We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to make Paradise even more perfect? Stay at Trinacria Village with Nino and Sri!”
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Secret Garden
Ranked #27 of 170 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My husband and I spent a few days on Gili T in alternate accommodation, when we decided to look elsewhere for something a bit more comfortable. We looked at the traditional 'Lombok style' huts, beautiful to look at but really hot during the day, and very expensive. Then, we met Mr Nino at Trinacria Village, just off the beach road... and our holiday became a slice of heaven in paradise. We extended our stay by an extra week, staying a fortnight at Trinacria, it was nearly impossible to leave!

The rooms were the cleanest I had seen on my entire 3 month honeymoon, with everything you could wish for. We were so happy that we had a constant supply of hot, fresh water! This is indeed very rare to find on Gili Trawangan, and usually comes with a whopping price to match, but not here. Air con, a safe in the room, flat screen tv with DVD player, clean sheets and towels daily... all of this was provided, with a smile, by the lovely and attentive staff. Our rooms were cleaned at whatever time of day suited us, with no pressure, only a smile.

Breakfast is served 7.30am to 11.30am, perfect for us whether getting up early for a dive, or enjoying a lie-in. Eggs/toast/pancakes/fruit are prepared for you as you request, and there is any drink you could wish for. Something really worth considering is the saving you make on the breakfast... before we moved into Nino's, my husband and I were paying around 100,000 rupia per day for breakfast for 2, which we then saved, so if you take this amount off the price of the room, you see just what a bargain Trinacria Village really is.

Nino and his wife Sri are the heart and soul of this lovely oasis... and the real star of the show is their daughter, who is without a doubt the most happy and lovely child. They extend the warmth of their family to their guests, and I really felt sad to say goodbye. As mentioned in other reviews, Nino cooks spaghetti every other night, and invites all his guests, which allowed us the chance to meet people we wouldn't have met otherwise. We really enjoyed our 'pasta nights', chatting with other guests, enjoying amazing pasta (he is a talented cook!) and relaxing with abundant desserts of fresh fruit and banana fritters!

Is Trinacria worth the money? YES! For what you get, it is a steal. We spoke to many people at our dive shop, most of whom are on the island long term, and they couldn't believe how lucky we were to find Trinacria.

Is it clean, with all mod cons and amenities you need? YES! Heaven to have a hot shower after diving, and to have electricity 24 hours (again, a real rarity on the island).

Would I go back? YES! I simply cannot recommend this place enough, and it is really down to the warm welcome we had from Nino and Sri. They will make your holiday in paradise even more perfect, and you will be glad you went there. Tell them we said hello!

Kate & Ado

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SP_Santorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 248 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

A fantastic place to stay minutes from the beach. Run by an Italian called Nino and his Indonesian partner. Incredibly clean rooms , fresh linen and towels (changed daily), on-suite bathrooms with hot fresh water and western toilets, aircon and dvds. The banana pancakes in the morning are the best. All the staff are professional and friendly. Set in a peaceful garden with twenty four hour security.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Staying at Trinacria Village was quite an experience...we also had to stay in alternative lodgings on the first night despite having previously booked, however Nino moved us to Trinacria the following morning where we stayed for 3 nights. Trinacria village is very small and friendly, and you are really made to feel at home. The rooms are colourful and very clean. Shampoo and soap were provided as well as toothpaste! They had fresh water instead of salty water which we understand to be a rareity on this island, and also a generator so there is always electric. A little tap outside each room was handy for cleaning the sand off your feet before entering the room. Our room had a/c but no safe...but the owner Nino offered to keep any valuables in his safe for us, wrapped up secure, signed and sealed which was a good compromise. All of the staff were polite and friendly. The breakfast is lovely, especially the banana pancake which is well worth trying. Nino often offers to cook for all of his guests. One night he made pasta with lentils which was really tasty. This informal service really makes you feel like you are really at home and means that you get to meet and chat with evryone else staying there which was a bonus, we met some really nice people! Trinacria is off the beach but no more than 2 mins walk to get there. As you arrive in the harbour turn right and you see signs for Trinacria which is just a couple of hundred meters along the main road. You'll need a torch for the night when you return from the bars or restaurants as its very dark!! We booked the fast boat through Nino too which was a bit chaotic (not Ninos fault but the boat company - they turned up late to collect us and not everyone had a seat on the boat)...we heard that other companys were better organised and slightly cheaper...it might be worth checking that out before you go. Overall we had a nice stay here and were pleased with the value and the friendly welcome.
Ps. We walked around the island one day...it takes about 2.5 hours and there really is not much to see. The best beaches are 5 minutes walk to the left of Trinacria...as you pass the to the other side of the island there really is not much there. Its like walking though abandoned scrubland and not very pretty. There are a few hotels dotted along the coast which look nice but would be an absolute pain to get to/from everyday as with no cars they really would be totally cut off from the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We're just returned from a 10 day stay in Trinacria on Gili Trawangan. The service offered by Nino and his staff is excellent. The Trinacria Village is fantastic value for money and has all of the mod con's which you may not expect to have for the price charged (e.g. fresh water, dvd's, air con, laundry for a small fee).

The rooms are fresh and bright, cleaned immaculately everyday with fresh bed linen. Also, breakfast is perfect and the added bonus of an evening meal of pasta every second night furthermore adds to the fantastic vale offered.

We also had to stay in alternative lodgings on the first night despite having previously booked, however Nino footed the bill for this and set us up in Trinacria first thing the following morning.

The location is approximately 50m off the main strip which was perfect for us and it was nice to be situated close-by but not actually on the main street. With extremely helpful staff and nice clean rooms, Trinacria is certainly a winner on many levels and I would definately recommend it to friends in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CianDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I would like thank Nino, the owner and all the staff..very kind and nice persons. I spen a fantastic week with my fiance in the blue room, very comfortable, clean and full furnished. Safety box and DVD player are also available (hundreds of DVDs are available from the front desk), but normal TV programs are not available.
Sometimes, Nino like to invite his guest for dinner. Spaghetti for all! Simply great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobTof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Confortable, clean, cosy, warm atmosphere, mod cons (including non-salty water!)...Trinacria Village offers the best value for money you can find in Gili Trawangan. The owner, Mr Nino, a nice Indonesian speaking Sicilian, has created a unique combination of Italian and local taste, offering all the best of the two culture...sometimes he invites you for dinner, cooking delicious Itlaian pasta for all his guests...and at 5, it is always tea time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vietiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this village comprised of 6 colour themed rooms for almost a week. The price was perfect for our travel budget but it could be that it's just a bit too expensive for really low budgets. Excellent room standard with new tiles everywhere and nice interior as well. Really good atmosphere in this little "hideout village" , (as if the Gili islands weren't enough of a hideout in themselves), makes you feel at home with the friendly hotel boss Nino from Siciliy :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diving_Gili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Gili Palms Resort
Gili Palms Resort
#11 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bale Sampan Bungalows
Bale Sampan Bungalows
#6 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trawangan Nirvana
Trawangan Nirvana
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
#21 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Beach Wind Bungalow
New Beach Wind Bungalow
#106 of 256 in Gili Trawangan
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gili Inn
Gili Inn
#117 of 256 in Gili Trawangan
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Address: Beach Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $157 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing