We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pondok Santi Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was our first time to the Islands and Bali altogether and this place was the best we stayed at during our trip. The welcome drink was a mixed fruit juice so good that we kept having at least 2 times a day also the staff is friendly and always ALWAYS smiling. We also had a different experience from what other travellers have had as the kitchen roof was being renovated so breakfast at our veranda was the way to go (for those of you that are not keen to share your breakfast at the big table this might be an option), Pancakes are nothing else but yummy and the fruit was as fresh as it gets.

The place is far enough from the main strip to be quiet but not far enough to be a long way, walk or ride your bike to town and stop at the neighbor "The Trawangan" have a drink on one of the tree house style tables

Georgie and Baz are lovely and would do everything they can to make you feel home, the place is no nice we decided to extend our stay one more night and Georgie helped us organise our way out of the island in a blink of an eye without any stress. The hot water does run short a bit from time to time but seriously hot water when it is 32 degrees out and you are having a shower in your outside bathroom? and surprisingly enough water pressure is better than some places in main Bali. The beach is nice and the water is shallow even when the tide comes in but you can still walk or float your way to deeper waters about 50 meters from the beach line, wear water shoes as there is coral everywhere and this applies for many beaches in the island

Only little drawback was a division in the middle of the mattress that sometimes felt uncomfortable (sorry Georgie forgot to mention it when we were there as we were having a nice time)

If we ever go back sure will book our stay at Pondok Santi

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max5travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hello Gorgeous Miss Irish and Mr Hardcase Columbian, thank you for taking the time to write a review.It was lovely to have guests who enjoyed all Pondok Santi and the island had to offer, and not being disappointed about what was not offered! We are looking at getting a canoe and making a wee mooring buoy out by the reef, so next time you come you can have fun paddling out...and other guests have told me there are several turtles out there to be seen.
Thank you also for being so accommodating about the new alang alang roof going on the kitchen area. I was concerned for the guests as we were not at our picture perfect best and you made it easy for us. Thanks also for bringing bed issue to my attention, I am seeking advice from a friend who works in a 5 star resort about the singles, into double scenario. I am sure it is fixable. Also glad you liked the neighbours, the Trawanagn Resort Tree Huts, also one of our fav spots for a Mojito!
The Staff enjoyed your company also and we all thank you for your review.
Best wishes from Georgie Baz and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 410 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is located in a wonderful environment, with 6 gorgeous bungalows, a great staff and lovely managers. Very relaxing, the perfect retreat. The breakfast is prepared fresh.
We especially enjoyed the sunset cruise. We can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marga2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you Marga 2222 for taking the time to write a review. It means a lot to us all at Pondok Santi to hear how our guests have enjoyed their holiday. Glad you enjoyed the Sunset Cruise( it is one of my favorites also!) also glad you enjoyed the fresh fruit and breakfasts.
Hope we see you again one day!
Kind regards from Georgie Baz and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you stay at Pondok Santi, you are buying a dream! A wooden hut, coconut trees, beautiful beach, friendly staffs (i dont consider them staffs, they are my friends), lovely breakfast, peaceful, quite (but sometimes u might hear a gecko with his funny sounds), birds flying freely, bathroom outside your room, hammocks, beer bintang by the beach that is PERFECT!

Oh how i miss Pondok Santi and the TEAM.

We will DEFINATELY come back! 10days is not enough!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you Abby for your review written from your heart. It was a treat to have you both here. You certainly became a friend of everyone and thank you for the delicious meal you cooked for us all. Your smile was contagious and I laugh when I think of the fun and happiness you generated. The Staff will always remember you and hope you can return one day.
Love and Best wishes from Georgie and Baz and all your staff FRIENDS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been visiting the Gilli Islands for nearly 15 years, Gilli T being my favourite. The Island has changed over the years and the main stripe is like visiting Ibiza ! What a delight to find Pondok Santi located approx 330m from the downtown action. There are only 6 bungalows, which give the feeling of being in Indonesia and not a standard hotel anywhere.The bungalows are situated in a coconut plantation with 300m of beach frontage. The decor and comfort I enjoyed combined with the modern outdoor bathroom with fresh water which I preferred cold and invigorating in this hot climate.
The breakfast of freshly cut tropical fruit followed by a choice of eggs cooked as you like or the delicious freshly made banana pancake was looked forward to as was the company of the other guests sharing restaurant recommendations.
When not relaxing with a book in one of the outdoor barrugas(not spelt like this) and having a fresh watermelon juice delivered, the opportunity to go on a snorkelling trip or sunset cruise on the Princess Margaux which is a unique boat exclusively available to us guests was all part of the unique hospitality offered here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and stand alone, thrilled there was one available !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello Louiseqt, thank you for your review and compliments. We are happy that you enjoyed your Pondok Santi Experience, in our Indonesian styled bungalows. It is nice to go home feeling you have had a taste of " authentic Indonesian style".
We hope you will return as does our boat captain for some more laughter and fun on Princess !
It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Thank you from Georgie and Baz and all the staff who look forward to your yearly visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My Wife and I stayed for four days at the Pondok Santi Estate for our honeymoon. We read the reviews on tripadvisor and booked accordingly. What this hotel lacks in luxury it makes up for in friendliness of the manager and staff. The outdoor bathrooms were amazing though the hot water ran out very quickly, when it worked at all. The 14 staff were extremely nice though we felt they spent more time looking after the huge grounds than specifically making sure the guests were looked after. For two out of the four days we stayed the complimentary tea and coffee wasn't put out for us. We ended up eating breakfast outside of the hotel most of the time as the choice of only fruit and eggs was very limited. We also preferred the privacy of breakfast for two rather than sitting with all the other guests at the same table. For the high price tag of these huts we were surprised that they charged extra for another egg at breakfast! The rooms were always immaculately cleaned the towels fluffy and soaps nice smelling. The wooden blinds at night became see through so my wife had to change in the outdoor bathroom the whole time. Curtains needed perhaps? Power cuts were daily though we could hear the music from the other hotels which was strange. Unlike many other guests unfortunately we did not sleep well in the huts as the beds were hard and the pillows even harder. A thin sheet is provided which is adequate if no air conditioning is switched on but we froze when it was switched on! There was little to no hanging space in the huts which meant you are living out of a suitcase. I guess the disappointments were more obvious to us as we had been staying in similarly priced hotels in Bali (200 to 300 USD per night) which offered much more comfort and personal service than Pondok Santi did. We were surprised to have to rent bikes to get around the island when for some reason we thought the hotel would provide them...it would have been a nice touch? Their private beach is amazing, though on our first day we went around it picking up the litter. Also, it is not possible to swim on this beach as it is a long stretch of coral. A plunge pool at Pondok Santi would be very welcome. There is no pool. As a new Kiwi owned and run hotel the managers do try hard to get things to work and to make the guests feel happy and comfortable. We believe that it won't be long before they get some better systems in place (such as electric showers and not battery operated ones) and perhaps dedicate a member of staff to each hut to make sure that all of the guests' needs are met. There are only six huts after all. On Gili Trawangan luxury hotels are springing up all over the place and the ones that are there offer pools, restaurants and many other creature comforts that you would expect at this price point. What you will not get from these other luxury hotels is a private beach and a hut with a beautiful outdoor bathroom. Overall... Gucci camping without the Gucci unfortunately.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie1903, General Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you Russell for your review and comments.We went straight to your bungalow and checked the hot water and found there to be no problem at all and plenty of it, so wished you had told us at the time and we could have helped you with it.
I have spoken with the house staff re your veranda tray and we have implemented a new routine to ensure this does not happen again.
We have 6 different choices on our breakfast menu, we are sorry you did not find something to suit or mention it to us as we would be happy to accommodate your needs and certainly there is NO charge for an extra egg if you require 3.
I have taken on board your comments about the curtains and will be dealing to that accordingly.
Oh there was a blanket folded in the top of your wardrobe, sorry you did not see that , we will be more diligent in our greeting and showing routine.
We have thought about renting bikes, but due to being small with only 6 bungalows and everyones needs different i.e. tall , short some want mountain bikes , some with child carriers it is impossible to satisfy everyones needs. We do give advice on where to rent them and how much you should pay and most guests enjoy the adventure of getting amongst the locals and finding their own wheels.
I am sorry you experienced low tides while you were here, that is beyond our control. We have been having lovely swims all this week in beautiful clear water at our beach.
However I am glad you enjoyed the frangipani love hearts the staff put on your bed to greet you and I have a lovely photo of you both at the big breakfast table enjoying a coconut drink one of our staff willingly climbed the coconut palm to get.I hope the antitoxins helped all your allergies.I will try my skills at getting the photo from my phone to the PSE Facebook for you!
Best wishes
from Georgie Baz and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A gorgeous property with wonderful attentive staff there to make your stay perfect. Sunset cruise on the amazing boat was an absolute treat. Out of the hustle and bustle but a 2 min ride to restaurants, market etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for your review Happy Kelly,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here .It is always a pleasure for us to watch guests relaxing and enjoying the sunset cruise and the swim from the boat in the beautiful clear reef water. the staff enjoyed your interaction and fun you had with them.
Thank you for coming over and sharing our paradise.
Georgie Baz and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

me, my partner and our little one year old stayed at pondok santi for 1 week - if only we could've stayed longer! it was the absolute dream of a holiday: georgie and baz as the best hosts, loveliest staff you can imagine (they love babies and sometimes i haven't seen my daughter for an hour to find her later with the gardener or office girl - lovely to have a bit of extra relaxing time ;-)). the staff is also happy to babysit if you fancy a romantic candlelight dinner with only your partner. pondok santi seems to attract a great mix of people which we really enjoyed talking to on the big breakfast table. the sunset cruises were absolutely divine with a few drinks and a glimpse of the other gilis and the sunset!
travelling as a family we found the location of pondok santi perfect, so nice and quiet you can't hear the noise of the nightlife from the busy stretch of the island however if you want to be in it, it's only a 5 minute bike ride away and the sunset bar is even closer.
thanks georgie and baz and all your amazing staff for making us feel so welcome and at home!!
we will be back!

Room Tip: there is only 6 bungalows, so book early, you don't wanna miss out. the bungalows are similar w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aline k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgie_Newton, Manager at Pondok Santi Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Hello and thank you for your review and compliments.
We ALL enjoyed having you with us so much. Little Saphira put joy into all our lives and it was fun to watch her being so loved by the staff, and that you enjoyed and appreciated your breaks.
We look forward to your return and more sunset cruises!
best wishes for your move into your new home.
Georgie, Baz and Pondok Santi staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
563 reviews
8.1 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
636 reviews
1.5 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
Ko-Ko-Mo Resort
#1 of 171 in Gili Trawangan
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Santi Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Santi Estate

Address: Pemanang, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $137 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Santi Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pondok Santi Estate is the ultimate getaway retreat featuring twelve beautiful bungalows set in lawned grounds on an ancient coconut plantation. Each traditional bungalow has a beautiful open-air bathroom, safe, air conditioner, mini bar, fan, lovely front terrace and day bed overlooking the manicured grounds. Private Pool Bungalows also include their own plunge pools, sun lounges and king size outdoor daybed. There are several day beds around the pool, on our beach and on the grounds, which are the perfect place to chill out, sleep or read. During the day, get together around the large 25m central pool where snacks and cold drinks can be ordered, listen to music or just relax on the sun lounges. The resort offers a boutique restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner while the main beachfront strip starts just 400m away with dive shops, restaurants, and beach bars, so you're never short of somewhere to eat. Cooling white stone paths link the areas of the estate, and coconut palms provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. In fact, everything has been designed to make sure your stay is comfortable and hassle-free. The island, with its coral reefs, is a favorite destination for divers, and one of the best dive spots is right outside Pondok Santi. There are plenty of dive shops on the beachfront where you can hire equipment, and arrange a boat trip. You don't need a boat for snorkelling as there's plenty of colorful coral and marine life to discover from the beachfront, including turtles, clown fish and many more! If surfing is your thing Pondok Santi is the perfect place, with a surf break right off the beach. For a couple of hours either side of high tide, you can paddle out and enjoy the waves. Most days and evenings 'Princess Margaux', the resorts luxurious traditional outrigger is available for sunset and snorkeling cruises, the boat can also be hired privately for island hopping adventures throughout the day. The island also offers riding and kayaking, and there are numerous spas on the island, where you can enjoy facials, massage and other beauty treatments. Lombok is just 20 minutes way by boat - a great destination for a game of golf, exploring the markets or a hike up Mt Rinjani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pondok Santi Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Santi Estate Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing