traditional bungalow has a beautiful open-air bathroom, safe, air conditioner, mini bar, fan, lovely front terrace and day bed overlooking the manicured grounds. Private Pool Bungalows also include their own plunge pools, sun lounges and king size outdoor daybed. There are several day beds around the pool, on our beach and on the grounds, which are the perfect place to chill out, sleep or read. During the day, get together around the large 25m central pool where snacks and cold drinks can be ordered, listen to music or just relax on the sun lounges. The resort offers a boutique restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner while the main beachfront strip starts just 400m away with dive shops, restaurants, and beach bars, so you're never short of somewhere to eat. Cooling white stone paths link the areas of the estate, and coconut palms provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. In fact, everything has been designed to make sure your stay is comfortable and hassle-free. The island, with its coral reefs, is a favorite destination for divers, and one of the best dive spots is right outside Pondok Santi. There are plenty of dive shops on the beachfront where you can hire equipment, and arrange a boat trip. You don't need a boat for snorkelling as there's plenty of colorful coral and marine life to discover from the beachfront, including turtles, clown fish and many more! If surfing is your thing Pondok Santi is the perfect place, with a surf break right off the beach. For a couple of hours either side of high tide, you can paddle out and enjoy the waves. Most days and evenings 'Princess Margaux', the resorts luxurious traditional outrigger is available for sunset and snorkeling cruises, the boat can also be hired privately for island hopping adventures throughout the day. The island also offers riding and kayaking, and there are numerous spas on the island, where you can enjoy facials, massage and other beauty treatments. Lombok is just 20 minutes way by boat - a great destination for a game of golf, exploring the markets or a hike up Mt Rinjani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pondok Santi Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Santi Estate Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing