We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff is great but better room and location can be found for same price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bale Sampan Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 144 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Staff is great but better room and location can be found for same price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

I really wanted to love this place, but I left feeling it was just ok. I want to rate it a 3 1/2 star. If not for the staff, I'd probably give it a 2 1/2.
PROS:
-Very friendly staff - they remembered my name, always asked how I was, and were quick to respond to any request. They can arrange a bike or snorkel rental, and were always smiling. I enjoyed the breakfast options very much.
-Clean room
-Comfortable bed
- I liked the open air shower.
-Good snorkeling right off the beach.
CONS:
-The location is a bit far from the restaurants/bars - a 15-20 minute walk or 5-10 minute bike ride. At night, in the dark, this is a bit far coming back.
-There is very loud construction going on next door, so I was unable to find the calm and quiet I was seeking at the beach during the day (if I had, the distance to town at night wouldn't have bothered me as much).
-The staff from here and from the nearby hotels/restaurants also hang out at the beach during the day, and would be yelling back and forth to each other. I was really hoping to find calm and relaxation, but was unable to due to the noise
-A boat docks morning and late afternoon directly in front of the beach to bring fresh water - it has a loud motor and is disruptive if you're on the beach
- I booked a beachfront room, but the hotel is set so far back, you're really not right on the beach - I was hoping to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the view, but it was more of a pool view. Don't bother with the beachfront rooms - the others are better and more private. Everyone has to walk by the beachfront room to get to their room, so you have to keep the blinds shut at all times - no privacy.
- Beachfront Room faces East and curtains were inadquate to keep out sun in the morning
- A/C kept going out; one night at 2 am. The windows don't open so the room got very hot and sticky. They were able to resolve it, but frustrating nonetheless, especially in the middle of the night. It was unbelievably hot and humid so A/C really is a must.

In short, I was hoping for a more luxurious experience, with calm and quiet during the day, with convenience to the bars/restaurants at night. This wasn't terrible, but I didn't find what I was looking for.

I liked the island overall, and will be back, but next time will look at Kokomo or Villa Ombok, or something else on the South side of the island, where I did find quiet.. Also - found from talking to others that you can get a much better deal by just showing up than by booking in advance. I met a couple who got Kokomo for less than I had paid for Bale Sampan.

Tips: You can sit at the bar at the Irish place and order off the Sushi menu next door.. Beach House bbq was quite good; rent a bike to get around.. Pack light - it's crazy hot there - sundresses, tank tops, lightweight shorts, flip flops etc.. very casual! Villa Ombok spa was really nice - 2 1/2 hour treatment for $45!

Gili T is a very friendly place - easy to get around.. definitely go!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    154
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
57
193
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We booked our accommodation at Bale Sampan the day before we arrived when we were in Kuta and I have to say really did not know what to expect from accommodation in the Gili Isles as a lot of places looked pretty basic. It was a very pleasant surprise to find the rooms so well done out - far far better than what we had been staying in in Kuta where we paying well over twice the price. The rooms feel luxurious and the shower set up was amazing, very reminiscent of places I've stayed at in the Maldives where you would be paying ten times this price for this level of quality.

The site of the hotel is quite small but what you really appreciate is how good the location is - turn right out of the front of the hotel are you are 5 min walk from all the main restaurants and bars. I noticed that there were many other hotels further along to left but a lot of these were some distance along and whilst it doesn't sound much, in the heat that is further than you would comfortably want to walk. Obviously you can grab one of the horse/cart taxis but it would be a hassle every time. Also the beach straight out in front is in the middle of the prime sunbathing/swimming area so again it was very hassle free.

The way i would sum Bale Sampan is that it ticks all the right boxes in terms of comfort(with a little luxury feel) and location/price - i would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I don't normally write on these sites but I had to with this place as it really is a hidden gem. A truly magical place to stay. They have created a true haven at Bale Sampan, from the sheer design of the outdoor bathrooms (showering outside with blue skies above!) to the fresh morning breakfasts - we really did feel we had hit the jackpot. Bale Sampan definately ticked all our boxes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We visited Gili Trawangan for 8 nights over Christmas and New Year staing at Bale Sampan. As advertised, they are located on the quiet northeast end of the island. This top side is primarily occupied by hotels and restaurants with the primary bar exception being Horizontal, the only real up market bar on the island.

At Bale Sampan you have some of the best snorkling right outside your door, are within 10 minutes from several great restaurants and 20 minutes from the main area of pubs/bars on the south end of the island.

Activities we enjoyed included frisbee on the beach, diving, canoeing over to Gili Meno, playing cards, a bit of shopping, daily snorkling, great food at different restaurants for nearly every meal, a bit of partying and of course chilling out on the white sand beach.

The rooms have no television but with the great weather we had, we spent little time inside except to sleep. We had the occasional problem with plumbing which is very common on the island.

It must be said that while the location was perfect and the rooms more than adequate, what made the stay exceptoin was the service we received from the day manager Rudy. Always friendly and helpful, he gave great recommendations for restaurants suiting our desire de jour and gave that bit extra including having pizzas picked up for us on the last night when all we wanted was to enjoy quite time battling each other at cards in front of our bungalow.

We both agreed that our experience on Gili T represented one of the best island holidays either of us had ever enjoyed so much so, we're tempted to keep it a secret!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YankInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Great location, close enough to everything but not right in the middle of the action. Right across from the beach with sunchairs and loungers available for use. Rooms were large, clean, modern and well furnished. Staff were very friendly and hard-working, went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Breakfast was good, a real breakfast, not just fruit or toast. Excellent value for money, superior to many other rooms in the same price range that we looked at. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wh0leWideW0rlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

We travelled with another couple and stayed in the 2 beachfront bungalows. We booked direct through Bale Sampan and got a bungalow each for $60 per bungalow. The rooms were fantastic, with beautiful outdoor bathrooms. The staff were just AMAZING. Rudy, Mar and Atun looked after our every need, and cooked a wicked breakfast as well. The snorkeling was fantastic right out the front of the bungalows, and we spent a lot of time relaxing either by the beautiful pool or on the day beds on the beach. I cant recommend this place enough!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geckogirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Very nice and quiet small resort in front of the beach. The resort is within walking distance from the more animated places of Gili Trawangan.
We had 1 matrimonial and 1 double room : both were gorgeous, clean and comfortable.
The staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast is also very good.

One point to improve : not enough shadow on the part of the beach belonging to the hotel (but you can move a few meters further!)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romythanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Property: Bale Sampan Bungalows
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing