We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money at Trinacria Village !”
Review of Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden
Ranked #32 of 171 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We're just returned from a 10 day stay in Trinacria on Gili Trawangan. The service offered by Nino and his staff is excellent. The Trinacria Village is fantastic value for money and has all of the mod con's which you may not expect to have for the price charged (e.g. fresh water, dvd's, air con, laundry for a small fee).

The rooms are fresh and bright, cleaned immaculately everyday with fresh bed linen. Also, breakfast is perfect and the added bonus of an evening meal of pasta every second night furthermore adds to the fantastic vale offered.

We also had to stay in alternative lodgings on the first night despite having previously booked, however Nino footed the bill for this and set us up in Trinacria first thing the following morning.

The location is approximately 50m off the main strip which was perfect for us and it was nice to be situated close-by but not actually on the main street. With extremely helpful staff and nice clean rooms, Trinacria is certainly a winner on many levels and I would definately recommend it to friends in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CianDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 248 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

I would like thank Nino, the owner and all the staff..very kind and nice persons. I spen a fantastic week with my fiance in the blue room, very comfortable, clean and full furnished. Safety box and DVD player are also available (hundreds of DVDs are available from the front desk), but normal TV programs are not available.
Sometimes, Nino like to invite his guest for dinner. Spaghetti for all! Simply great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobTof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Confortable, clean, cosy, warm atmosphere, mod cons (including non-salty water!)...Trinacria Village offers the best value for money you can find in Gili Trawangan. The owner, Mr Nino, a nice Indonesian speaking Sicilian, has created a unique combination of Italian and local taste, offering all the best of the two culture...sometimes he invites you for dinner, cooking delicious Itlaian pasta for all his guests...and at 5, it is always tea time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vietiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this village comprised of 6 colour themed rooms for almost a week. The price was perfect for our travel budget but it could be that it's just a bit too expensive for really low budgets. Excellent room standard with new tiles everywhere and nice interior as well. Really good atmosphere in this little "hideout village" , (as if the Gili islands weren't enough of a hideout in themselves), makes you feel at home with the friendly hotel boss Nino from Siciliy :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diving_Gili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I booked the room because of the good review in tripadvisor. A nice surprise for us when Nino, the owner, picked us up when we got off from the ferry. Unfortunately, he ran out of rooms (which he didn't tell us in advance) but he arranged another accomodation nearby. The second night we moved in to Trinacria, and Nino kindly arranged to transport out luggage while we went out to the beach. The room was large, with 2 queen size beds, probably to compensate for the night we had to spend in the other lodging. It was very clean, cool and had distinct personal style with bold colors (red, blue and purple seem to be Nino's favorites). Theme-patterned glass is also used for windows, lamp hoods, bathroom tiles and wood-paneled room partition. Safety box and DVD player are also available (hundreds of DVDs are available from the front desk), but normal TV programs are not available. In short, the room feels very cozy and welcoming when you go back at night. There are not many rooms and they are situated around a small central garden, where there are winding pathways circling bougainvilleas plots. At one end you have the open, small dining place where European sports club flags decorate the ceilings. The design is also thoughtful with a tap in front of every room to wash feet, which are usually dirty from beach sand and road dirt when you get back at night. Too bad it's not as strategically located as those on the main road, which face the beach directly. You need around 3 mins walk from the main road (but at least the location is central, so it's still close to the restaurants and the beach). At night it can be very dark that you can't see the road to the hotel clearly (particular danger with horse dung).

We decided to extend another night at Trinacria, and we had to move to another smaller room for a couple (due to peak season). It turned out that each room had different theme and was named differently. However, there is some consistency in style and we are equally happy with this one.

There are few options for made-to-order breakfast (included in the room price), and we have only tried pancakes and omelette. Both are acceptable though not fantastic. Nino is always there at breakfast time, micro-managing his staff or minding his book-keeping or playing with his toddler daughter, and always chatting with all his guests. At any time of the day, you are likely to find him around the hotel (with chao chao as his signature regards). He has been generous too, by offering free laundry for us (few pieces only). The staff are also nice and helpful.

The room rate is not considered cheap given the location, but you may have different opinion if you prefer a quieter space a bit farther away from the crowd.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

As most hotels on Gili Trawangan don't have fresh water, and the ones that do cost a fortune, Trinacria Oro was the best deal by far. Impeccable rooms and baths with fresh water, breakfast and tea with buscuits included in price. The owner Nino offered pasta to the guests more than once while I was there (4 nights). TV and DVD with no cable or wifii. It's about 500 meters from the pier and less than 100 from some of the most spectacular beaches in the world. I could say that in three months of traveling south east Asia this was one of the best deals. 24 hour security, fridge in the room, beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Just down the road from some of the best snorkeling on the island is something a little different from the endless rundown bungalows. Each room opens onto the small lush communal garden. Breakfast is served in the open air dining area - eggs, fresh fruit, bread etc. all part of the cost. Afternoon tea is also provided free of charge. If you wish Nino will also cook up heaping dishes of excellent Italian fare for lunch or dinner. The rooms are clean, A/C works, TV/DVD/safe in each unit - the style though is somewhat eclectic. The staff are incredibly friendly and will help you if you need to do anything from laundry to booking your ferry back to the mainland. The place is basic, but very comfortable and can't be beaten for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelah33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trawangan Nirvana
Trawangan Nirvana
#18 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jali Resort
Jali Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden

Address: Beach Street, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $144 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing