We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindest staff on Gili Trawangan”
Review of Alam Gili

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Gili
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Suite view. A beautiful house with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a porch and balcony.
Alam Gili is located on a lovely spot at the beach. A good place for snorkling to see the amazing underwater life.
The staff is very kind and service minded.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sjindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Alam Gili
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at the Alam Gili for 3 nights from the 23rd to the 26th June 2009. It was the most amazing, out of this world experience. In fact, I am tempted to say that this is the best place I have ever stayed at. We was in two minds whether we should post this review, simply because this place is such a gem and we were quite tempted to keep this knowledge all to ourselves.

We arrived from the hustle and bustle of Bali. We enjoyed Bali and its culture but Gili Trawangan just completely blew us away. From the moment we stepped into arrivals at Lombok airport, every single moment was special. Our driver stood waiting to pick us up to the hotel, greeting us with a big smile even though our flight arrival had been delayed by more than 2 hours.

The beautiful sandy beaches and turquoise waters are simply amazing. Alam Gili is situated at the north coast of Gili Trawangan, so it offered a tranquil and idyllic setting in which my partner and I completely relaxed. We could watch both the beautiful sunrise and sunset from the beach directly in front of the hotel. There are unobstructed views of Gunung Agung in the West and Gunung Rinjani in the East.

Apart from amazing beaches, water, views and snorkelling, what makes Alam Gili truly special must be its staff. From the moment we set foot on the hotel, the staff were unfailingly attentive, courteous and friendly to a fault. The smiles and warmth were genuinely from the heart.

They staff knew us by name and would greet us enthusiastically everytime we walked by. They would stop what they were doing and engage us in conversation about life on the island and their families. They would tidy our room twice a day. Nothing was too much trouble for them. From our receptionist, Kedik, to our waiter, Putu, we were treated like royalty. This is not something that can just be learnt in a hospitality school.

The food at Cafe Wayan on the hotel was exceptional as well. I am normally not a beach holiday person, but I found it hard to leave the hotel because everything down to the ambience, the food, the accomodation was perfect. It was fantastic to just laze and do nothing, the perfect antidote to a frazzled urban lifestyle.

We were very sad to leave Gili Trawangan when the time came. My partner and I have travelled widely but Gili T is one of those places that beckons us to return, even though we live half way around the world. We will be coming back and there is no question where we will be staying. I can only hope that Gili T and the Alam Gili retain their quiet charm even with the passing of time and increased commercialism.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoyceT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We have just returned from 4 nights in Gili Trewangan. We stayed at Alam Gili on the quite north coast & it really was the most stunning island & the hotel was really what made the stay. The staff were so attentive and luckily not brained washed by the management and not afraid to have a conversation with you and find out about you & you them. The food is awesome, really lovely rooms(most have no AC) but really not an issue.. Anyway GET THERE, thouroughly recommended..

1  Thank stevoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My new Wife and I stayed here at from the 23rd - 28th May 2009 for the last leg of our honeymoon travels. When we arrived at the port (via GILI CAT) we were met by one of the Alam Gili Staff holding our names up on a board which was very efficient as no other hotels seemed to be at the port waiting for guests.

We were then transferred by Cidomo (horse and cart) which was prebooked and cost 40,000rp. The hotel is at the top of the Island in a nice peaceful location away from the noise, hustle & bustle and in our opinion ruined by commercialism south part of the island.

The check in was very welcome with a nice cold, non alcoholic cocktail which was delicious. We were told about the island and how to get around, and also given a map which was useful.

We booked the Duyung Room, which is the room above the reception with a massive verandah, the room itself is basic but we full expected this and the bathromm is outside and again basic. This is not a bad point at all but one that you should be aware of if you are expecting luxury. No air con in the room either, but you do get 2 fans, which are very welcome on the hot nights! The verandah is amazing in this room, and it's where we spent most of our time, and you can even have your breakfast and dinner here if you wish which is nice for privacy.

The restaurant food is exceptional, we saw lots of people who were not staying here coming to the restaurant. Make sure you try the food on the menu that has to be ordered 24 hours in advance (rijsttafel) - you won't be disappointed. Make sure you take a torch when eating dinner as its very very dark and the candles don't really provide much light! I must just quickly mention the afternoon tea and cake, which is complimentary and very good!

The staff here are absolutely amazing, and really are what make the Alam Gili so special. They are always friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. For example, it was my birthday whilst we were staying there and my wife asked if they could do anything for me....well they came up to our verandah, blind-folded me and took me down to the beach where all the staff sang Happy Birthday and made me a cake with candles in it. It was a nice surprise and a Birthday that I will definitely remember (thanks again Alam Gili!).

One last thing to mention ( I could go on and on) is the amazing coral outside the hotel, I would take your own snorkel, as the Alam Gilil ones are ok but a bit battered. Just make sure you are careful not to stand on the coral.

If I could change anything it would be:

1. Extra lighting on the beach for dinner (solar lights would be perfect in the trees)
2. A small wooden jetty built from the beach out past the rocks into the water so that coral in shallow water is protected and you don't hurt your feet on the rocks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevkan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Alam Gili resort in May 2009. The Hotel is a little way from the main bar, restaurant hub of Gili Trawangan, a 20 minute walk at least, that may be a good thing if you are looking for complete peace and quiet, not so good if you are into late nights etc.
We found the place to be utterly delightful, the staff were attentive, the food and service great as well, the beach is right at the door and in the case of our room we could sleep with the door open and hear the waves lapping up to the beach, very relaxing. The beach itself is a mix of coral and rocks, so it's advisable to take some kind of footwear otherwise it's pretty uncomfortable, we ended up buying a pair of thongs each in the main settlement, that solved the issue straight away.
The hotel can help with bike hire to get around the Island, or you can hail one of the horse drawn carts quite easily, they are pretty uncomfortable though, they can also point you in the right direction for a snorkeling trip which we loved, swimming with the turtles and hand feeding the fish.
All in all a great place to spend a few quiet days, swimming, eating, reading and snorkeling. We would definitely go back.
Ross

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_rossduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Me and my girlfriend we spend 4 fantastic days in Alam Gili. The smiling and joyful crew welcomed us with wide smiles, quick jokes and funny connotations regarding our european surnames. The Bungalows are spacious with one ceiling fan and an extra standing fan. There was no need for AC. We were positively surprised by the lack of insects and mosqiuitos here, despite the semi open bathroom. We had more mosquitos in our 13 floor hotelroom in centre of Singapore...
Overall, food great, service fabulous, rooms and beds a great. We recommend this Hotel to anyone planning to visit Gili Trawangan. It is really worth it. The snorkelling is the top of the cream cake.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martwinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Our 1 week April stay in Alam Gili started with a punctual pick up, then a scenic transfer from a Lombok hotel by car and boat to the beach in front of the hotel. (Rp 500k one way)
After a smiling check in, our family of 4 moved into the Fish Suite. This clean, well furnished attractive villa has a balcony, veranda and inside fresh water bathrooms.
Alam Gili food and drink was good throughout the week and not overpriced. We were served on our veranda, by the pool, on the beach, wherever we chose. The service was relaxed but not overlong, unlike reports I've read of other establishments. There are only 7 or 8 chalets/villas and I guess at least 6 staff.
The fabulous snorkeling 50m+ off the beach makes the Alam Gili's location worth the 10 mins cidomo trip or 30 min walk needed to get to the central beach area where the nightlife and livelier restaurants are. There are also a couple of outlets nearby.
The only downside was the frequency of electricity cuts on the island. This inconvenience was far out weighed by the welcoming can-do attitude of all the staff. We fixed up fishing in the Alam Gili boat with the boss, arranged a snorkelling trip to the other islands through reception and frequently asked the staff to order cidomos which they did by phone. Nothing was too much trouble.
Alam Gili and Gili Trawagan were recommended by friends, and we recommend them to others who enjoy a beach, sunny snorkeling, diving, a relaxed time with easy access to livelier evenings, but not for shopping, ritzy cocktail bars, dressing for dinner or petrol heads. We can get that in Singapore and Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidnofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#6 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
571 reviews
1.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,794 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Gili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Gili

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $73 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Gili 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Alam Gili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Gili Hotel Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Trawangan
Alam Gili Hotel Trawangan
Alam Gili Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing