We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norman we love you!”
Review of Edy Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edy Homestay
Ranked #95 of 170 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Ok so maybe it doesn't look as luxury as the photos but what edy lacks in luxury it makes up for in charm.
Even though this is just a set of 8 rooms it keeps its family feel thanks to Norman and his friends who are always on hand to get you coffee or well whatever you need :)
It's just a little off the main road but close to two shops which are cheaper than the main drag. It's close to all the nightlife but doesn't suffer from any of the noise.
Yes the walls could do with a lick if paint, and the corners a dust but you won't find better value nor made to feel more at home elsewhere on Gili.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

I came 3 times in Gili T I stayed in 5 different places and for sure this one was the best. 2 aircon bungalow and 5 fan room with terrasse and hammock. Nice Bfast. This place is so small that you hapen to meet everybody very fast and the staff make you feel home really. Nothing to compare with the big hotel or guest house around.
Have fun and if you enjoy your stay don't forget to tip the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yerba-mate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We arrived on Gili T with no accomodation booked, with our backpacks, looking for budget accomodation. Norman approached us with a brochure for Edy Homestay, it looked like a basic, safe place to stay so we had a look at a room. The room was basic with a double bed and single bed, fan and bathroom- all nice and clean. We loved our stay at Edy Homestay, the staff (especially Norman) made us feel very welcome and at home. It is a great location for everything on the island, and far enough away from the noise of the bars! I would 100% recommend Edy Homestay to anyone travelling to Gili T, and i'll 100% be back! Oh and breakfast is included which is always a bonus (especially if you;re travelling on a budget!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMtravel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Edy's was a total find! Having come to Gili T with no real plan (and looking at almost all of the hotels in that area) my girlfriend and I were so happy with staying at Edy's. The staff was incredibly friendly, though their English was only so-so, the room was clean, and the price was right. We paid 200,000 rupiah for an AC room, and breakfast was included. There was no closet or dresser or anything to store your stuff, but the en suite bathroom was incredible. Made of what looked like terra cotta, it was partially outdoors, so if you like outdoor showers its an added bonus. The location was great, it was very close to the beach as well as a lot of the bars and restaurants on the island. The only bad part about our stay here was the water. The sink and shower water were semi-salt water, and by the time we were getting ready to leave it stopped working entirely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chelsea-Rae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at Edy's for 3 nights very recently and found it very pleasant. We paid 150,000 rupiah a night for a room with a double and single bed. The room was very clean and included a fan, dressing table area, en-suite (only downside was the salt water shower) and patio area. The price also included breakfast - the omelette and toast was good! The owners are friendly and it is just a short walk to the beach. It is quiet as it is away from the main drag which suited us perfectly!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

True, we did stay in one of the pricier rooms available at Edy, but having haggled the price down to 230,000 rupiah, it was definitely well worth the price and stands out as one of the best and most memorable guesthouses my girlfriend and I stayed in during our travels around SE Asia.

We chose Edy because of the quality rooms, decent prices and the fact that there were only 6 rooms set in nice gardens. It is located off a side street very near to the main street of Trawangan where the ferry drops you, but is far enough away from the bars that it is still pretty quiet at night.

Our accommodation was similar to a luxury beach hut with a nice porch where we could have our breakfast in the mornings and a few drinks in the evenings before going out. The room itself was spacious and nicely decorated with local art and was really well maintained. It also had a huge and very comfy clean bed and A/C. The best thing about the room was the beautiful outdoor bathroom which seemed more 5* hotel than backpacker hostel.

Having spent a few months living out of hostels, I've got to say that the staff at Edy were some of the best we encountered. From the moment we met them they were friendly, funny and helpful. They would chat with us in the mornings while we had our complimentary breakfast (delicious banana pancakes or fried egg sandwiches), give us advice on what to do and where to go on the island, and chill and have a Bintang with us in the evenings.

We had a great 5 nights at Edy and would recommend it to anyone heading to Gili T!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The eager calls of"come my homestay" greet backpackers as you walk ashore at Gili Trawangan.The boys all trying to get you to walk or jump in a small horse-drawn cart and come see their accomodations.Edy's was perfect. A short walk from the beach, excellent breakfasts, they even had a horse ride around the island organized for us.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Little Woodstock Homestay
Little Woodstock Homestay
#32 of 258 in Gili Trawangan
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Syifa Homestay
Syifa Homestay
#52 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dua Nina Homestay
Dua Nina Homestay
#110 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ilham The Rooftop Guesthouse
Ilham The Rooftop Guesthouse
#80 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Bale Sampan Bungalows
#6 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edy Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edy Homestay

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edy Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edy Homestay Hotel Gili Trawangan
Edy Homestay Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing