We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bale Sampan Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 144 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights and were very sad to leave...even though we were only going further south on the island. Rudy and the gang were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were lovely. Rooms are nice and airy, we slept really well and didn't get disturbed by the noise from the bars because it's just far enough away. Outdoor bathroom was amazing. Loved how the beach is almost on your doorstep. Even when we left to move on to a different hotel Rudy invited us to come back and use the pool/loungers at the beach, and we did because the snorkelling out the front is so good - we saw turtles the first time we went in and there's loads of coral and interesting fish. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyB_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    154
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
57
193
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We initially came to Gili T for four days and ended up staying eight. Rudy and Mariana lead an excellent team of friendly staff that were attentive and looked after our every need (inc arranging bikes, snorkels, boats etc etc). Their energy and enthusiasm makes the stay at Bale Sampan all that more enjoyable. The bungalows are comfortable and have everything required for a relaxing time at this great island. The English breakfasts were good and we were lucky to sample the delicious baguettes that are now being served for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCh1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The staff at Bale Sampan are great, especially Mariana and Rudy. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have the best beds and bedding. We had a great night's sleep every night - only problem is the construction going on next door in the morning. The pool is also great and the location convenient to all the bars and restaurants but set towards the quieter part of the beach. If the rooms had mini-bar and TV it would have been perfect! They can also arrange snorkeling gear and bike rental.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeRuiXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had paid for 2 nights in advance and noticed a strong, unpleasant smell in sea view room # 1 on arrival. It was probably caused by mouldy roof thatching, but thinking the air con might improve the situation, we persevered. During the night we both woke up several times to the overpowering, and certainly unhealthy, mouldy stench. The room was totally unsuitable for occupation and we decided to leave the next morning. We were refused a refund of the next night's tarriff, which in normal circumstances would have been OK, but since the roon was unsuitable for our use we feel we should have been given a refund. At this stage we were willing to pay for the 2nd night twice and checked into a vastly superior hotel up the road for the next 3 nights which was only marginally more expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peli36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaleSampan, Manager at Bale Sampan Bungalows, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Hi, I remember we had spoken about the fact that we had just received some unexpectedly heavy rains for a few days and the traditional Ylang Ylang grass roofs were a bit damp. These traditional Indonesian roofs do take several hours to dry out completely but you then mentioned that you had serious asthma and would prefer to move accommodation to a different kind of roofing. Your original 50% deposit meant you’d already paid for 2 nights and I remember you saying you were happy to cover the 2nd night. This seemed a good solution for both as you’d left early and we were left with an empty room. I thought we did all we could and I remember your last comments being that you were happy with everything in Bale Sampan except for the damp smell which then cleared up at the end of that day. We always like our customers to be 100% happy and will be happy to chat about some free nights in our tiled roof bungalows if you ever return to the Gili’s.
Best Wishes,
Andy (management team)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Bale Sampan was amazing. We travelled with our children 5 year boy and 7 year ol girl and the staff made us feel so welcome. Every morning we would be warmly greeted by the staff, Rudy, Atune, Mar and Yudi (i know i haven't spelt the names correctly) would say good morning knowing all our names and proceed to make us a beautiful breakfast that was included in the price. Great, spacious rooms, with a beautiful outdoor bathroom. The pool deck was getting fixed while we were there but was finished and we could use it when they said we'd be able to.

The beach and sun lounges that are there for Bale Sampan guests was only a 30 metre walk across the road. Rudy and Atune helped us organise bikes for a trip around the Island, Mar helped us organise a glass bottom boat snorkelling trip to the other Islands.

We met two of the owners who are seen on site quite often who are more than happy to have a chat and recommend some good local food and share their experience of living on Gili T.

Bale sampan is a little further up from the busier part of the Island but still well within walking distance to some great restraunts and bars.

I can't say enough nice things about our stay at Bale Sampan, we really appreciated the staff's friendliness with our children (we even got to go out one night and have them baby sat!) and haven't got one bad thing to mention! A big thanks to all the staff :)

Room Tip: Speak to Rudy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had such a good time at bale Sampan. I booked through the website and Miriam, the British owner was incredibly efficient and helpful. For instance, we were able to pay for the accommodation into a UK bank account if we wanted which was a really helpful option. We were there for 5 days and were incredibly well looked after by the staff who were all lovely. The rooms were great with a huge bed and plenty of space and were also very clean. The pool was great for a dip when we didn't want to walk the 30 metres to the sea! Bale Sampan has its own small section of beach with loungers which was very pleasant. We also kayaked to the next island which was very lovely. I would definitely recommend Bale Sampan, especially if you want to be away from the slightly hectic centre of Trawangan, but not so far that you can't wander in for a beer and dinner in the evening without having to take a horse and cart. Top place, top staff!

Room Tip: Don't take the boat from Bali, fly to Lombok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at Bale Sampan for 3 nights and loved every second! This is the perfect place on Gili Trawagan and the spot is so good. It is almost in the middle of everything and a little out of the hussle and bussle but still easy walking distance from all the nice restaurants and bars. We never had to take a horse cart and could walk everywhere, some of the hotels are a bit far off, so you can't walk late at night. Our room was stunning and our view awesome, the swimming pool was right infront of our room and the beach approx 200m away. There is also a small bit of private beach right in front of the hotel which is great when all the boats stop with day visitors and divers. The bathroom is also very nice, it's outside and beautiful. The staff was super friendly and made us feel like they knew us for years. Rudy and his team was awesome. This is also really great value for money! The swimming pool is also really nice, the ocean here is full of coral so not always so nice to go for a quick swim in the ocean, but so nice to have the swimming pool just infront of the ocean!!!!

Our only recommendation would be to get some comfy cushions on the nice day bed outside infront of the rooms! Everything else was perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 2 seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginapotgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#18 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bale Sampan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bale Sampan Bungalows

Property: Bale Sampan Bungalows
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bale Sampan Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Bale Sampan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bale Sampan Bungalows Hotel Gili Trawangan
Bale Sampan Hotel
Bale Sampan Bungalows Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing