We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Gili Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gili Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed in Gili Villas with my friends and we had the best time. The Villas are such amazing price for value, very good location, but even though it is very central, it is still quiet at night so you get a very nice rest. The pool is just incredible and especially if you switch the pool lights off at a clear night it is the best experience to watch the stars out of the warm water. Breakfast is being cooked at your private Villa from the staff. It all makes you feel like you're the most important person. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 100 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the two bedroom villa with the pool. We loved the place. It's probably seen better days, but for us it was a perfect base of relax and explore the islands. The villa was cleaned every day, breakfast was cooked on site ( simple but good), and bikes were available for us to use for a nominal charge. They organized the logistics ery well including our final drop off to Lombok Airport. While we explored the islands we did see more luxurious resorts, so there are options if you are looking for more exotic, luxury options. However, if you are looking for a private, well catered place I would recommend the Gili Villas.

Room Tip: Villa 2 has two separate rooms and a nice sized pool and open kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emptyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in Gili Villas about four years ago (not long after they were built) and they were incredible. We returned with high expectations and were a little disappointed. They're generous sized and the pool is lovely. They're just a bit tired and haven't been well maintained. Little things not done well all added up: door into bathroom/toilet wouldn't close without slamming, no mosquito coils/spraying, bathroom stained, toilet leaking, average breakfast (same three fruits & the muesli was actually the same three fruits again with a sprinkling of granola on top, undrinkable coffee... we got sick of it after a few days and ate out). We requested a late check-out and were told they'd charge $50 and we wouldn't know if it was possible until that morning - so we were packed up ready to go at 10, they then allowed us to stay til 12 - it would've been nice to know the day before. Gili Villas either need to lift their game or reduce their rates, I think the island is more competitive now and there are better options.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrynt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcusStevens, Owner at Gili Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during this visit.

We work hard to ensure that the villas are maintained to a high standard and the villa was checked upon your departure and we found no problems with doors not closing or leaking toilets. Unfortunately, despite rigorous cleaning attempts from chemical cleaners, lots of elbow grease, and even the abrasive powers of cola, the toilet bowls do have water marks. As we have yet to find a solution, we are looking at replacing the bowls.

Due to being located on a tropical island, we fight an ongoing battle with mosquitoes. The villas are regularly treated for this by a pest control team and spray should be under the sink in each villa – the staff are more than happy to replace this if it runs out.

Our breakfast staff will do their best to cater for specific breakfast requests, although we are somewhat limited to the range of fruits that are available to us. Unless the fruits are in season on the island, they must be sourced from elsewhere. The coffee is Mandailing Estate, imported from Sumatra and can be a little strong for everyone’s tastes. Teas and instant coffee are provided as an alternative.

We do our best to try to accommodate late checkouts, and if possible, do so free of charge. However, our office staff needs sufficient notification (before 1pm) to ensure that there will be no guests arriving for check in the following day. If late check out requests cannot be confirmed the night before, the staff will inform guests first thing in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I guess it depends what you are after... we were looking for somewhere private to lay in the sun and read books for two weeks without being bothered by anything... and this place is perfect for just this... we also thought the villa was great value for money...

Service was great! If there was something missing or needed a bit of TLC or we wanted fresh towels or sheets - all we had to do was ask and our needs were immediately met.

I believe all four villas are two bedroom and we found it quite luxurious using one as our "walk in robe" and the other for sleeping... his and hers bathrooms etc no comfort problems, air conditioned and lovely view of the pool in the morning...

a couple of minutes stroll to main street and beach = great location for us... we didn't want to be bothered by night noises..

we liked our privacy the best, having breakfast cooked for us was different and took a little while getting used to but this is nothing to gripe about... the villa was exactly what we needed and wanted... loved the indoor/outdoor shower... waking up and jumping straight in your very own pool... sitting in your own lounge reading... and if you want for anything, you just need to ask! staff were very eager to please.

wifi signal strength was very poor but we didn't really need it anyway
i did notice that the toilets were stained but there was no smell
i picked croissants for breakfast on a couple of mornings and couldn't eat them because they were full of ants which was disappointing (and also a first world problem!!)
we had to ask for the pool to be cleaned and then had to wait a day before the chlorine dissolved...

none of these problems would stop me from recommending these villas to anyone (and we already have!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devaskator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed with friends in the 2 bedroom villa for 5 days- was paradise! The staff were amazing, from picking us up at the jetty, to making a delicious breakfast every day, and generally being lovely and helpful. The villas are in a great spot- private and away from the main street so quiet at night, but just 5 mins from the beach and the restaurants/bars/cafes.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone- families or friends. Thanks guys, you made our trip amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erind228_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked for 6 nights to stay during our 3.5 week honeymoon for diving, stayed here for 4 nights, checking out early. There were other matters that would not be fair to mention seeing that they were resolved with the owner- but these related to cleanliness & hygiene)

After looking at quite a few options on the Island, this seemed to be the best value for money ( compared to a more touristy resort Ombak and time of booking, it looked similar to KoKoMo but was $50 cheaper). We liked the idea of a more private villa experience. This property feels more like a homestay, without much service. The term 'luxury' is used quite loosely on the island- which has very few of these options. We expected this, but we also expected more, paying for one of the more expensive properties on the island. The toilet is not clean- yellow stains and it smelt, the towels are not changed regularly and grey and old- everything was just overall tired. Little to no WIFI signal. The breakfast is very basic- a guy comes in, chops some fruit, heats a croissant. On the last day we were told they had no fruit- hard to believe when the island has fruit sold just round the corner. On the last day we see the "clean" bed sheets and towels stored in the front security room floor which looked less than clean and hygienic. The toilet brush being dripped through the property. All of which I thought were average expectations because we needed to adjust our expectations for this island until we visited the KoKoMo for dinner and snooped around the property- KoKoMo is on the nicer end of the strip without being too far away, nice restaurant and service, little perks you appreciate when paying almost double of what you might pay for other properties on the island, and not much more than Gili Villas- mosquito coils, hand towels in bathroom, working WIFI, trained and polished staff, clean toilet, nice toilet paper!)

I have backpacked through Thailand- stayed in bungalows on Koh Toa, Ko Phangan pre-2000 etc, so this type of island is not new to me, but it is very much a 'backpacker' island, and probably would not recommend a honeymoon stay if you are looking for pampering. I was expecting a quaint small island with the horse carriages and being able to find a quiet clean strip of beach to ourselves, but all around the island is very littered, and where it is clean is where all the strips of restaurants are. Most of which are catering to western food sadly. The best food is at the night markets at the corner of where the Villas are.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazaa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice,very nice and good value for money. The very large totally private space really is something. Clean as to be expected, secure, everything working and friendly helpful staff, location for me was perfect, quite and only 125m from the shore road where you"ll get all your bars,shops and great food needs. I will be returning on my next diving trip, for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 38 in Gili Trawangan
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kelapa Luxury Villas
Kelapa Luxury Villas
#38 of 260 in Gili Trawangan
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
MAJO Private Villas
MAJO Private Villas
#76 of 260 in Gili Trawangan
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nero
Villa Nero
#6 of 260 in Gili Trawangan
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gili Eco Villas
Gili Eco Villas
#9 of 260 in Gili Trawangan
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gili Khayangan Villas
Gili Khayangan Villas
#35 of 260 in Gili Trawangan
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Villas

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $84 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gili Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One bed and two bed villas Gili Trawangan. Our spacious luxury villas are located just a few minutes from the main beach on Gili Trawangan. Ideal for families, couples, groups and honeymooners the Gili Villas´ friendly staff are at hand to tend to your every need. Enjoy the comfort of your villa with a relaxing massage, sunbathe by your private swimming pool, or explore the island by bicycle or horsecart. Activities available on and around Gili Trawangan include diving, horse riding, golf, wakeboarding and sea kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Gili Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Villas Hotel Gili Trawangan
Gili Villas Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing