We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and dirty guest house”
Review of Edy Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edy Homestay
Ranked #82 of 157 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and dirty guest house”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stay 4 nights at Edy's homestay in february 2013. The room was not clean, I don't think they change the sheets before we arrived. The hotel is noisy, as it's pretty small and everyone is drinking on the balcony. We were diving with my boyfriend and we find it difficult to rest for the night there.

If you want to have party in your hotel, you definitly can go there but if you want to sleep, avoid...

The last night I step though the floor! wich was in wood but it's was rotten, so that was even pretty dangerous.

Regarding to what I was saying I don't think this is a good value for money in Gili trawangan. For the same price you can find so much better, even in the same street.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First, it's not a homestay. We booked the place because of great reviews - don't know what people were raving about. So shortly:
1) the first thing we were asked upon arrival was if we wanted to buy weed. Nice for some people I guess, and though I have nothing against weed, a simple "hello" would have been nicer :)
2) the bungalows have no privacy whatsoever. The place is REALLY small - that means four bungalows in two rows, separated by a two-metre "garden".
3) the staff consists of a bunck of young locals who listen to music, smoke, do drugs and try to sell you everything from drugs to boattrips all the time.
4) the rooms are basic - I mean really basic. You can do better for the same or less money. (Try the next place on the same side of the road).
5) if you need sleep to function, go somewhere else. Unfortunately the staff owns a guitar and know about 10 of the early 2000's "western hits", which they play all the time. I love music, I really do - just not the same songs, over and over again, at 1 am at my doorstep (since there are no common areas or such they were actually playing at our doorstep).

After two nights we ended up moving one block ahead further away from the beach - the bungalows were more private, more well kept, the bathroom was awesome compared to that of edy's and the breakfast was a little bit better. Also, we could sleep. A big bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenCarrot_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Ok so maybe it doesn't look as luxury as the photos but what edy lacks in luxury it makes up for in charm.
Even though this is just a set of 8 rooms it keeps its family feel thanks to Norman and his friends who are always on hand to get you coffee or well whatever you need :)
It's just a little off the main road but close to two shops which are cheaper than the main drag. It's close to all the nightlife but doesn't suffer from any of the noise.
Yes the walls could do with a lick if paint, and the corners a dust but you won't find better value nor made to feel more at home elsewhere on Gili.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I came 3 times in Gili T I stayed in 5 different places and for sure this one was the best. 2 aircon bungalow and 5 fan room with terrasse and hammock. Nice Bfast. This place is so small that you hapen to meet everybody very fast and the staff make you feel home really. Nothing to compare with the big hotel or guest house around.
Have fun and if you enjoy your stay don't forget to tip the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yerba-mate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived on Gili T with no accomodation booked, with our backpacks, looking for budget accomodation. Norman approached us with a brochure for Edy Homestay, it looked like a basic, safe place to stay so we had a look at a room. The room was basic with a double bed and single bed, fan and bathroom- all nice and clean. We loved our stay at Edy Homestay, the staff (especially Norman) made us feel very welcome and at home. It is a great location for everything on the island, and far enough away from the noise of the bars! I would 100% recommend Edy Homestay to anyone travelling to Gili T, and i'll 100% be back! Oh and breakfast is included which is always a bonus (especially if you;re travelling on a budget!).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMtravel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Edy's was a total find! Having come to Gili T with no real plan (and looking at almost all of the hotels in that area) my girlfriend and I were so happy with staying at Edy's. The staff was incredibly friendly, though their English was only so-so, the room was clean, and the price was right. We paid 200,000 rupiah for an AC room, and breakfast was included. There was no closet or dresser or anything to store your stuff, but the en suite bathroom was incredible. Made of what looked like terra cotta, it was partially outdoors, so if you like outdoor showers its an added bonus. The location was great, it was very close to the beach as well as a lot of the bars and restaurants on the island. The only bad part about our stay here was the water. The sink and shower water were semi-salt water, and by the time we were getting ready to leave it stopped working entirely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelsea-Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at Edy's for 3 nights very recently and found it very pleasant. We paid 150,000 rupiah a night for a room with a double and single bed. The room was very clean and included a fan, dressing table area, en-suite (only downside was the salt water shower) and patio area. The price also included breakfast - the omelette and toast was good! The owners are friendly and it is just a short walk to the beach. It is quiet as it is away from the main drag which suited us perfectly!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Trawangan
0.0 mi away
Syifa Homestay
Syifa Homestay
#54 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bukit Bungalow Kharisma
Bukit Bungalow Kharisma
#55 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Little Birds Homestay
Three Little Birds Homestay
#30 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mbah Mek Trawangan Homestay
Mbah Mek Trawangan Homestay
#12 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pondok Sunrise 2
Pondok Sunrise 2
#64 of 157 in Gili Trawangan
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edy Homestay
Edy Homestay
#5 of 22 in Munduk
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edy Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edy Homestay

Property: Edy Homestay
Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edy Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edy Homestay Hotel Gili Trawangan
Edy Homestay Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing