We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM Place @ Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Ranked #6 of 171 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed in Bale Sampan during our Summer Vacation in May / June 2013. This is the perfect place to have one’s summer vacations – sea, sand, beer & good food. We reached Gili T from Bali (travelled by Marina Srikandi III). Reached Gili T in the early afternoon. Took a horse cart (the only way to travel in the island) although Bale Sampan was walking distance to where the speed boat landed. Check in was swift and we were ushered into the our rooms. Our rooms were situated at the back of the ‘small’ property!

The property is located right across the road & beach. The beach across the road is clean however lots of coral! You can spend the entire day lounging in the ‘sun’ in Gili T. During the evening there are lots of eatery / warungs for all types of cuisines.

Rooms : ‘Smallish’ rooms but comfortable bed! A/c was working fine. Although the TV was small. Linen was clean & changed every day. The bathroom was outdoor & partially open. All rooms had a ‘verandah’.

Breakfast: Limited menu option for breakfast however it was VFM !

Overall ; amongst the best VFM places in Gili T.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms which are loacted inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anand_Rai_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

4 friends in total - all early 30s - a couple and two single girls. We had 5 nights at Bale Sampan, a wonderful welcome and hospitality throughout our stay by Harriet, Rudi and Ma particularly. Rooms and facilities are 'as they say on the tin' - and for us much more suitable than staying at one of the dive schools or bigger hotels. It is close and far enough from the loud spots on the island and we loved the private beach as well as the pool. I'd definitely recommend this lovely friendly spot, and the food was fresh and tasty - all in all great value and we would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is very good but after cleaning they don't give us water and toilet paper so we had to ask for them almost all the time. When we were there unfortunately they were on construction in front of pool so a lot of dust from construction went into the pool so it didn't make me swim in the pool. The power was on and off several times every day. Also the wifi was on and off and too slow. I saw a leech crawling on the wall of the bathroom that's gross. The plug of the light in my room was broken so I couldn't use one light. They didn't keep clean the sheet and cover of the bed. I think when they clean they just make the bed. Even though our first stay, the sheet of bed was stained so it didn't clean so I felt bad. In terms of price bale sampan was not good enough so I think I got ripped off.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiyeong J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaleSampanBungalows, Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Jiyeong J,

Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear about your experiences during your stay with us. Please rest assured that we have taken measures to address the points made in your review.

Firstly, both our housekeeping and our maintenance departments have received refresher training on the standards that should be kept, as well as the linens have been sorted to remove sub-standard items.

We would like to clarify that our rooms are treated bi-weekly, both inside and out, by a specialist company in an attempt to prevent nature from entering. This is by no means a cure, but it is the best preventative measure that we can put in place. Currently on Gili Trawangan there is an island-wide issue with what look like centipedes – perhaps this is what you saw in your bathroom, as leeches are not native to the island.

Regarding the works carried out to the swimming pool, as per the notice placed in your room, this was unscheduled maintenance as a result of the earthquake experienced 12km from Gili Trawangan on 22 June. Unfortunately, this was important structural work that could not have been avoided or delayed. We put notices in all of the rooms to express our regret about the disruption it caused, and to explain that it was unavoidable.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback.

Best wishes,
The Bale Sampan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at Bale Sampan for six nights, the first 4 nights in room 6 which was clean and comfortable but when it rained it leaked badly down the walls in the bathroom and bedroom. We later moved to room 8 which we preferred as it was not damaged by water. The staff were friendly and helpful, the location excellent for snorkelling out the front of the hotel , and it was peaceful of an evening. Breakfast was excellent and mariana (reception) doubles at the night market selling outstanding tasty local foods.
A tip for the owner supply daily water and a small bar fridge would be make the rooms more comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back quieter from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaleSampanBungalows, Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Craig,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Bale Sampan.

Room 6 was closed the day after your departure and works were carried out to fix the leaks that you unfortunately experienced. In fact rooms 3, 4, 5 and 6 have all undergone structural and cosmetic refurbishments within the last 3 weeks.

These refurbishments were required as a result of the earthquake Gili Trawangan experienced in late June. Whilst we immediately checked all buildings for any structural damage proceeding the quake, it later become evident after an unseasonal and heavy downpour, that we had in fact experienced some hidden structural damage to some of the roof rafters, causing leaks inside the bedroom and bathroom as you mentioned.

Regarding your tips to the manager, we do now supply daily complementary water in all of the rooms. We too, would love to provide in-room mini bar fridges, however, due to power limitations on Gili Trawangan we are currently unable to offer this service. We have been on the waiting list for a power upgrade for many years now...and once we receive it, mini bar fridges are the priority!

Despite the leak, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be both friendly and helpful. We too feel very lucky to have quiet beachfront location with excellent snorkeling meters away.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Very best wishes,
From all of us at Bale Sampan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed on Gili Trawangan in 2011 whilst doing my Divemaster on the island and I loved it. When I came back in May to do my instructor course I decided on Bale Sampan again. The staff were excellent, really easy to book and very helpful when I turned up. All in all I cannot recommend it highly enough. Rudy and his staff put a smile on my face every morning. Thank you and I'll see you again! Peter

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed three nights here and loved it.Harriet, the owner was incredibly accomodating with our queries via email even before we got there and the great service continued once we arrived.
Rudi and Mariana(excuse any spelling mistakes please) are a real asset there.
The rooms were nicely detailed , very clean and with safety deposit box and the breakfast was great.
Can't fault the location( a quieter part of the island) or in fact anything about our time on Gili Trewanagan.
You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a really good time at Bale Sampan and enjoyed ourself. Your staff is amazing, specially Mariana. She was wonderful! Best Juices and services !!! They really take care of us !!! We definitively recommend this amazing hotel to all Gili Trangwan travelers !! Mua

Room Tip: Enjoy your self in a very beautiful and comfi hotel !! the will take care of you for sure !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandadepablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 171 in Gili Trawangan
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach House Resort
The Beach House Resort
#17 of 171 in Gili Trawangan
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trawangan Oasis
Trawangan Oasis
#9 of 171 in Gili Trawangan
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $48 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing